Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 27, 2012, 11:59 AM   #1
Maccotto
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Basic 13" Air can work with Lightroom RAW?

Hi all ,in my near electronic shop i found the air 13" basic (i5 sifh 4gb ram ) at 1099€ instead 1270€ .
My mi d tell me to buy it for mobility and avoid to use my fat sony vaio 16.4" or slow netbook with 12" amd c-60 (i think ) .
What you tell about? Can be a good idea o need wait (the MBA isn't necessary)
Maccotto is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 01:50 PM   #2
wolfpuppies3
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Virginia, USA
Mine works fine with RAW images in Lightroom4. I do have 8 GB memory.
__________________
2012 MBA 13, 2 Ghz i7, 8 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD; 2011 MBA 11, 1.8 Ghz i7, 4 GB RAM, 256 GB SSD; 2010 MB Pro 15, 2.66 Ghz i7, 8 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD; two iPad 3s and a mini, two iPhones and a bunch of iPods
wolfpuppies3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 01:30 AM   #3
Maccotto
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
So 4 Gb are too low for lightroom?
Maccotto is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 01:49 AM   #4
pantelija
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maccotto View Post
So 4 Gb are too low for lightroom?
Actually, I think it would be sufficient.
More RAM will not harm you, but 4 Gigs are ok...
pantelija is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 03:35 AM   #5
Alvesang
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
It depends on your RAW's resolution. A 10 megapixel RAW shouldn't be that big a deal, but if you're handling e.g. a D800 36 megapixel RAW I'd prepare for some lags.
__________________
Macs, iPads, iPhones, iPods and all that jazz...
Alvesang is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 08:51 AM   #6
Maccotto
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
I at moment use 12mpx reflex but i think to buy in the 2013 a 24mpx camera as D600.
So will i have serious problem?
Maccotto is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which nMP for Lightroom and PS work only? arbitrage Mac Pro 24 Dec 10, 2013 04:17 AM
Questions about RAW, preview and Lightroom? snerkler Digital Photography 18 Aug 11, 2013 09:14 AM
About to buy Macbook Air 11" i7 2.0ghz upgrade -- good for Lightroom? crashwins MacBook Air 11 Jan 8, 2013 08:16 AM
Would the MacBook Air 11" suffice for basic Logic work? (For college in Canada) CFoss MacBook Air 9 Sep 18, 2012 11:57 PM
Macbook Pro 13" or Macbook Air 13" for Lightroom astormsau MacBook Air 17 Jun 19, 2012 09:37 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:07 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC