Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 30, 2012, 01:06 AM   #1
eagandale4114
macrumors 65816
 
eagandale4114's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
The first Teardown pics are here!

Here you guys go.








Source.
First seen by 9to5.
__________________
Early 2011 MacBook Pro 17" with antiglare & iPhone 5s 32GB
PS3 & PS Vita
eagandale4114 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 01:13 AM   #2
tubbymac
macrumors 65816
 
tubbymac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
That's the most beautiful logic board layout I've ever seen in a desktop. I like how the display comes cleanly off which should make it much easier to deal with than the last generation iMac. We no longer have to worry about getting rid of the dust between the glass and the display when we open the iMac 2012 model up.

The hard drive looks very easy to access as well. That's a very good sign. Now we just have to wait to see what type of fan issues / temperature sensor workarounds are needed if we want to replace the hard drive ourselves.

I really want to buy one and replace the HD with my own SSD!
__________________
iPhone 6 / rMBP 15 / 21.5 iMac 2011 / ATV2 / TimeCap / Nexus 4 / PS3
tubbymac is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 01:17 AM   #3
Deathwish86
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Also Appleinsider: http://forums.appleinsider.com/t/154...s-after-launch

At least the RAM is not soldered on the PCB
Cpu is also removable!
Deathwish86 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 01:20 AM   #4
jornjur
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by tubbymac View Post
That's the most beautiful logic board layout I've ever seen in a desktop. I like how the display comes cleanly off which should make it much easier to deal with than the last generation iMac. We no longer have to worry about getting rid of the dust between the glass and the display when we open the iMac 2012 model up.

The hard drive looks very easy to access as well. That's a very good sign. Now we just have to wait to see what type of fan issues / temperature sensor workarounds are needed if we want to replace the hard drive ourselves.

I really want to buy one and replace the HD with my own SSD!
So which one are you buying?
jornjur is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 01:22 AM   #5
tubbymac
macrumors 65816
 
tubbymac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deathwish86 View Post
Also Appleinsider: http://forums.appleinsider.com/t/154...s-after-launch

At least the RAM is not soldered on the PCB
Cpu is also removable!
Wow this may be the first iMac in a while where we might be able to replace the HD, the RAM, and the CPU ourselves. Quite shocking coming from Apple, really.

HD looks really straightforward to replace, but the RAM and the CPU involve taking out the logic board. That will be a pain as usual, but at least it's possible. I love the new iMac already
__________________
iPhone 6 / rMBP 15 / 21.5 iMac 2011 / ATV2 / TimeCap / Nexus 4 / PS3
tubbymac is offline   5 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 01:22 AM   #6
Mic2904
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
What about the Ram?
Mic2904 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 01:23 AM   #7
lapeno
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
is it easy to remove the screen?
__________________
iMac 21.5" 500GB HD, 8GB DDR3, 3.06 GHZ C2D, Lion 10.7.5
16 GB Black iPhone 4 6.1
lapeno is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 01:32 AM   #8
tubbymac
macrumors 65816
 
tubbymac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by jornjur View Post
So which one are you buying?
Can't decide between the 21.5 or 27 inch model yet. I need to wait for reviews to see how each handles gaming.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mic2904 View Post
What about the Ram?
RAM from the pictures looks like standard DDR3 SODIMM chips. Looks like it requires removal of the logic board to replace the chips yourself though, so that would be a pain.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lapeno View Post
is it easy to remove the screen?
Screen most likely is just held in by magnets like last year's model. Probably just need suction cups like before to remove the screen. Display cable looks like it attaches near the middle of the logic board from what I can see in the pictures. So it's probably lift the screen with suction cups until you get a few inches of clearance, and then reach in and disconnect display cables and wifi cables like previous iMac model before fully detaching screen.
__________________
iPhone 6 / rMBP 15 / 21.5 iMac 2011 / ATV2 / TimeCap / Nexus 4 / PS3
tubbymac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 01:32 AM   #9
Mad Sativa
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Wow! this is huge news!!!!!!!!

I may go with a straight 1tb 7200 now

What do you think?
Mad Sativa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 01:38 AM   #10
lapeno
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Thanks tubbymac. First impressions looks good.
__________________
iMac 21.5" 500GB HD, 8GB DDR3, 3.06 GHZ C2D, Lion 10.7.5
16 GB Black iPhone 4 6.1
lapeno is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 01:49 AM   #11
minik
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bellevue, WA
I repaired quite a few iMac at work. Judging from the images, this generation looks very straightforward to me.
__________________
Flickr, twitter.
minik is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 01:51 AM   #12
wmy5
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: upstate NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad Sativa View Post
Wow! this is huge news!!!!!!!!

I may go with a straight 1tb 7200 now

What do you think?
Maybe HDD replacement is the most tricky one. As in 2011 model, Apple add a temperature sensor pin to the SATA connector, so you probably can't add a HDD bought in the market.
wmy5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 01:53 AM   #13
mohsy90
macrumors 65816
 
mohsy90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: New York
Nice sneak peak. Looking forward to ifixits teardown.
__________________
The funniest thing about this particular signature is that by the time you realize it doesn't say anything it's too late to stop reading it.
mohsy90 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 02:00 AM   #14
Mad Sativa
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmy5 View Post
Maybe HDD replacement is the most tricky one. As in 2011 model, Apple add a temperature sensor pin to the SATA connector, so you probably can't add a HDD bought in the market.
thanks wmy, probably the same
Mad Sativa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 02:04 AM   #15
tubbymac
macrumors 65816
 
tubbymac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Upon closer inspection of the pictures it looks like the ram is sticking partially out near the middle of the computer where the iMac is the thickest. This could be very good news. It looks like you can probably wiggle your fingers in between the gap between the ram and the hollow cavity beneath the ram. This would mean that the ram might be replaceable without removing the logic board. From the pictures, it looks like you just have to disconnect one cable that is wrapped around the ram, and you need to remove the central fan to give yourself enough space to get your hands on the ram.

If this is true, that means the HD and the RAM are both easily accessible!
__________________
iPhone 6 / rMBP 15 / 21.5 iMac 2011 / ATV2 / TimeCap / Nexus 4 / PS3
tubbymac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 02:09 AM   #16
wmy5
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: upstate NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad Sativa View Post
thanks wmy, probably the same
Good news is SSD used in new iMac is the same as rMBP and MBA. I'll get 256GB from eBay or OWC and install by myself.
wmy5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 02:13 AM   #17
tubbymac
macrumors 65816
 
tubbymac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmy5 View Post
Good news is SSD used in new iMac is the same as rMBP and MBA. I'll get 256GB from eBay or OWC and install by myself.
Might be true in the 27 inch model, but from the teardown pictures above the 21.5 inch model does not use the same "blade" style SSD as the rMBP and MBA. In fact the 21.5 inch model appears to use a standard 2.5 inch laptop hard drive.

CORRECTION: One of the pictures shows what looks to be a blade style connector for an Apple SSD. Tough to tell from the picture if it is indeed an SSD connector, but would make sense since you can custom order a 1TB fusion drive from Apple for the 21.5 high end model.
__________________
iPhone 6 / rMBP 15 / 21.5 iMac 2011 / ATV2 / TimeCap / Nexus 4 / PS3

Last edited by tubbymac; Nov 30, 2012 at 03:09 AM.
tubbymac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 02:19 AM   #18
DrRadon
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad Sativa View Post
Wow! this is huge news!!!!!!!!

I may go with a straight 1tb 7200 now

What do you think?
I bet apple went with the slower drive because of temperature reasons. I donīt know if itīs worth the risk of loosing all your data. Rather go SSD and put the old 1TB one in an external HDD case.

Besides, there are "slow spinning" HDDs that actualy are faster in data transfer than 7600rpm models.
DrRadon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 02:19 AM   #19
Mad Sativa
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmy5 View Post
Good news is SSD used in new iMac is the same as rMBP and MBA. I'll get 256GB from eBay or OWC and install by myself.
so your saying I could get a 7200 then add a 256 ssd to make my own fusion drive?
Mad Sativa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 02:20 AM   #20
DrRadon
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad Sativa View Post
so your saying I could get a 7200 then add a 256 ssd to make my own fusion drive?
Yes, two harddrives usualy fit in the space of one. Besides why would you need a 7200 if you have a fusion dirve.
DrRadon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 02:25 AM   #21
WilliamG
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Seattle
Wow this looks super easy to access the hard drive. My 2009 iMac 27" had a temperature sensor on the hard drive, but that was easily shorted with a piece of wire when I replaced it with an SSD.
__________________
iMac, MacBook Air, Mac mini, iPad, iPhone, 55-11
www.bighugenerd.com
WilliamG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 02:34 AM   #22
Deathwish86
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Hehe...looks like only suction cups are needed...no glue
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	79
Size:	35.8 KB
ID:	380631  
Deathwish86 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 02:54 AM   #23
iMcLovin
macrumors 65816
 
iMcLovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
...
__________________
27" iMac Retina | 13" MacBook Air - 2013 | iPhone 6 | iPad Air 2 ...etc
iMcLovin is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 03:18 AM   #24
MetzoPaino
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Interesting about the CPU, but could add longevity down the line, but what would people with the i7 upgrade to? Haswell requires a different socket right?
MetzoPaino is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 03:26 AM   #25
RSL
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Cue shut up and take my money pic.
RSL is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
nMP teardown pics at OWC Flint Ironstag Mac Pro 2 Dec 28, 2013 05:12 AM
OWC nMP teardown with pics elvisizer Mac Pro 6 Dec 27, 2013 06:41 PM
OWC teardown pics and video jediDev iMac 20 Dec 1, 2012 04:41 PM
iFixit Teardown Westyfield2 Mac mini 0 Oct 26, 2012 05:49 AM
iFixit Teardown Under Way BlueKhufu iPhone 2 Sep 20, 2012 10:34 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:35 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC