Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 27, 2012, 03:07 PM   #26
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
I dont know about you guys but I never use or touch the brightness setting.
I set it once to where I want it when I first get the phone and then its done.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 05:28 PM   #27
ladytonya
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Very rarely adjust the brightness since the auto works pretty good. When I set up my phone I put it where I want it, then I rarely change it.

I change the volume way more than I ever change the brightness. The side buttons change the volume for whatever you are currently using, the bottom is your media. I like it the way it is!
__________________
2011 13" MacBook Pro i5, 64 GB white iPhone 5, 16 GB New iPad
ladytonya is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 05:58 PM   #28
From A Buick 8
macrumors 68020
 
From A Buick 8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ky Close to CinCinnati
Quote:
Originally Posted by ladytonya View Post
Very rarely adjust the brightness since the auto works pretty good. When I set up my phone I put it where I want it, then I rarely change it.

I change the volume way more than I ever change the brightness. The side buttons change the volume for whatever you are currently using, the bottom is your media. I like it the way it is!
They could just add brightness along with volume, just slide a little more to the left for brightness, or better yet let you pick what is there.
__________________
Homemade Interocitor, iPad 4iPhone 5 32GB Black & Slate, iPod Touch 4th and 5th Gen, iPad 1st gen, iPhone 4, Two Apple TV's, -- 21.5-inch: 3.2GHz Intel Core i3 iMac.
From A Buick 8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 02:07 AM   #29
kannesss
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Above.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JAT View Post
The auto-brightness works a lot better in iOS5 than it did before. I actually use it, now. Haven't tried it in 6, yet.
My auto brightness is not near dramatic enough of a ****.
My biggest point is, it's on the iPad, so it's been done and works and whatever.
Just put it on the iPhone. I don't care if you leave the volume one, I just want a brightness one too.
I've considered jailbreaking just to be able to do this easier.
kannesss is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 07:00 AM   #30
JAT
In Time-Out
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Mpls, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by kannesss View Post
My auto brightness is not near dramatic enough of a ****.
My biggest point is, it's on the iPad, so it's been done and works and whatever.
Just put it on the iPhone. I don't care if you leave the volume one, I just want a brightness one too.
I've considered jailbreaking just to be able to do this easier.
JBing works. Easy access to things like this is the reason I JB.
JAT is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 03:33 PM   #31
Bugeyeblue
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by bushido View Post
this.

I was sitting in class a few times already thinking that the SILENT switch would put everything on silent but noooo some games and youtube videos still have sound. So irritating
Ya, I now always flip the mute switch, then unlock the phone, then double click the home button, slide over and slide the media volume all the way off before getting into any app that might make a sound.
Bugeyeblue is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 06:37 PM   #32
kannesss
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Above.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JAT View Post
JBing works. Easy access to things like this is the reason I JB.
Is there a jailbreak for the newest iOS update
kannesss is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 08:49 PM   #33
Minhimalism
macrumors 6502a
 
Minhimalism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by kannesss View Post
Is there a jailbreak for the newest iOS update
Only for the iPhone 4 and below.. and it's tethered unless you have an old bootrom 3GS patiently waiting for a jailbreak for the 5.. will make my phone complete. until then it sucks D:< not really, but its definitely not as good.
__________________
White iPhone 5; 2013 13" MacBook Air
Twitter Instagram Flickr deviantART
Minhimalism is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 01:45 AM   #34
stonyboys
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
If you wanna watch porn you have to mute the volume by double clicking and sliding before any sound comes out. It's a useful feature.
stonyboys is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 05:58 AM   #35
kannesss
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Above.
Quote:
Originally Posted by stonyboys View Post
If you wanna watch porn you have to mute the volume by double clicking and sliding before any sound comes out. It's a useful feature.
...headphones.
kannesss is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 09:36 AM   #36
JAT
In Time-Out
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Mpls, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by kannesss View Post
Is there a jailbreak for the newest iOS update
What Minhimalism said.

If you want to keep up, absinthejailbreak.com keeps track of news pretty well. They have exploits for all iDevices on iOS 6, but nothing public, yet.

I finally got an i5. Decided I wanted LTE more than waiting more weeks until it is JBed. Really miss some of the tweaks.
JAT is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 01:54 PM   #37
kannesss
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Above.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JAT View Post
What Minhimalism said.

If you want to keep up, absinthejailbreak.com keeps track of news pretty well. They have exploits for all iDevices on iOS 6, but nothing public, yet.

I finally got an i5. Decided I wanted LTE more than waiting more weeks until it is JBed. Really miss some of the tweaks.
I haven't jailbroken since I had a 3G.
Has it become more stable? How is the Cydia store? I've just never seen anyone with it recently either
kannesss is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 02:02 PM   #38
rmhop81
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Dallas, Tx
Quote:
Originally Posted by kannesss View Post
Pressing the side of the phone or iPod is hard??
well what do you do when your device volume buttons quit working and you're out of warranty and don't to spend the money to get it replaced?

I had that happen with my iPhone 4 and my lock button. there is an option to make a on screen lock button.....

just gives more people options....not sure why it's something to complain about lol
__________________
MBA|11.6"|128GB iPad rMini|32GB|LTE iPhone 5|16GB Apple TV Time Capsule
rmhop81 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 02:34 PM   #39
JAT
In Time-Out
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Mpls, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by kannesss View Post
I haven't jailbroken since I had a 3G.
Has it become more stable? How is the Cydia store? I've just never seen anyone with it recently either
Stability depends on what you do with it. I find a plain JB to be quite stable. But, adding crazy tweaks can change that. I didn't like the one I tried that allows folders to hold more than 12 apps, for instance. I have stayed away from Winterboard and Activator, too. Too many options kills stability, I just happen to disagree with Apple about where to draw that line.

Sometimes you can fix it. I have some tweaks for the lock screen, and it would crash Springboard (basically killing everything) if a system alert came up at the same time, mainly the battery warning. So, I found a tweak that altered the battery warning to prevent the crash.

My main reason for it is SBSettings, which I put at the top of Notification Center, for easy access to toggles like vibrate, wifi, brightness, etc.

On my i4, speed became an issue, or on my iPod 1stGen before that. The more tweaks you have, the more iOS slows down. Esp all-encompassing stuff like Winterboard, which I stopped using. I think the i5 will be great with a JB.

Cydia is ok. People put way too many ads in their info pages that can take a while to load, and there are no image placeholders, so it just changes the screen suddenly if another ad loads above where you are looking (like a webpage might do). But it works fine, you just have to be a little patient.
JAT is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 06:31 PM   #40
kannesss
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Above.
It doesn't sound worth it too much
kannesss is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 07:13 PM   #41
Leonard1818
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by kannesss View Post
So. There are volume buttons on the side of my iPhone, as assume everyone has.

No volume buttons here.
Leonard1818 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 07:18 PM   #42
haruhiko
macrumors 68030
 
haruhiko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by kannesss View Post
So. There are volume buttons on the side of my iPhone, as assume everyone has.
So my question is why the HELL did they make it when you double tap the home button and slide over, they have a volume controller ...?
That's redundant. I'd kill for it to be brightness instead of volume that is at the bottom, as I can already control the volume from the buttons they've made. It's just really annoying to have to go into settings everytime,when it could be really simple and just put it where the volume slider is.
On the iPad:

A) using the volume controller in the multitasking tray
Swipe up (4 fingers), scroll left, and swipe. BOOM, your new volume level is set in 3 seconds

B) using the volume buttons
go to the volume button (maybe on either side depending on your orientation), click click click, adjusting one slot by one slot..... until you reach your desired volume level. Slow.
__________________
Mac: rMBP'12, iMac'08/24", Mini'09, MBP'10/15", MBA'11/13". iPhone: 5s/64S 5/64B, 4S/64W, 4/32B, 3GS/16. iPT: 3G,1G. iPad: Air,Mini2,4,3/LTE/64 2/3G/32, 1/WiFi/16. ATV'12,'11, AEBS'09, TC'13/2TB
haruhiko is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2012, 03:05 AM   #43
kannesss
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Above.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leonard1818 View Post
No volume buttons here.
You got an iPhone without volume buttons on the side, you didn't get an iPhone.
kannesss is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2012, 03:16 AM   #44
davehutch
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Croxley, Herts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ladytonya View Post
Very rarely adjust the brightness since the auto works pretty good. When I set up my phone I put it where I want it, then I rarely change it.

I change the volume way more than I ever change the brightness. The side buttons change the volume for whatever you are currently using, the bottom is your media. I like it the way it is!
Exactly this
davehutch is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2012, 04:09 AM   #45
big samm
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by applefanDrew View Post
No, I didn't mean it as an insult. What I meant was that the majority of Apple's customers aren't like us. They don't care about adjusting brightness. They care about adjusting volume. Apple caters to the majority, not the minority.
The majority ( the people not like us) almost don't even double tap the home button to see that they can switch between apps, let alone swiping to the right not once but twice to reveal the volume toggle... And you think apple had the normal people in mind... 😑
__________________
iPhone 4 32gb, iPad 3G 32gb, atv2 , ipod nano 8gb (4th gen), 15"MacBook Pro 2009 model
big samm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2012, 09:33 AM   #46
applefanDrew
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by big samm View Post
The majority ( the people not like us) almost don't even double tap the home button to see that they can switch between apps, let alone swiping to the right not once but twice to reveal the volume toggle... And you think apple had the normal people in mind... 😑
Actually multitasking is a pretty commonly used feature now, even among the regular people. I've seen college cheerleader/athletes/basic sorority girl use it.
applefanDrew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2012, 10:10 AM   #47
Krazy Bill
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by applefanDrew View Post
Actually multitasking is a pretty commonly used feature now, even among the regular people. I've seen college cheerleader/athletes/basic sorority girl use it.
Interesting "genre" of people you chose to illustrate that even stupid people can do two things at once these days?
Krazy Bill is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2012, 12:23 PM   #48
applefanDrew
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krazy Bill View Post
Interesting "genre" of people you chose to illustrate that even stupid people can do two things at once these days?

Exactly! Lol glad you caught that.
applefanDrew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2012, 01:55 PM   #49
alphaod
macrumors Core
 
alphaod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: 上海 (Shanghai)
There are many scenarios to consider~

Sometimes phones break and you can't use the volume buttons, instead of having to go into settings every time, you just use the multitasking bar.

You have the side buttons set to adjust the ringer. You're in an app that doesn't have hardware button support. You need to adjust the volume, you need to use the software toggles.

You're already using adjusting bar to pause music (or something similar); instead of repositioning your hand you swipe left to adjust the volume.

You want to use the iOS software function; Apple is about ease of use and consistency.



Just imagine a feature you wish the phone had, but it doesn't have. Then imaging the gratification it gives you when Apple adds this functionality. Think of the software volume slider as a feature many other folks wanted. The features are designed for the majority of people. Whether or not it makes sense or is useful to you or not is irrelevant. I think you should just be happy that it has the functionality even if it's useless to you.
__________________
Mac Pro | iMac | Mac mini | MacBook Pro | MacBook Air | iPad | iPhone | iPod
alphaod is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Possible to downgrade 64 bit to 32 bit time machine? Extra Crispy MacBook Pro 4 Jan 21, 2014 05:32 AM
64 bit & 32 bit apps ljy1 iOS 7 1 Jan 11, 2014 12:22 AM
Deploying 32 bit or 64 bit or Universal Binaries? kamy Mac Programming 7 Nov 15, 2013 01:10 PM
iMac 2008, Boot Camp 5, and Windows 7 32-bit & 64-bit mcrazza Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 0 Mar 20, 2013 10:57 PM
Why don't case manufacturers don't list the weight of their cases? blow45 iPad Accessories 10 Jul 7, 2012 01:24 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:28 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC