Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 30, 2012, 02:11 AM   #1
Spoiled
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Looks like most people prefer 1TB fusion to 3TB. Why?

After reading a few threads here it looks like most people are going for the 1TB fusion. Any particular reason you don't go for the 3TB? Besides money, or the lack of...
Spoiled is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 02:15 AM   #2
taylord22
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
You get better bang for buck adding your own external drive. Same could be said for SSD...I went with the 1TB Fusion and am adding a 3TB external
taylord22 is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 02:17 AM   #3
Scrapula
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Seattle, WA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spoiled View Post
After reading a few threads here it looks like most people are going for the 1TB fusion. Any particular reason you don't go for the 3TB? Besides money, or the lack of...
No, it was not a money issue. I have a 320GB on my 2009 Mac Mini and it is still not close to being filled up. I just do not foresee having 3TB of data. I don't do anything with video.
Scrapula is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 02:18 AM   #4
WilliamG
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Seattle
Quote:
Originally Posted by taylord22 View Post
You get better bang for buck adding your own external drive. Same could be said for SSD...I went with the 1TB Fusion and am adding a 3TB external

You get even better bang for your buck by leaving the standard 1TB drive and adding an SSD via Thunderbolt externally.
__________________
iMac, MacBook Air, Mac mini, iPad, iPhone, 55-11
www.bighugenerd.com
WilliamG is offline   5 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 02:19 AM   #5
tubbymac
macrumors 65816
 
tubbymac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
These days a lot of us have external NAS devices with 16+ TB of storage already. Personally I keep most of my data on my external storage and use the internal drives just for the OS and apps.
__________________
iPhone 6 Plus / rMBP 15 / 21.5 iMac 2011 / ATV2 / TimeCap / Nexus 4 / PS3
tubbymac is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 02:24 AM   #6
Spoiled
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Ok, so the reason is not Bootcamp related?
Spoiled is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 02:24 AM   #7
barefeats
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Also, Boot Camp doesn't work on the 3TB Fusion Drive "at this time."
barefeats is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 02:27 AM   #8
Chihawk725
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapula View Post
No, it was not a money issue. I have a 320GB on my 2009 Mac Mini and it is still not close to being filled up. I just do not foresee having 3TB of data. I don't do anything with video.
Agreed. I have about 190GB of data right now, and do not see filling up the fusion 1 TB any time soon..if ever
Chihawk725 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 02:53 AM   #9
Jazwire
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: 127.0.0.1
Quote:
Originally Posted by barefeats View Post
Also, Boot Camp doesn't work on the 3TB Fusion Drive "at this time."
You gotta be &*^*&^*& me...

I ordered a 3TB Fusion.

I don't really "NEED" BootCamp for what i do with Windows, I usually use Parallels 8 but I use it with a BootCamp Partition, just in case I need it.

I just went for the 3TB because with edu discount it wasn't that much more imo.

But I would of just bought the 1TB if I'd of known about the Bootcamp issue.

Oh well..
__________________
|| 27" iMac i7-3.4, 32 GB, 3TB Fusion, Nvidia 680MX 2GB w/ 27" TB Display (Dual Mon) ||
Macbook Air 11" i7, 8GB, 256GB || 15" MacBook Pro Retina 2.7, 16GB, 512GB||
Jazwire is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 03:04 AM   #10
MetzoPaino
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
A 3TB FD will allow me to move everything internally. Have a 250GB HD at the moment and it is painfully constrained as I have a lot of media.

Might revise the order if teardowns show that the new iMac is simple to open and replace the drives.
MetzoPaino is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 03:08 AM   #11
imacanon
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Quote:
Originally Posted by WilliamG View Post
You get even better bang for your buck by leaving the standard 1TB drive and adding an SSD via Thunderbolt externally.
this is exactly what i'm gonna do as soon as my bank account recovers from this stab wound I just gave it
__________________
___________
2012 iMac i7, 680mx, MBP mid 2010, iPhone 4
imacanon is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 03:25 AM   #12
boto
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
I won't come close to filling up 1TB of space with my Animation work and even if I do, I got external HDs to store data. If Apple added more SSD space in the 3TB option than I would justify the purchase.
boto is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 03:27 AM   #13
stringent
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: London
Ordered 3TB. Rather have more than not enough.

Plus less stuff cluttering the outside.
stringent is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 03:28 AM   #14
Donza
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Finland
As the SSD is same size in all Fusion Drive configurations, you get best bang for the buck by getting the 1TB Fusion and adding more non-SSD storage with external Thunderbolt/USB3.0 drives later on (if even needed)...
__________________
iPhone 5 16 GB ; iPad 3rd gen. WiFi + 4G 32 GB
Donza is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 03:28 AM   #15
ucas98
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
I got a 1tb Fusion simply because I want to run Windows through BootCamp.

While I'm sure an official solution will come along eventually, I don't want to have to wait for Apple to provide it (may take ages).

I'm sure there'll be hacks too, but I'd rather avoid those.
ucas98 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 08:06 AM   #16
Spoiled
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ucas98 View Post
I got a 1tb Fusion simply because I want to run Windows through BootCamp.

While I'm sure an official solution will come along eventually, I don't want to have to wait for Apple to provide it (may take ages).

I'm sure there'll be hacks too, but I'd rather avoid those.
But do we really know that BootCamp doesn't work on 3TB? And also, do we really know that it does work on the 1TB FD? After all, the whole fusion thing is new to all of us.
Spoiled is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 08:09 AM   #17
GunZi
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by WilliamG View Post
You get even better bang for your buck by leaving the standard 1TB drive and adding an SSD via Thunderbolt externally.
that's what i'm going to do.
GunZi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 08:11 AM   #18
jedolley
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
I have no need for anything above 1TB right now. I had a rMBP for a short time and was doing fine with a 512GB SSD. If they had offered that option, I probably would have done that over the FD. I also have a 3TB USB3 External drive that I keep all my chunky media files on, so my FD will be for OSX and my applications/games.
jedolley is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 08:12 AM   #19
bflowers
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Price mostly for me. I may feel cramped on a 250GB MacBook, so I wanted at least 1TB, got the Fusion for the speed. As it is a desktop, I don't mind externals, so I got the smaller Fusion option. I have picked up a 3TB external each of the last two Black Fridays for $99 each, and it is USB3, so I should be good on actual storage.
bflowers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 08:15 AM   #20
sukai
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jazwire View Post
You gotta be &*^*&^*& me...

I ordered a 3TB Fusion.

I don't really "NEED" BootCamp for what i do with Windows, I usually use Parallels 8 but I use it with a BootCamp Partition, just in case I need it.

I just went for the 3TB because with edu discount it wasn't that much more imo.

But I would of just bought the 1TB if I'd of known about the Bootcamp issue.

Oh well..
The discount did help a lot. I was originally going for the 1TB fusion but with the discount it allowed me to go for the 3TB which came out around same price of 1TB without the discount.

Also i got it knowing Boot Camp doesn't work currently, but i plan on waiting, not really in a hurry to install windows yet. That will give me time to decide either W7/8
sukai is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 08:16 AM   #21
mchoffa
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Asheville, NC
I went with a 1tb fusion as well. I'm using about 500GB currently in my old iMac, but 150GB of that is photos and 150GB of that is videos. I use the photo library a lot, as well as a lot of work files, so I'll be doing an external 512GB SSD once I can buy/build one for under $300 (right now it's about $400) just for photos/work, and the 128gb SSD part of the fusion will more than handle the OS, apps and other frequently accessed files that I'll actually leave on the iMac. If I decide to do more video work (now that I'll have a monster machine that can handle it) then I'll just get a really big fast thunderbolt drive.
mchoffa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 08:23 AM   #22
ucas98
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spoiled View Post
But do we really know that BootCamp doesn't work on 3TB? And also, do we really know that it does work on the 1TB FD? After all, the whole fusion thing is new to all of us.
Very true. I'm only going by Apple's official documentation, that states BootCamp will work on 1tb, but not 3tb.

I suppose we'll wait 3 weeks and see.
ucas98 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 08:34 AM   #23
photoz
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Part-time photographer here, already have close to 1TB of images/edts on my PC, went with 3TB Fusion for more flexibility from the start.
Also, MKV movies take up a lot of space ;-)
photoz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 08:56 AM   #24
msg362
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Thailand
Why??

It always amuses me, someone will spend 2000 ( $2600) on a top spec iMac and then try to save a few quid( dollars) and have wires wandering around. I could understand it if the answer was 'not good to store all your data on a 3TB drive, what happens when it fails?'
I edit video and have just ordered the top spec 27" with a 3 TB fusion drive. That way I hope everything will be fast.
I've got F/W drives to use as back ups/archives and one 1TB USB drive.
The extra cost here in Thailand was less than 100 ( but in Baht!!). On a buy of 2000. less than 5%, for so much more convenience. someone please tell me I've made a mistake!! I could have saved 30!

Last edited by msg362; Nov 30, 2012 at 08:57 AM. Reason: typo
msg362 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 09:14 AM   #25
forty2j
macrumors 68030
 
forty2j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NJ
1) I may need to Bootcamp
2) I don't have that much stuff (~150GB)

A 3TB would be simply a waste of money for me.
If 256GB SSD or 512GB Fusion options existed, I would go for those.
__________________
 2012 iMac 3.2GHz 27" 680MX Fusion  iPhone 6  Apple TV 2  iPad Air 
forty2j is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Difference between 1TB vs. 3TB Fusion Drive? Tofray iMac 8 Oct 19, 2013 06:53 AM
1TB Fusion vs. 3TB Fusion ajkr711 iMac 13 Dec 31, 2012 10:53 AM
Fusion confusion. Why no bootcamp on 3TB Fusion but OK on 1TB Fusion inscrewtable OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 1 Dec 11, 2012 10:21 PM
3TB Fusion or 1TB Fusion - surely 3TB? jackofharts iMac 33 Dec 11, 2012 03:51 AM
Should I get 1TB Fusion or 3TB non Fusion? frocco iMac 9 Dec 6, 2012 09:26 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:14 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC