Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 28, 2012, 08:50 AM   #1
Jiskefet
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
MM does not recognize HDD

Hi,

Just got my new 2012 MM , i connect (FireWire)my G drive ,750Gb FireWire to my MM ,but the MM does not see the HDD .

What to do ?
Jiskefet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 08:53 AM   #2
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
What is the format of the disk, NTFS-HFS-EXT?

Does it show up in Disk Utility, if so try to mount, if it does not try to repair the drive.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 08:56 AM   #3
xlii
macrumors 68000
 
xlii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Millis, Massachusetts
Is the external drive plugged into an external power source or is it only being powered from firewire? A 750 GB drive *might* draw too much current for your laptop's firewire socket to be it's sole power source.

Failing that I'd then try the drive on USB or on another machine to eliminate the drive from the equation.
xlii is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 09:02 AM   #4
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by xlii View Post
Is the external drive plugged into an external power source or is it only being powered from firewire? A 750 GB drive *might* draw too much current for your laptop's firewire socket to be it's sole power source.

Failing that I'd then try the drive on USB or on another machine to eliminate the drive from the equation.
Good point, forgot about that, if it is a 3.5" it probably needs external power, mine does and is almost sure a copy/sister of the G-drive, exactly the same power supply, same connection, and brand.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 09:03 AM   #5
Jiskefet
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
I had the same problem on my IMAc , but after ,disconnecting every connection and take the power of for 5 minutes , than connect all the connection again and start the IMac again , that worked ok for me , but not this time on the MM

Im nor sure about the format from the HDD , it does not show up in Disk Utility, its only powerd by FW.
Jiskefet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 09:08 AM   #6
xlii
macrumors 68000
 
xlii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Millis, Massachusetts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiskefet View Post
I had the same problem on my IMAc , but after ,disconnecting every connection and take the power of for 5 minutes , than connect all the connection again and start the IMac again , that worked ok for me , but not this time on the MM

Im nor sure about the format from the HDD , it does not show up in Disk Utility, its only powerd by FW.
Does the drive have an external power source (120v or 220v)? I have a few 2.5" 500gb external drives that are right on the edge when trying to drive them from just my laptop. Sometimes they mount and sometimes they don't. Hooking them up to external power and they mount 100% of the time.
xlii is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 09:08 AM   #7
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiskefet View Post
I had the same problem on my IMAc , but after ,disconnecting every connection and take the power of for 5 minutes , than connect all the connection again and start the IMac again , that worked ok for me , but not this time on the MM

Im nor sure about the format from the HDD , it does not show up in Disk Utility
If it does not show up in Disk Utility it means the System does not see it at all, are there drivers or firmware updates for it.
I still remember my Original G-drive, with a PATA drive in it, it had many problems due to an older chip set used.
This was years ago and later they changed the chipset and I think that was the problem.
Is yours with a PATA drive?
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 09:13 AM   #8
Jiskefet
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
> Does the drive have an external power source

No

>Is yours with a PATA drive
Don,t think so , but can,t check it now ....
Jiskefet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 09:19 AM   #9
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiskefet View Post
> Does the drive have an external power source

No

>Is yours with a PATA drive
Don,t think so , but can,t check it now ....
2.5'" or 3.5"

Probably a 2.5" and if that's the case the FW port should be able to deliver the power it needs.
Mine which gave me troubles was a 3.5" and was bought years ago, don't know exactly but probably 5+ years ago.

Why can't you check, because on your job-not near to it?
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 09:23 AM   #10
Jiskefet
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Its a 2.5" , i can't check because my MM does not recognize it ....
Jiskefet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 09:33 AM   #11
xlii
macrumors 68000
 
xlii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Millis, Massachusetts
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
2.5'" or 3.5"

Probably a 2.5" and if that's the case the FW port should be able to deliver the power it needs.
Mine which gave me troubles was a 3.5" and was bought years ago, don't know exactly but probably 5+ years ago.

Why can't you check, because on your job-not near to it?
I would suggest trying external power. My 2.5" 500gb drives are right on the edge between being mounted or not mounted when run just from the fw port. It depends on how much current his external drive needs vs how much power the fw port on his mini supplies.
xlii is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 09:39 AM   #12
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by xlii View Post
I would suggest trying external power. My 2.5" 500gb drives are right on the edge between being mounted or not mounted when run just from the fw port. It depends on how much current his external drive needs vs how much power the fw port on his mini supplies.
That must be a toshiba, I have one and the drive needs a USB Y connection to work, and even if I use it on a powered 1 Amp USB Hub it refuses to mount.

But, yes, that is a good idea, if he has one.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 09:50 AM   #13
xlii
macrumors 68000
 
xlii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Millis, Massachusetts
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
That must be a toshiba, I have one and the drive needs a USB Y connection to work, and even if I use it on a powered 1 Amp USB Hub it refuses to mount.

But, yes, that is a good idea, if he has one.
The drive I own are Western Digital Scorpio Blue 500 gb 2.5" drives. In OWC single drive enclosures (usb, fw800, esata).
xlii is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 12:25 AM   #14
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiskefet View Post
Its a 2.5" , i can't check because my MM does not recognize it ....
I did not see this post until this morning, better use quote, then it shows up in my quotes.

I think right now there is only one thing you can do, connect it to a PC with firewire, or if the G-Drive has USB connect it with USB.
If the disk shows up in Windows there is something amiss in OS X, if it does not show up on a PC there is something wrong with the disk.

BTW, are you Dutch/Belgian--Jiskefet--, wasn't that a program on dutch TV long time ago?
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 06:32 AM   #15
Jiskefet
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Yes im from Holland .... did you see Jiskefet on tv ?

the problem is solved, the cable seems to be the problem, after some turning and twisting the cable, the HDD got recognized
Jiskefet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 06:41 AM   #16
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jiskefet View Post
Yes im from Holland .... did you see Jiskefet on tv ?

the problem is solved, the cable seems to be the problem, after some turning and twisting the cable, the HDD got recognized
Good you solved it, actually thatís what I recommend people to check out first if it concerns TV-radio and the like, did not think it was the problem here.

You know, I know the program, was great "they" say, can't really remember if I saw the program.
I have been on and of in Holland for the last 15 years, but most of the time I am in the place in my Location below my Avatar, guess where I am.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mid-2010 won't recognize new old HDD eapiwo MacBook Pro 2 Apr 11, 2014 09:28 AM
SSD/HDD Combo...HDD very poor access time/performance TahoeDust MacBook Pro 7 Jun 13, 2013 02:24 AM
macbook pro A1286 doesn't recognize origional hdd, hdd is good. mattg889 MacBook Pro 9 Apr 12, 2013 06:45 PM
MacBook Pro Won't recognize internal HDD re1dconn MacBook Pro 2 Jan 30, 2013 01:09 PM
How to get MBP to recognize HDD in DVD bay Bluedog54 MacBook Pro 4 Oct 13, 2012 04:20 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:23 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC