Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 30, 2012, 02:51 AM   #26
ifraaank
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Løgumkloster, Denmark
Quote:
Originally Posted by L3g4to View Post
oh wow i ordered one too but 27.12.12 - 03.01.13 delivery is bad
I have the same for my 27". :-(
__________________
 iMac late 2012, 3.4 i7, 32GB RAM, 2GB 680MX, 1TB Fusion Drive
 MacBook Pro late 2009, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM, 256MB 9600M GT, 256GB SSD
 iPad Air, Space Grey, 32GB
 iPhone 5, Black and Slate, 32GB
ifraaank is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 02:52 AM   #27
offwidafairies
macrumors 6502a
 
offwidafairies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
fusion or ssd? ram upgrade in 27"?

Can someone please explain fusion to me? I was going to get SSD but now I'm not sure because I don't know what fusion is.

Also, can you upgrade ram in the 27"? (easily)

Many thanks
__________________
K.I.S.S
15" 2010 i7 8Gb 120SSD optibay + 500HDD MBP; 24" 2008 iMac; Dual Boot Dell Mini10v; iPhone 5; 2Gb iPod shuffle. 13" retina & 27" iMac coming soon!
offwidafairies is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 02:54 AM   #28
scottrichardson
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ulladulla, NSW Australia
If I order a specced up 27" with standard HD, can I replace the drive with a standard SSD from OWC?

Scottie
__________________
Mac Pro 8 Core 2.93Ghz 32GB RAM, 2 X SSD 840 PRO 512GB RAID 0, 2 x 24" LED, GTX660 2GB GPU. MacBook Air 13" 2012 i7 2GHz, 256GB SSD, 8GB RAM.
scottrichardson is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 02:54 AM   #29
Lancer
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by nsfw View Post
the ram on the 21.5 won't be upgradable. must be soldered.
no it is not!
Lancer is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 02:55 AM   #30
FFuzz
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Just ordered... will upgrade RAM myself.

AU$ 3,068.99
27" iMac
3.4GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7, Turbo Boost up to 3.9GHz
8GB 1600MHz DDR3 SDRAM - 2x4GB
3TB Fusion Drive
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680MX 2GB GDDR5

Ships: 2 - 3 Weeks
Delivers 20/12/2012 - 24/12/2012
(Melbourne, Australia)
FFuzz is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 02:56 AM   #31
arn
macrumors god
 
arn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Send a message via AIM to arn
Quote:
Originally Posted by offwidafairies View Post
Can someone please explain fusion to me? I was going to get SSD but now I'm not sure because I don't know what fusion is.

Also, can you upgrade ram in the 27"? (easily)

Many thanks
Fusion:

http://www.macrumors.com/2012/10/23/...-hybrid-drive/
http://www.macrumors.com/2012/11/09/...cused-package/

27" has user-upgradeable ram

http://www.macrumors.com/2012/10/23/...ble-ram-slots/
arn is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 02:57 AM   #32
offwidafairies
macrumors 6502a
 
offwidafairies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
thanks....
__________________
K.I.S.S
15" 2010 i7 8Gb 120SSD optibay + 500HDD MBP; 24" 2008 iMac; Dual Boot Dell Mini10v; iPhone 5; 2Gb iPod shuffle. 13" retina & 27" iMac coming soon!
offwidafairies is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 02:57 AM   #33
Swordylove
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Also available in this country which is north of Singapore with 1-3 business days shipping

EDIT: Actually, delivers 05/12/2012 - 07/12/2012.
__________________
~

Last edited by Swordylove; Nov 30, 2012 at 03:34 AM.
Swordylove is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 02:57 AM   #34
scottrichardson
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ulladulla, NSW Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by FFuzz View Post
Just ordered... will upgrade RAM myself.

AU$ 3,068.99
27" iMac
3.4GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7, Turbo Boost up to 3.9GHz
8GB 1600MHz DDR3 SDRAM - 2x4GB
3TB Fusion Drive
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680MX 2GB GDDR5

Ships: 2 - 3 Weeks
Delivers 20/12/2012 - 24/12/2012
(Melbourne, Australia)
Nice machine! Im looking at similar, but with 1TB Fusion instead - since there's not a 256GB SSD option which kinda sucks. Can the hard drives be replaced by the user?
__________________
Mac Pro 8 Core 2.93Ghz 32GB RAM, 2 X SSD 840 PRO 512GB RAID 0, 2 x 24" LED, GTX660 2GB GPU. MacBook Air 13" 2012 i7 2GHz, 256GB SSD, 8GB RAM.
scottrichardson is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 02:58 AM   #35
benwiggy
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by offwidafairies View Post
Can someone please explain fusion to me? I was going to get SSD but now I'm not sure because I don't know what fusion is.
Also, can you upgrade ram in the 27"? (easily)
Fusion drive is a combination of an SSD and a hard drive, as one disk surface. The SSD is used in preference, and software in OS X moves your least-used files to the hard drive. Thus you get SSD performance with HDD capacity.

Yes, you can add RAM yourself in the 27".

If you're going to spend that kind of money on a new computer, it might be worth while to read the significant coverage, here and on other Mac and tech news sites, about Fusion drives in particular and the new iMac in general, so you know what the options are and what you're getting!
benwiggy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 02:59 AM   #36
OllyW
Moderator
 
OllyW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: The Black Country, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by nsfw View Post
The ram on the 21.5 won't be upgradable. Must be soldered.
The RAM isn't soldered on in the 21.5" but there's no easy access to change it. You have to strip the iMac down to get to the RAM. See the stripdown linked in the news thread.

__________________
Some Apple stuff
Some other stuff
https://soundcloud.com/disco-tramps
OllyW is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 03:00 AM   #37
L3g4to
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ifraaank View Post
I have the same for my 27". :-(
yep 27", 3,4 i7 and 680 gtx? maby we'll have the same one i hope for everyone that they can make it til the 27 of dez. cause everyone has vacation, can u imagine you play the whole vacation with your old rig an on the last day you get the new one but you have to go to work the next day? i wouldnt be so productive the next day
L3g4to is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 03:00 AM   #38
nsfw
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lancer View Post
no it is not!
I guess you are right. It's just installed in a location that requires disassembly of glass to get to the motherboard.
I'll wait to read about tear downs to see if the base model can get a second SATA and Dimm swap
nsfw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 03:02 AM   #39
Lancer
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by offwidafairies View Post
Can someone please explain fusion to me? I was going to get SSD but now I'm not sure because I don't know what fusion is.

Also, can you upgrade ram in the 27"? (easily)

Many thanks
Fusion Driver
http://www.zdnet.com/apples-fusion-d...ds-7000007186/

Yes the RAM is user upgradeable in the 2012 27" iMac.
Lancer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 03:07 AM   #40
Almadani
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Can the hard drive on the standard 21.5 be upgraded by user or is it the same case with RAM
Almadani is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 03:08 AM   #41
asiga
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by majkom View Post
Wow! so its true, no fusiion or ssd for entry imac, no pure SSD for 21 incher at all, no ther SSD than 768 GB for imac at all... bye bye iMac, I am not a fool
Yes, unfortunately they don't support neither 256GB SSD nor 512GB SSD.

There's a paradox now at the Mac: The iMac has worse disk options than the Mac Mini, but the Mac Mini cannot be configured with a discrete GPU. This drives us into an scenario where there's no really interesting desktop (no matter if you choose the Mac Mini or the iMac, you have to decide if you prefer to drop the GPU or the (pure) SSD... you cannot have both).
asiga is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 03:09 AM   #42
emulajavi
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
The normal hdd in the 27" is 7200rpm....

Are the 1tb or 3tb that come with fusion also 7200rpm??

Thanks
emulajavi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 03:11 AM   #43
Galatian
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Berlin
Quote:
Originally Posted by edry.hilario View Post
Got mine high end 27 inch iMac max out except for ram you'd be a fool to buy ram from apple. Couldn't be happier. Tears of joy been waiting since April without a computer just an iPad as my main machine. Yayyyy
Na, paying the Apple upgrade price on SSD and HDD is also stupid. Should be pretty easy to get those inside the new 27" machines as well...Only upgrade I'm going to get is the 680MX. I will get aftermarket SSD from OWC for fusion drive and RAM as well.

But I'm waiting for teardowns and first reports before I jump in...Past has shown Apple has a heating problem with powerful graphic cards and I want to make sure the new form factor does not.
__________________
iPhone 5S Gold 64 GB -- 13" retina MacBook Pro
Galatian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 03:13 AM   #44
chatfan
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: in mah cribb yo
Just ordered mine in the Dutch store: 32gb mem, 3TB fusion, i7 and 2GB GTX680 video! With any luck it out performs my 12core Quadro4000 Mac Pro with CS6. Nice and quiet hopefully, just a desk and a flat screen would be lovely!
__________________
Arguing other peoples choices will change nothing.
chatfan is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 03:16 AM   #45
offwidafairies
macrumors 6502a
 
offwidafairies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by benwiggy View Post
Fusion drive is a combination of an SSD and a hard drive, as one disk surface. The SSD is used in preference, and software in OS X moves your least-used files to the hard drive. Thus you get SSD performance with HDD capacity.

Yes, you can add RAM yourself in the 27".

If you're going to spend that kind of money on a new computer, it might be worth while to read the significant coverage, here and on other Mac and tech news sites, about Fusion drives in particular and the new iMac in general, so you know what the options are and what you're getting!
yep, i've had my head in the clouds, didn't read anything about fusion until just now - i have just been planning to get ssd, then saw the fusion option....

sounds like fusion is a better option than the 768 expensive flash....!!

i was pretty sure ram was user upgradeable, i just wanted to check, and i knew i would get answers quick smart here

i don't care at all for the thin design, i am just ready for a bigger (27"), faster (SSD) iMac and knew there was one coming out soon.

i am really looking forward to setting up a new studio (next year sometime), and working off a large screen, that starts up and loads as fast as my laptop
__________________
K.I.S.S
15" 2010 i7 8Gb 120SSD optibay + 500HDD MBP; 24" 2008 iMac; Dual Boot Dell Mini10v; iPhone 5; 2Gb iPod shuffle. 13" retina & 27" iMac coming soon!
offwidafairies is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 03:20 AM   #46
majkom
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by asiga View Post
Yes, unfortunately they don't support neither 256GB SSD nor 512GB SSD.

There's a paradox now at the Mac: The iMac has worse disk options than the Mac Mini, but the Mac Mini cannot be configured with a discrete GPU. This drives us into an scenario where there's no really interesting desktop (no matter if you choose the Mac Mini or the iMac, you have to decide if you prefer to drop the GPU or the (pure) SSD... you cannot have both).
Totally agreed. They used to make great desktop computers... now, I dont understand apples thinking.
majkom is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 03:22 AM   #47
Swagger89
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Singapore
Just ordered my Imac in sunny Singapore!

Just ordered my BTO IMac 21.5 higher 2.9Ghz fully maxed out! Shipping from 17th Dec - 24th Dec. Pretty long wait for a 21.5 IMO but still definitely happy and excited with my purchase!
Swagger89 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 03:23 AM   #48
ChuckG
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: L.A.
Just ordered

27-inch iMac
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 675MX 1GB GDDR5
3.2GHz Quad-core Intel Core i5, Turbo Boost up to 3.6GHz
8GB 1600MHz DDR3 SDRAM - 2x4GB
768GB Flash Storage
Magic Trackpad

Available to ship: 2 - 3 Weeks
Delivers Dec 24 - Dec 31
Order Total $3,376.23 USD


Ordered the 27" so I can upgrade the RAM. This machine will replace a sluggish 2007 20" iMac, and should be quite an upgrade!

I went with the astronomically priced 768 SSD no-nonsense approach as opposed to the experimental Fusion Drive solution since failure of SSD or HDD means total failure.

http://macperformanceguide.com/macmi...vs-fusion.html
ChuckG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 03:23 AM   #49
larzy
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Denmark
I had a hard time deciding whether or not to order with i7 or i5 (the bigger 27 model) - but ended up with the i5 - instead I picked the 2 GB graphics card. Still unsure... :-S

would the machine be faster when working with graphic applications with the i7 and the 1GB card, or the i5 with the 2GB graphics card? I know I could go all the way and get both but thats not an option.
__________________
iMac 27" i5 2012 : iPad mini : iPhone 5
larzy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 03:27 AM   #50
sjz88
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Finally! After waiting for about 8 months with a half-broken early 2008 MacBook Pro I ordered my 27" iMac. Specs are high-end except for RAM of course and a 1TB Fusion drive instead of the 3 TB which I would never ever need.
Delivers 27.12.12 - 03.01.13 but the girl on the telephone was confident that it will arrive no later than the 27th December since I was the first person to order one from her
sjz88 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just order my first iMac unfragile iMac 43 Nov 27, 2013 04:51 AM
Where did you order your iMac from? CaptMike iMac 14 Dec 16, 2012 11:14 AM
How did you order you iMac DeafRaiders iMac 2 Dec 13, 2012 03:10 PM
iMac 27 will not be available to order on 30/11/12 JoeLegs iMac 1 Nov 29, 2012 12:01 PM
When will we be able to order a new imac? Mags311 iMac 1 Oct 23, 2012 04:56 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:30 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC