Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > Mac Programming

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 28, 2012, 05:32 PM   #1
dancks
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
A repair at the apple stored messed up my permissions

as talked about http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1468986

I noticed they downgraded my computer from from 10.6.8 to 10.6.3 and uninstalled a lot of stuff like xcode. This was all part of some diagnostic for my computer to eliminate a software problem apparently. I just wanted to compile a stupid program with allegro I find I have to use sudo to use g++ to use -L/usr/local/lib and this is after trying sudo chmod 755 /usr/local/lib. I try to use cmake to reinstall allegro after it turns out that the original install is screwed up somehow. cmake runs an initial test on gcc and it fails. I re-installed xcode from the 10.6 cd I got 2 years ago.

terminal:

Code:
jason-danckss-macbook:build Jason$ cmake ..
-- The C compiler identification is unknown
-- The CXX compiler identification is unknown
-- Check for working C compiler: /usr/bin/gcc
-- Check for working C compiler: /usr/bin/gcc -- broken
CMake Error at /Applications/CMake 2.8-7.app/Contents/share/cmake-2.8/Modules/CMakeTestCCompiler.cmake:52 (MESSAGE):
  The C compiler "/usr/bin/gcc" is not able to compile a simple test program.

  It fails with the following output:

   Change Dir: /Users/Jason/allegro/build/CMakeFiles/CMakeTmp

  

  Run Build Command:/usr/bin/make "cmTryCompileExec/fast"

  /usr/bin/make -f CMakeFiles/cmTryCompileExec.dir/build.make
  CMakeFiles/cmTryCompileExec.dir/build

  "/Applications/CMake 2.8-7.app/Contents/bin/cmake" -E cmake_progress_report
  /Users/Jason/allegro/build/CMakeFiles/CMakeTmp/CMakeFiles 1

  Building C object CMakeFiles/cmTryCompileExec.dir/testCCompiler.c.o

  /usr/bin/gcc -o CMakeFiles/cmTryCompileExec.dir/testCCompiler.c.o -c
  /Users/Jason/allegro/build/CMakeFiles/CMakeTmp/testCCompiler.c

  cc1: error: /usr/local/include: Permission denied

  make[1]: *** [CMakeFiles/cmTryCompileExec.dir/testCCompiler.c.o] Error 1

  make: *** [cmTryCompileExec/fast] Error 2

  

  

  CMake will not be able to correctly generate this project.
Call Stack (most recent call first):
  CMakeLists.txt:31 (project)


-- Configuring incomplete, errors occurred!
fyi and the funny thing is besides downgrading my computer all they ended up doing is replacing the topcase.

I guess I'm open to input but really I'm just venting.

I'll try to use Clang instead I'll post back.
dancks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 05:55 PM   #2
gnasher729
macrumors G5
 
gnasher729's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
You have a Time Machine backup, don't you?
gnasher729 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 07:17 PM   #3
mfram
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: San Diego, CA USA
I don't think Time Machine existed in 10.6.x. I thought that was a 10.7 feature.

Anyway, to the O.P., it looks like you're going to have to re-produce whatever custom setup you had before. Looks like the XCode Command-Line tools aren't installed correctly. You'll have to go into the settings menu and make sure they are activated. Of course, that may be difficult since you'll have an older version of XCode. Not sure if it's still supported or not.
mfram is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 07:24 PM   #4
bronner
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Michigan
Time machine

Time machine didnt only exist in 10.6 AND 10.7, but it was a new feature in 10.5 Leopard.

It went:

10.5 Leopard
10.6 Snow Leopard
10.7 Lion
10.8 Mountain Lion
bronner is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 09:52 AM   #5
dancks
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
I don't use Time Machine. oops.

I was able to fix some of the problems by re-enabling root and unlocking some system folders. Still doesn't work completely right. Problem is I set it up such a long time ago I don't remember what I have to do.
dancks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 01:01 PM   #6
ArtOfWarfare
macrumors 603
 
ArtOfWarfare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Send a message via Skype™ to ArtOfWarfare
Quote:
Originally Posted by dancks View Post
I don't use Time Machine. oops.

I was able to fix some of the problems by re-enabling root and unlocking some system folders. Still doesn't work completely right. Problem is I set it up such a long time ago I don't remember what I have to do.
Don't forget to document what you do this time around.

Edit: and keep that document backed up somewhere.
ArtOfWarfare is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > Mac Programming

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Advice, Apple messed up repair twice golong15 MacBook Pro 19 May 8, 2014 06:30 PM
Repair Permissions not working?? SRLMJ23 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 5 Oct 19, 2013 06:41 PM
How to repair Lion 10.7.5 messed up by windows andreu32 Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 0 Dec 9, 2012 01:34 PM
Permissions always get messed up? faroZ06 OS X 2 Nov 21, 2012 12:55 PM
Permissions need constant repair jpine Mac Pro 5 Aug 28, 2012 05:12 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:59 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC