Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 27, 2012, 12:18 PM   #1
windowstomac
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Wouldn't this be a good feature re WiFi?

A couple of nights ago, I managed to bash through a whole month's data allowance listening to Mixcloud because I had switched my WiFi off and forgot to switch it on at home.

Would perhaps be an idea for iOS to occasionally tell you "er...one of your normal WiFi networks is available, why are you hammering your 3G allowance?"

Just a thought....but then I guess if WiFi's switched off it wouldn't know...Shame, because I'm sure I'm not the first person to do this...
__________________
Blogging about my Mac Life at Windows to Mac - please come and visit
MBP 13" 2012 i7, 8GB RAM, 750GB Samsung Evo SSD ; iPhone 4S; iPad Mini 32GB; Apple TV Mk. 3.
windowstomac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 12:24 PM   #2
Etnies419
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
In the WiFi settings there's an option for "Ask to Join Networks". If WiFi is on, you aren't connected to a network, and it detects networks, it'll show a popup letting you choose one of those networks.
Etnies419 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 12:26 PM   #3
vastoholic
macrumors 68000
 
vastoholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Tulsa, OK
Quote:
Originally Posted by windowstomac View Post
A couple of nights ago, I managed to bash through a whole month's data allowance listening to Mixcloud because I had switched my WiFi off and forgot to switch it on at home.

Would perhaps be an idea for iOS to occasionally tell you "er...one of your normal WiFi networks is available, why are you hammering your 3G allowance?"

Just a thought....but then I guess if WiFi's switched off it wouldn't know...Shame, because I'm sure I'm not the first person to do this...
AT&T sends me alerts about my usage after I reach 60% and I think it does it again around 75 and 90%.
__________________
View my flickr sets....if you want. They're not too exciting.
vastoholic is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 12:26 PM   #4
windowstomac
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Ah, yes, but it wouldn't help if the WiFi was off as mine was.

I know the setting you mean, but it just makes my phone drive me mad when I'm out and about!
__________________
Blogging about my Mac Life at Windows to Mac - please come and visit
MBP 13" 2012 i7, 8GB RAM, 750GB Samsung Evo SSD ; iPhone 4S; iPad Mini 32GB; Apple TV Mk. 3.
windowstomac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 12:28 PM   #5
BFizzzle
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Austin TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by windowstomac View Post
Ah, yes, but it wouldn't help if the WiFi was off as mine was.

I know the setting you mean, but it just makes my phone drive me mad when I'm out and about!
but how can it search for wifi and say "hey your wifi is available" if your wifi is turned off???
BFizzzle is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 12:29 PM   #6
BaldiMac
macrumors 604
 
BaldiMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by windowstomac View Post
Ah, yes, but it wouldn't help if the WiFi was off as mine was.

I know the setting you mean, but it just makes my phone drive me mad when I'm out and about!
Turn off "Ask to Join Networks" but leave wifi on. It will connect automatically connect to known networks.
BaldiMac is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 12:33 PM   #7
mobilehaathi
macrumors 601
 
mobilehaathi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: The Anthropocene
It is a decent idea, but it seems that the WiFi antenna would have to be on in order to know that known WiFi networks are available. That would rather defeat the purpose of keeping it off...

I suppose they could allow the WiFi antenna to turn on periodically to check, but I'm not sure how much this would save battery as compared to just leaving it on. As mentioned above, if you just leave WiFi on and turn off "Ask to Join Networks" you will automatically join and use WiFi networks that you've already joined once before.
__________________
The true way is along a rope that is not spanned high in the air, but only just above the ground. It seems intended more to cause stumbling than to be walked along.
mobilehaathi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 12:34 PM   #8
windowstomac
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
I realise I may have made myself look daft with this.

The reason I switch my WiFi off is that on Vodafone in Portugal, there's a "MyVodafone" site, which tells me how much data and how many texts I have left BUT only does so when connected to 3G and not WiFi.

So I turn my WiFi off in order to check it, then if I forget to switch it back on again I end up wasting all my data allowance when my router is in the same room.

Just wondered if there was a way the phone could help people avoid doing this - it must be a common error. I understand that it can't detect WiFi networks when WiFi is off, but surely it wouldn't be too difficult to make the OS think "hang on, the GPS says you're at home, so why are you hammering your data allowance when you would usually be using your WiFi"
__________________
Blogging about my Mac Life at Windows to Mac - please come and visit
MBP 13" 2012 i7, 8GB RAM, 750GB Samsung Evo SSD ; iPhone 4S; iPad Mini 32GB; Apple TV Mk. 3.
windowstomac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 12:36 PM   #9
BigMcGuire
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
My previous co-worker burned through his monthly allotment of data by accidentally leaving Netflix on without WiFi. Verizon Wireless has Usage Notifiers and it's $10 for another 2gb on a family plan.

It's $$$ in their pockets if you accidentally go over so they'll encourage it as much as they can . That's why minutes, texts are free now. Data is where the petrol of the wireless industry is. $60 for 2 GB is pretty sad. I pay $70/mo for 100mbps down and 5 mbps up with Charter cable with a 500GB limit. SAD.
BigMcGuire is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 12:37 PM   #10
mobilehaathi
macrumors 601
 
mobilehaathi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: The Anthropocene
Quote:
Originally Posted by windowstomac View Post
Just wondered if there was a way the phone could help people avoid doing this - it must be a common error. I understand that it can't detect WiFi networks when WiFi is off, but surely it wouldn't be too difficult to make the OS think "hang on, the GPS says you're at home, so why are you hammering your data allowance when you would usually be using your WiFi"
Perhaps they could allow one to create a list of GPS coordinates of known WiFi hotspots (home, work, coffee bar), where if you are within a certain radius the location it informs you that your WiFi is off and that perhaps you want to turn it on.
__________________
The true way is along a rope that is not spanned high in the air, but only just above the ground. It seems intended more to cause stumbling than to be walked along.
mobilehaathi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 12:40 PM   #11
windowstomac
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
My previous co-worker burned through his monthly allotment of data by accidentally leaving Netflix on without WiFi.
When I moaned about it on Facebook, a mate said he had done it too - it must happen all the time...and many countries don't provide data allowances as generous as those in the US and UK...
__________________
Blogging about my Mac Life at Windows to Mac - please come and visit
MBP 13" 2012 i7, 8GB RAM, 750GB Samsung Evo SSD ; iPhone 4S; iPad Mini 32GB; Apple TV Mk. 3.
windowstomac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 12:43 PM   #12
peeaanuut
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Southern California
Send a message via AIM to peeaanuut
I would imagine that the data carriers wouldnt like this at all. They want you to go over your allowance so they can charge an arm and a leg for more.
peeaanuut is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 01:24 PM   #13
Interstella5555
macrumors 603
 
Interstella5555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
I guess personal responsibility is way to much to ask of people these days.
Interstella5555 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 01:34 PM   #14
mobilehaathi
macrumors 601
 
mobilehaathi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: The Anthropocene
Quote:
Originally Posted by Interstella5555 View Post
I guess personal responsibility is way to much to ask of people these days.
What's your problem with a low-key feature to help remind one to jump on WiFi if it is available? If you want to ooze self-righteousness, go hit up PRSI.
__________________
The true way is along a rope that is not spanned high in the air, but only just above the ground. It seems intended more to cause stumbling than to be walked along.
mobilehaathi is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 01:40 PM   #15
Interstella5555
macrumors 603
 
Interstella5555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by mobilehaathi View Post
What's your problem with a low-key feature to help remind one to jump on WiFi if it is available? If you want to ooze self-righteousness, go hit up PRSI.
You mean beyond the fact that it already exists?
Interstella5555 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 01:41 PM   #16
mobilehaathi
macrumors 601
 
mobilehaathi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: The Anthropocene
Quote:
Originally Posted by Interstella5555 View Post
You mean beyond the fact that it already exists?
There is an option to add GPS coords such that, while your WiFi is off, your phone will notify you that you could turn it on to connect?
__________________
The true way is along a rope that is not spanned high in the air, but only just above the ground. It seems intended more to cause stumbling than to be walked along.
mobilehaathi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 01:51 PM   #17
aDRock1154
macrumors 65816
 
aDRock1154's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Ohio
Why not just set a location based reminder when you get home to turn on WIFI.

Or use your brain and remember
__________________
Mid 2012 MacBook Air 13.3", 1.8GHz, 256GB | iPhone 5S 64GB | iPhone 5 64GB | iPhone 4S 64GB | Apple TV | Airport Extreme
aDRock1154 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 02:10 PM   #18
mobilehaathi
macrumors 601
 
mobilehaathi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: The Anthropocene
Quote:
Originally Posted by aDRock1154 View Post
Why not just set a location based reminder when you get home to turn on WIFI.
Excellent idea, and almost what's been proposed. If it could be streamlined to automatically add coordinates when one connects to a network the first time, and even give the option to automatically turn on WiFi when nearby and automatically turn off when leaving, it would be a complete feature. It would need some ability to set a radius around an area (could probably estimate this with some clever signal strength polling) to give a decent idea when to turn on/off. It is quite possible I think; obviously the software tech is all there.

Anyway, the reminders is a poor-man's version of this.

Although, personally I just leave WiFi on all the time, if there was a more dynamic approach as above, I'd love to save a bit of battery.
__________________
The true way is along a rope that is not spanned high in the air, but only just above the ground. It seems intended more to cause stumbling than to be walked along.
mobilehaathi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 07:14 PM   #19
aDRock1154
macrumors 65816
 
aDRock1154's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by mobilehaathi View Post
Excellent idea, and almost what's been proposed. If it could be streamlined to automatically add coordinates when one connects to a network the first time, and even give the option to automatically turn on WiFi when nearby and automatically turn off when leaving, it would be a complete feature. It would need some ability to set a radius around an area (could probably estimate this with some clever signal strength polling) to give a decent idea when to turn on/off. It is quite possible I think; obviously the software tech is all there.

Anyway, the reminders is a poor-man's version of this.

Although, personally I just leave WiFi on all the time, if there was a more dynamic approach as above, I'd love to save a bit of battery.
In all honesty I just leave my WIFI on all the time, so it's not really a big deal to me.

It would be a great feature, but we all know Apple with giving us what we want..
aDRock1154 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 07:18 PM   #20
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Interstella5555 View Post
I guess personal responsibility is way to much to ask of people these days.
Lol
Tell me about.
How can you miss when looking at your screen and instead of the wifi logo next to the carrier name it displays 3G/LTE instead
Applejuiced is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 07:19 PM   #21
Serelus
macrumors Demi-God
 
Serelus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Vm9pZA
Quote:
Originally Posted by windowstomac View Post
I realise I may have made myself look daft with this.

The reason I switch my WiFi off is that on Vodafone in Portugal, there's a "MyVodafone" site, which tells me how much data and how many texts I have left BUT only does so when connected to 3G and not WiFi.

So I turn my WiFi off in order to check it, then if I forget to switch it back on again I end up wasting all my data allowance when my router is in the same room.

Just wondered if there was a way the phone could help people avoid doing this - it must be a common error. I understand that it can't detect WiFi networks when WiFi is off, but surely it wouldn't be too difficult to make the OS think "hang on, the GPS says you're at home, so why are you hammering your data allowance when you would usually be using your WiFi"
There has to be a limit, there are thousands of people with thousands of these suggestions. Apple decides which are good enough and implements them. Have you thought about using the reminders app, also doing that with siri is really, really easy.
Serelus is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 07:19 PM   #22
peeaanuut
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Southern California
Send a message via AIM to peeaanuut
but but but....they have to do it for us.
peeaanuut is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is Wifi calling suppose to be an iOS Feature JohnnyDJunior iOS 7 38 Sep 14, 2013 12:23 AM
Wifi + Cellular feature didn't make it? jangoforhire iOS 6 2 Sep 21, 2012 09:52 PM
Any chance of a wifi hotspot feature? MitchHamilton iPhone 8 Sep 2, 2012 11:29 PM
Wouldn't this be an epic feature in OS X 11? FatGuy007 MacBook Pro 22 Jun 15, 2012 05:43 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:31 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC