Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Heb1228

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Feb 3, 2004
Virginia Beach, VA
I just got a 240GB SSD and a 750 GB HDD. I want to replace the 500GB Momentus XT that's in my 17" MBP now. I've got the drives and the hardware to replace the optical drive is on its way.

My main question - just to see if anyone has some recommendations here - is which bay to put the SSD in... the regular hard drive bay under the palm rest? or in the optical bay?

I'm assuming there will be no speed difference. Is that correct?
Any thoughts on noise/vibration coming from the HDD and which bay would be best for that?
Any other considerations?

Also, I've searched and couldn't find anything yet... do anyone know if there's a way to see the contents of each drive when they are fused? Not wanting to manage, just observe.

Middleman-77

macrumors regular
Nov 29, 2012
Hi there,

I've had some experience with creating my own Fusion drive so I could probably help. You can follow this guide for your setup, as this guy is using the same 17" MBP. > http://www.petralli.net/2012/10/ana...macs-with-an-ssd-and-a-traditional-hard-disk/

a) I would suggest stick only using either OCZ Vertex/Agility 3/4 or Samsung SSDs, and Hitachi/WD HDs at the moment because there is a high chance of incompatibility when creating the Fusion Drive. I have experienced this with my setups and got numerous errors mainly unable to create a Logical Volume (Fusion Drive) with Intel 520 or a Kingston V+200 SSD.

b) Secondly there are certain models of Macs which are reported to have experienced problems with Fusion Drive. The early 2011 15" MBP is one of them. > https://forums.macrumors.com/threads/1494209/