Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 29, 2012, 06:36 AM   #1
kcchaso
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Sanding Sim Card?

Has anyone made their own nano-sim card? Did you have to sand it or you just cut it pop it right in?
kcchaso is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 06:52 AM   #2
cyclotron451
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Europe
I was going to cut my 128k mini-sim down to size but then noticed Vodafone Italy had a free nano-sim available as replacement. I did practice on an old mini-sim and it was easy to cut to size with sharp electrician's scissors, then the only filing with sand-paper that I did was to smoothen the rough edges on the sim. The depth of the cut-down sim wasn't a particular problem.

practice on something old first!
cyclotron451 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 07:17 AM   #3
ProudLoz
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
The T-Mobile SIM card I cut down for the hell of it didn't need any sanding whatsoever. Just cut it up and you're good to go.
ProudLoz is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 07:49 AM   #4
XboxMySocks
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Yeah, they don't usually need sanding. I would still recommend doing it out of anal retentiveness, but it's not needed.
__________________
Out Of Warranty Replacements: (North America)
iPads: Mini; $219. 4th gen; $299. 3rd gen; $299, 2nd gen; $249. 1st gen; $229
iPhones: 5S; $269. 5C; $269 5; $229. 4S; $199. 4, 3GS, 3G, 1st gen; $169.
XboxMySocks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 05:24 PM   #5
Cripps
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
My cut down fits easly without sanding.
Cripps is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 05:28 PM   #6
forcetactic
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Mine needed sanding but it's very easy to do. If your sim card has some resistance when inserting, just sand it a bit
forcetactic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 05:29 PM   #7
psykick5
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
I just cut mine
psykick5 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 05:39 PM   #8
max5peru
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Peru
same here
Quote:
Originally Posted by psykick5 View Post
I just cut mine
max5peru is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPad: Bought a 3rd Gen iPad, with no SIM card included. Can I add any company's SIM? HappyDude20 iPad 5 Dec 6, 2013 03:09 AM
sim card/activation problem/extra sim card ??? tcoche iPhone 0 Sep 22, 2012 06:38 PM
Cut Down Sim No Sanding Required. wrkactjob iPhone 0 Sep 22, 2012 08:04 AM
Selling iphone 4S Sim card is needed? iphone5 comes SIM card? chrisfromalbany iPhone 4 Sep 17, 2012 01:36 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC