Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 29, 2012, 06:03 PM   #1
art-tour
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Dublin
Mac Mini 2012 crashes after RAM upgrade

Hi,

I am new to this forum so hallo everybody
I was trying to find an answer to described below problem but couldn't find any.
I am using new Mac Mini quad core i7, 2.3 ghz, 4gb ram . Brilliant machine however...
This morning I got a post with 16GB ram memory (from ebay)
After installing it computer or rather screen starts to behave weird. After about 20-30sec all screen was covered with strange colorful marks, computer got frozen and all system went down...then restarted without my intention.


I am back now to my original 4gb and all works great again.

Any idea what is wrong? is it a new RAM problem?
(below is the image of the frozen screen)

http://tinyurl.com/cjkgkkz

thank you!
art-tour is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 06:06 PM   #2
stridemat
Moderator
 
stridemat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Southampton, UK
Is the new ram seated correctly in the slots? I would return and try a replacement if it is.

To me it looks like a logic board / gpu problem, but that would be consistent even when you used the old ram.
__________________
stridemat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 06:10 PM   #3
chrise2
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
I agree with trying to re-seat the ram. If that doesn't work, the RAM is probably bad. Usually, if its the wrong type of RAM, the computer won't even boot.
chrise2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 06:17 PM   #4
art-tour
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Dublin
hmm, I will try again then...give me a few minutes please and will let you know
art-tour is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 06:28 PM   #5
borostef
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Zagreb, Croatia
Bad RAM… It happens sometimes… I had the same problem with the 16GB kit from OWC...
borostef is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 06:31 PM   #6
spammerhamster
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Corsair vengeance?
spammerhamster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 06:39 PM   #7
Macclone
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
You were holding the RAM wrong.
Macclone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 06:44 PM   #8
fa8362
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
The new RAM is either bad or you didn't install it properly. Probably bad, because you don't seem to have any trouble installing the original RAM. That's why I don't buy RAM from eBay.
fa8362 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 06:45 PM   #9
art-tour
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Dublin
HI, I am back. tried to reinstal it again and still the same problem. all works fine with my originally installed 4gb...
will probably send it back... it's Eudar (from Taiwan by sold by UK based company)

Thanks a lot!

Last edited by art-tour; Nov 29, 2012 at 06:51 PM.
art-tour is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 07:26 PM   #10
old-wiz
macrumors 604
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: West Suburban Boston Ma
Quote:
Originally Posted by art-tour View Post
HI, I am back. tried to reinstal it again and still the same problem. all works fine with my originally installed 4gb...
will probably send it back... it's Eudar (from Taiwan by sold by UK based company)

Thanks a lot!
cheap ram tends to not work well.
old-wiz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 08:36 PM   #11
philipma1957
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by art-tour View Post
HI, I am back. tried to reinstal it again and still the same problem. all works fine with my originally installed 4gb...
will probably send it back... it's Eudar (from Taiwan by sold by UK based company)

Thanks a lot!
yeah happens I don't know if amazon uk will ship to you but here is a link


I have two sets in my minis

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Crucial-memo...239316&sr=8-10


----------




I am usa based but crucial is good ram all over the world.
philipma1957 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 08:40 PM   #12
G-Mo
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Auckland, NZ
Was the RAM Apple Qualified?
__________________
ACMT, ACSP, ACTC
MacBook Air (13-inch, Mid 2012) 8GB RAM, 256GB, Mac mini (Late 2012) 16GB RAM, Fusion Drive (128GB SSD/750GB 7200RPM)
iPad mini 16GB, iPhone 4S 16GB
G-Mo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 01:41 AM   #13
Darby67
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: the corner of Fire and Brimstone
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Mo View Post
Was the RAM Apple Qualified?
Please, do tell what this entails.
__________________
6C nMP D700s
15" 2.3 GHz QC i7 MBP
2.6 GHz QC i7 Mini & 2.3 GHz QC i7 Mini
Darby67 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 03:16 AM   #14
Edde1
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darby67 View Post
Please, do tell what this entails.

This Epidia ram is used by apple so i will order that

http://www.ebay.de/itm/2x-8GB-16GB-R...item53ed66c2a3
Edde1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 03:24 AM   #15
stridemat
Moderator
 
stridemat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Southampton, UK
I have used Crucial ram in all my computers for years, and never had a problem.

OP, just by from a reputable seller and you should be fine.
__________________
stridemat is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 04:03 AM   #16
Jiskefet
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
I have 16Gb from Kingston , no problems .
Jiskefet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 05:47 AM   #17
art-tour
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Dublin
It wasn't cheap. well, comparing to apple prices it was but who would pay the crazy money they are asking for?
Anyway, here is the website where you can get the memory which always works. I was upgrading my old iMac twice. I just checked it now and looks like they have the memory I am looking for. They didn't week ago...
I should wait a bit instead of getting something I don't know
http://www.mrmemory.co.uk/

thanks for all links and suggestions!
art-tour is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 07:25 AM   #18
fhall1
macrumors 68020
 
fhall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY State of mind
If you're really inquisitive, what you could do is use one of the RAM modules that came with the Mini in the "inner" slot and then replace the outer one with one, then the other of your upgrade modules. One should work and you'll have 10GB RAM, the other should fail - that would be the bad one....however, you'll want to replace the set, not just the one.
__________________
2012 2.3GHz i7 Mini, 16GB RAM; 2009 2.93 GHz C2D iMac, 8GB RAM, GT120 GPU
1.83 GHz CD Mini, 2GB RAM, 200GB HD; 1.25 GHz 17" G4 iMac, 2GB RAM, 128GB SSD
64GB Silver iPhone 5s, 64GB White iPad Air
fhall1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 07:59 AM   #19
art-tour
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Dublin
I just started 'return item' procedure yesterday. I am not expecting any problems with that. Will order new set from MrMemory after that
cheers
art-tour is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 09:07 AM   #20
G-Mo
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Auckland, NZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darby67 View Post
Please, do tell what this entails.
Apple certified or qualified RAM means the product has been designed and tested for your Apple computer. While non-certified memory may work, certified/qualified RAM is guaranteed to work (or the module is faulty).
__________________
ACMT, ACSP, ACTC
MacBook Air (13-inch, Mid 2012) 8GB RAM, 256GB, Mac mini (Late 2012) 16GB RAM, Fusion Drive (128GB SSD/750GB 7200RPM)
iPad mini 16GB, iPhone 4S 16GB
G-Mo is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac mini late 2012 ram upgrade Noetics Buying Tips and Advice 5 Nov 11, 2013 05:05 AM
Mac Mini 2012 startup jitter after 16GB RAM Upgrade oneinten Mac mini 12 Apr 4, 2013 09:41 AM
Resolved: Mac Mini 2012 ram upgrade Qs saha-med Mac mini 8 Mar 28, 2013 09:45 PM
Should I upgrade ram 2012 Mac mini? MacOSXuser Mac mini 27 Nov 17, 2012 09:24 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:23 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC