Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 27, 2012, 08:11 PM   #26
KaraH
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: DC
Quote:
Originally Posted by xgman View Post
Wish there was a 512 option.
You might want to see what OWC says when they can tear the iMacs down as it is in their financial interest to get one in there.
__________________
through the years: Apple ][ eventually upgraded to a //e (and it never really died), Centris 660AV, PowerMac 7600, Macbook, iPod 5G, eMac, a couple of aluminium iMacs, STILL hoping for a 2013 MP
KaraH is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 12:03 AM   #27
tom vilsack
macrumors 65816
 
tom vilsack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: ladner cdn
Another option would be to use a thunderbolt external ssd drive and clone osx to it (carbon copy,super duper) and use it as boot drive and 1 or 3 TB 7200 rpm internal drive as storage.
tom vilsack is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 01:32 AM   #28
flynz4
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Quote:
Originally Posted by KaraH View Post
You might want to see what OWC says when they can tear the iMacs down as it is in their financial interest to get one in there.
I am looking forward to see what OWC comes up with.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom vilsack View Post
Another option would be to use a thunderbolt external ssd drive and clone osx to it (carbon copy,super duper) and use it as boot drive and 1 or 3 TB 7200 rpm internal drive as storage.
I have always had an uneasy feeling about having the boot drive be external. There just seems to be just too much risk of inadvertent disconnection. I would hate to corrupt something in the OS.

However... I might consider an external SSD for my Aperture 3 (A3) library. All my data is continually backed up to dual locations. I also run a CCC clone of my A3 library to an external HDD as an emergency backup database. That can be automated to run nightly.

If I was to put my A3 library on an external SSD (or even my Pegasus R4)... then I would probably get the smallest 1TB Fusion option... and just never let it get any larger than 100GB or so... keeping everything OS related on the internal SSD. Everything else could be off on the Pegasus. That would save me $1000 or so.

I have never really tested my A3 library extensively on the Pegasus R4 because my current iMac is not TB capable. I have done some tests with the R4 and my MBA... and it was surprisingly good.

Something to consider.

/Jim
flynz4 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 03:23 AM   #29
iLondoner
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: London (the big one, not London Ohio, Texas, Kentucky, etc)
Quote:
Originally Posted by flynz4 View Post
...When I am working... I want my entire library resident on the SSD. I often scroll through huge portions of my photos. At most maybe about 1/4 of my A3 library could possibly be resident on the SSD portion of fusion...
Unless you are actually viewing each photo, what you are looking at is the thumbnails, not the actual photos, so my guess (and it is only a guess) is that the thumbnails and other stuff you regularly access would fit on the SSD. It's certainly something that's worth checking before you spend $1300.
iLondoner is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 09:13 PM   #30
bill phillips
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJRonbo View Post
I am. Not overly proud to say it, but I am getting the 27" iMac with full SSD capability.

Anybody else?

(Don't answer all at once)
hey njronbo i just saw your post, im wondering whether youve had time to change your mind about the full ssd or are you happy with the decision now that that the repairability articles have come out on self installation..Im ordering the fusion but am considering updating my order to the 768 as its still processing and hasn't shipped. Just looking for another mac lovers opinion
bill phillips is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 09:21 PM   #31
snugja
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Red face

*raises hand*
snugja is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 02:03 AM   #32
flynz4
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Quote:
Originally Posted by iLondoner View Post
Unless you are actually viewing each photo, what you are looking at is the thumbnails, not the actual photos, so my guess (and it is only a guess) is that the thumbnails and other stuff you regularly access would fit on the SSD. It's certainly something that's worth checking before you spend $1300.
Aperture creates "previews" and that is what I actually look at the most. I would typically have them set to "fit within 1920X1920" or "fit within 2560X2560" (with a dual 27" monitor config). It would very much overflow the tiny 128GB SSD. Even worse... you have no control over what data is stored in the SSD.

/Jim
flynz4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 05:44 AM   #33
NJRonbo
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Quote:
hey njronbo i just saw your post, im wondering whether youve had time to change your mind about the full ssd or are you happy with the decision now that that the repairability articles have come out on self installation.
Haven't read the articles or aware of the repairability issues.

I don't know if it's an easy or difficult chore to make changes to the iMac.

Still, I don't have any desire to open my iMac and attempt to make any.

I am definitely still going with the 768GB flash drive. I was sold on SSD when I took possession of my Retina Macbook Pro. I don't want anything less.
NJRonbo is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:58 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC