Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

bigboar

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Oct 26, 2012
Ohio
hi all, got my new mbp today and just got done cloning and installing my new vertex 4 I received along with it. I got blackmagic disk speedtest and ran it and here are the results:
write: 478.2
read: 453.1

are those good results for an ssd? sorry if its a dumb question but I am new to this. also, I now have my stock 500gb HD in an enclosure and would like to know if I need to partition it or anything in order to use it to hold my movies,music etc without affecting the original osx portion. what I want to learn to do is make it the default directly for everything iTunes related and I was reading the other night that you can setup an external HD to do so but can't remember where I read the how to. I am back on the search for it now but getting tired....

Last edited:

AirThis

macrumors 6502a
Mar 6, 2012
Your results are fine. It's the expected high performance for the Vertex model you've got. Sit back and enjoy.

Orlandoech

macrumors 68040
Jun 2, 2011
Vertex 4 and Samsung 840 Pro are the two fastest and best SSDs on the market IMO.

justperry

macrumors G5
Aug 10, 2007
I'm a rolling stone.
I now have my stock 500gb HD in an enclosure and would like to know if I need to partition it or anything in order to use it to hold my movies,music etc without affecting the original osx portion. what I want to learn to do is make it the default directly for everything iTunes related and I was reading the other night that you can setup an external HD to do so but can't remember where I read the how to. I am back on the search for it now but getting tired....

If you want iTunes to recognise where your iTunes Music is you have to go into iTunes Preferences and in the advanced Tab set it to the external disk, if your music folder is already on that second partition then point it towards that Music folder.