Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 27, 2012, 05:02 AM   #1
kannesss
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Above.
I don't get this one bit.

So. There are volume buttons on the side of my iPhone, as assume everyone has.
So my question is why the HELL did they make it when you double tap the home button and slide over, they have a volume controller ...?
That's redundant. I'd kill for it to be brightness instead of volume that is at the bottom, as I can already control the volume from the buttons they've made. It's just really annoying to have to go into settings everytime,when it could be really simple and just put it where the volume slider is.
kannesss is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 05:15 AM   #2
Daveoc64
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bristol, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by kannesss View Post
So. There are volume buttons on the side of my iPhone, as assume everyone has.
So my question is why the HELL did they make it when you double tap the home button and slide over, they have a volume controller ...?
That's redundant. I'd kill for it to be brightness instead of volume that is at the bottom, as I can already control the volume from the buttons they've made. It's just really annoying to have to go into settings everytime,when it could be really simple and just put it where the volume slider is.
Not all iOS devices have hardware buttons (although all devices since iOS 4 have them, and that's when the slider was added) and it's not always convenient to use them.
__________________
Nexus 5 32GB Black (Three UK) | Nexus 7 (2012) | Kindle Paperwhite (2013)
iPhone 4 32GB
White MacBook (Late 2007)
Windows 8.1 | iCloud, Dropbox, Spotify Premium
Daveoc64 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 06:23 AM   #3
kannesss
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Above.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daveoc64 View Post
Not all iOS devices have hardware buttons (although all devices since iOS 4 have them, and that's when the slider was added) and it's not always convenient to use them.
Pressing the side of the phone or iPod is hard??
kannesss is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 06:40 AM   #4
BRyken
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by kannesss View Post
So. There are volume buttons on the side of my iPhone, as assume everyone has.
So my question is why the HELL did they make it when you double tap the home button and slide over, they have a volume controller ...?
That's redundant. I'd kill for it to be brightness instead of volume that is at the bottom, as I can already control the volume from the buttons they've made. It's just really annoying to have to go into settings everytime,when it could be really simple and just put it where the volume slider is.
I agree. I like how iPad has the implemented with brightness easily accessible.
BRyken is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 06:45 AM   #5
AppleAlfred
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by kannesss View Post
So. There are volume buttons on the side of my iPhone, as assume everyone has.
So my question is why the HELL did they make it when you double tap the home button and slide over, they have a volume controller ...?
That's redundant. I'd kill for it to be brightness instead of volume that is at the bottom, as I can already control the volume from the buttons they've made. It's just really annoying to have to go into settings everytime,when it could be really simple and just put it where the volume slider is.
It's like you read my mind it's a major downside, and the painful tasl of going into settings to adjust brightness is one of the main reasons I jailbreak.
__________________
MacBook Air (Mid 2012) - 1.8/8/128
iPad w/ Retina (3rd Gen) - Black 16
Galaxy S IV - Black Mist 16
Apple TV, 3rd Gen
AppleAlfred is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 07:00 AM   #6
JS82712
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by kannesss View Post
So. There are volume buttons on the side of my iPhone, as assume everyone has.
So my question is why the HELL did they make it when you double tap the home button and slide over, they have a volume controller ...?
That's redundant. I'd kill for it to be brightness instead of volume that is at the bottom, as I can already control the volume from the buttons they've made. It's just really annoying to have to go into settings everytime,when it could be really simple and just put it where the volume slider is.
Ill tell you why, it's because Scott Forstall is so arrogant to the point that he doesn't realize his head is full of cement now.
JS82712 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 07:02 AM   #7
kirky29
macrumors 65816
 
kirky29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lincolnshire, England
Send a message via Yahoo to kirky29 Send a message via Skype™ to kirky29
Agree, I'd love that to for brightness.... Hopefully iOS will improve so much now though
__________________
27" iMac, 15" MacBook Pro 2.2GHz i7 2011, iPhone 5 16GB - iPad 1/2/3/Mini - 24" Cinema Display,
Apple Magic Mouse, Trackpad, Time Machine, Apple TV,
| Check out my flickr |
kirky29 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 07:09 AM   #8
freedevil
macrumors 6502a
 
freedevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Well, how will you turn the volume down during a call then?
__________________
An  a day keeps the dark ☁ away!
freedevil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 08:46 AM   #9
beavo451
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by freedevil View Post
Well, how will you turn the volume down during a call then?
What?
beavo451 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 09:05 AM   #10
bigjnyc
macrumors 68040
 
bigjnyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Totally agree with this! it's absolutely maddening.
__________________
Whenever I go to delete an app on my iPhone, I like to pretend the shaking icons are all screaming loudly in panic over who's getting axed
bigjnyc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 09:11 AM   #11
Richardgm
macrumors 6502a
 
Richardgm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
While I would much love a brightness slider, I'm assuming Apple's thinking is that with "auto brightness" enabled, one wouldn't need to adjust the brightness (at least with great frequency).

I've actually only needed to manually edit the level a few times since updating to iOS 6.

On the other hand, the volume slider? It's a bit handy when playing via AirPlay.
__________________
iPhone owner since 2007
iPad owner since 2011
Richardgm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 09:14 AM   #12
blastair
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
You can always use the brightness toggle feature of Launch Center Pro? It's super handy.

http://appcubby.com/launch-center/
blastair is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 09:29 AM   #13
sviato
macrumors 68000
 
sviato's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: HR 9038 A
I had a complaint about this a while ago and people on this forum were very defensive about it. Apparently it's not redundant because it's easier to access the software volume control when the phone is connected to a dock or speakers etc.
sviato is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 09:39 AM   #14
Bugeyeblue
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
They're different volumes. I don't like it either, but the physical buttons are for ringtone and alert volume and the software one is for media volume.
Bugeyeblue is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 09:41 AM   #15
BFizzzle
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Austin TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by freedevil View Post
Well, how will you turn the volume down during a call then?
yeah i forgot my finger is frozen during call.
BFizzzle is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 09:45 AM   #16
kannesss
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Above.
Quote:
Originally Posted by freedevil View Post
Well, how will you turn the volume down during a call then?
The buttons on the side. C'mon.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Richardgm View Post
While I would much love a brightness slider, I'm assuming Apple's thinking is that with "auto brightness" enabled, one wouldn't need to adjust the brightness (at least with great frequency).

I've actually only needed to manually edit the level a few times since updating to iOS 6.

On the other hand, the volume slider? It's a bit handy when playing via AirPlay.
You can control the volume of AirPlay with the buttons on the side. C'mon. This is why it's so useless. If the iPad can do, then the iPhone is completely capable. Even if they just added it, like slide over one past the volume and there's brightness. That's finnnnnnne

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bugeyeblue View Post
They're different volumes. I don't like it either, but the physical buttons are for ringtone and alert volume and the software one is for media volume.
Go to any app. Play music. Use the buttons on the side. They turn the volume both up and down.
kannesss is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 09:48 AM   #17
bushido
macrumors 601
 
bushido's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Espaņa y Germany
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bugeyeblue View Post
They're different volumes. I don't like it either, but the physical buttons are for ringtone and alert volume and the software one is for media volume.
this.

I was sitting in class a few times already thinking that the SILENT switch would put everything on silent but noooo some games and youtube videos still have sound. So irritating
bushido is online now   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 09:49 AM   #18
applefanDrew
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by kannesss View Post
So. There are volume buttons on the side of my iPhone, as assume everyone has.
So my question is why the HELL did they make it when you double tap the home button and slide over, they have a volume controller ...?
That's redundant. I'd kill for it to be brightness instead of volume that is at the bottom, as I can already control the volume from the buttons they've made. It's just really annoying to have to go into settings everytime,when it could be really simple and just put it where the volume slider is.
B/c only nerds that post on here care about changing brightness all that often. I know people who have had their iDevice for years now and brightness is still at factory default.
applefanDrew is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 10:12 AM   #19
mikeydeezy
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: MN, USA
We don't even have toggles yet.
__________________
iPhone 6 Plus / Space Gray / 64GB / T-Mobile
Order Placed: Sept. 12 @ 5:35am PDT
Estimated Delivery: 9/22-9/30
Jump: Yes Charged: No
mikeydeezy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 10:18 AM   #20
Jordan921
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Bay Area
Quote:
Originally Posted by freedevil View Post
Well, how will you turn the volume down during a call then?
What are you trying to get at?
__________________
Unlocked Space Gray iPhone 5S 32gb AT&T, 13.3" MacBook Air 1.86GHZ 4GB Ram 128GB SSD
Jordan921 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 10:38 AM   #21
kannesss
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Above.
Quote:
Originally Posted by applefanDrew View Post
B/c only nerds that post on here care about changing brightness all that often. I know people who have had their iDevice for years now and brightness is still at factory default.
So me changing a setting on my phone because I like it bright in the day and dark in the mornings when I wake up so I don't burn my eyes with blinding white light....this makes me a nerd? It's not my fault your friends don't know anything about a phone they paid hundreds for.
Go them...I guess? I guess ignorgance of technology makes you super cool now. And I'm soooooo jealous.
kannesss is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 10:47 AM   #22
applefanDrew
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by kannesss View Post
So me changing a setting on my phone because I like it bright in the day and dark in the mornings when I wake up so I don't burn my eyes with blinding white light....this makes me a nerd? It's not my fault your friends don't know anything about a phone they paid hundreds for.
Go them...I guess? I guess ignorgance of technology makes you super cool now. And I'm soooooo jealous.

No, I didn't mean it as an insult. What I meant was that the majority of Apple's customers aren't like us. They don't care about adjusting brightness. They care about adjusting volume. Apple caters to the majority, not the minority.
applefanDrew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 10:53 AM   #23
areyes163
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
I agree I would also love a easier brightness control. In work mids so I work in the dark a lot also I'm constantly changing my brightness. That would be awesome.
areyes163 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 02:58 PM   #24
kannesss
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Above.
Quote:
Originally Posted by applefanDrew View Post
No, I didn't mean it as an insult. What I meant was that the majority of Apple's customers aren't like us. They don't care about adjusting brightness. They care about adjusting volume. Apple caters to the majority, not the minority.
True. Sorry about my response haha. I forgot that people just buy phones and don't do anything with them. I agree.
kannesss is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 03:02 PM   #25
JAT
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Mpls, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by kannesss View Post
So me changing a setting on my phone because I like it bright in the day and dark in the mornings when I wake up so I don't burn my eyes with blinding white light....this makes me a nerd? It's not my fault your friends don't know anything about a phone they paid hundreds for.
Go them...I guess? I guess ignorgance of technology makes you super cool now. And I'm soooooo jealous.
The auto-brightness works a lot better in iOS5 than it did before. I actually use it, now. Haven't tried it in 6, yet.
__________________
-- Spiky
JAT is offline   2 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Possible to downgrade 64 bit to 32 bit time machine? Extra Crispy MacBook Pro 4 Jan 21, 2014 05:32 AM
64 bit & 32 bit apps ljy1 iOS 7 1 Jan 11, 2014 12:22 AM
Deploying 32 bit or 64 bit or Universal Binaries? kamy Mac Programming 7 Nov 15, 2013 01:10 PM
iMac 2008, Boot Camp 5, and Windows 7 32-bit & 64-bit mcrazza Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 0 Mar 20, 2013 10:57 PM
Why don't case manufacturers don't list the weight of their cases? blow45 iPad Accessories 10 Jul 7, 2012 01:24 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:04 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC