Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 30, 2012, 03:29 AM   #51
50548
Guest
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Currently in Switzerland
PLEASE correct the article's headline: this is not only available in the US but many other countries (if not all with Apple Online Stores) - a quick check already confirmed that orders are also possible in Brazil and Switzerland.
50548 is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 03:31 AM   #52
joelhinch
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Can't believe i'm going to pay $300 (AU) ($250 US) for what is essentially a 128GB SSD... c'mon Apple..
__________________
2012 27" iMac, 3.4GHz i7, 32GB RAM, 1TB Fusion Drive, GTX 680MX 2GB
2011 13" MacBook Pro, 2.7GHz i7, 16GB RAM, 256GB SSD
iPhone 4S 64GB
iPad mini Retina display 128GB WiFi+Cellular
joelhinch is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 03:32 AM   #53
offwidafairies
macrumors 6502a
 
offwidafairies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckG View Post
[I]27-inch iMac

I went with the astronomically priced 768 SSD no-nonsense approach as opposed to the experimental Fusion Drive solution since failure of SSD or HDD means total failure.

http://macperformanceguide.com/macmi...vs-fusion.html
Interesting article. I can't make up my mind... I have both SSD and HDD on my MBP and it FLIES! The idea that software will decide which files go where makes me nervous.

Do you think applications will always be loaded onto the SSD? What about Sound Libraries (eg. Logic, other music programs with large software instruments). I don't see how 128Gb is enough space???

Does anyone have any experience with using Fusion and Logic or similar?
__________________
K.I.S.S
15" 2010 i7 8Gb 120SSD optibay + 500HDD MBP; 24" 2008 iMac; Dual Boot Dell Mini10v; iPhone 5; 2Gb iPod shuffle. 13" retina & 27" iMac coming soon!
offwidafairies is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 03:40 AM   #54
scottrichardson
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ulladulla, NSW Australia
Can the hard drive be replaced by the user in the 27" model? If so, will it fit a standard 2.5" SSD from OWC? Or does it take a full 3.5" HD - assuming 3.5" given there's a 3TB option (which isn't available in a 2.5" yet) - which begs the question, how does one fit a 2.5" SSD from OWC into the 3.5" bay?

Scott
__________________
Mac Pro 8 Core 2.93Ghz 32GB RAM, 2 X SSD 840 PRO 512GB RAID 0, 2 x 24" LED, GTX660 2GB GPU. MacBook Air 13" 2012 i7 2GHz, 256GB SSD, 8GB RAM.
scottrichardson is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 03:40 AM   #55
ChuckG
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: L.A.
Quote:
Originally Posted by majkom View Post
Totally agreed. They used to make great desktop computers... now, I dont understand apples thinking.
The new iMac's screen lamination and friction stir welding are seriously ambitious processes which have constrained initial availability. Therefore, Apple has limited the SSD storage option to just 768GB to give priority to more profitable configurations and to meet initial demand.

They did a similar thing last summer with the 15" Retina MacBook Pro, by limiting the 512GB and 768GB SSD options to the more expensive 2.6GHz model that starts at $2799. A few months later, Apple added more SSD capacities to the cheaper 2.3GHz which starts at $2199.

Once Apple overcomes the new iMac's production challenges, more SSD storage configurations should become available (ie, 256GB, 512GB, and 768GB, etc.).

Last edited by ChuckG; Nov 30, 2012 at 03:47 AM.
ChuckG is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 03:42 AM   #56
Lancer
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottrichardson View Post
Can the hard drive be replaced by the user in the 27" model? If so, will it fit a standard 2.5" SSD from OWC? Or does it take a full 3.5" HD - assuming 3.5" given there's a 3TB option (which isn't available in a 2.5" yet) - which begs the question, how does one fit a 2.5" SSD from OWC into the 3.5" bay?

Scott
If you don't know how to fit 2.5" SSD into 3.5" bay then you might not be ready to take your new iMac apart.
Lancer is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 03:42 AM   #57
offwidafairies
macrumors 6502a
 
offwidafairies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckG View Post
The new iMac's screen lamination and friction stir wielding are seriously ambitious processes which have constrained initial availability. Therefore, Apple has limited the SSD storage option to just 768GB to give priority to more profitable configurations and to meet initial demand.

They did a similar thing last summer with the 15" Retina MacBook Pro, by limiting the 512GB and 768GB SSD options to the more expensive 2.6GHz model that starts at $2799. A few months later, Apple added more SSD capacities to the cheaper 2.3GHz which starts at $2199.

Once the new Apple surpasses the new iMac's initial production challenges, there more SSD storage configurations should become available (ie, 256GB, 512GB, and 768GB, etc.).
We need dates and photos ChuckG
__________________
K.I.S.S
15" 2010 i7 8Gb 120SSD optibay + 500HDD MBP; 24" 2008 iMac; Dual Boot Dell Mini10v; iPhone 5; 2Gb iPod shuffle. 13" retina & 27" iMac coming soon!
offwidafairies is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 03:43 AM   #58
KiwiPhoto
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Ordered New Zealand

Placed my order about 30 min ago!! Looks like most of the international stores opened up at the same time ... guess 1am Pacific Time maybe.

ordered
27-inch iMac
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680MX 2GB GDDR5
3.2GHz Quad-core Intel Core i5, Turbo Boost up to 3.6GHz
8GB 1600MHz DDR3 SDRAM - 2x4GB
768GB Flash Storage
Magic Magic Mouse (as already have Trackpad )

Available to ship: 2 - 3 Weeks
Delivers Dec 21 - Dec 27

Also ordered AppleCare as its my first Mac and I'm sure I may need some phone support. Wow Photoshop is going to fly now. No more Dell crash for me!!
KiwiPhoto is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 03:46 AM   #59
ChuckG
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: L.A.
Quote:
Originally Posted by offwidafairies View Post
We need dates and photos ChuckG
http://www.macrumors.com/2012/08/01/...a-macbook-pro/
ChuckG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 03:48 AM   #60
iLondoner
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: London (the big one, not London Ohio, Texas, Kentucky, etc)
27-in deliveries still holding up

There must be more 27-in machines in the pipeline than I thought, delivery estimates are holding at 2-3 weeks whichever country I look at—UK, USA, France, Germany, Australia... But then, are these different pipelines? More likely one pipeline that gets the different keyboards/documentation added during distribution.

How many 21-in systems were delivered to each store? If it's an average of 15 of each 21-in model, that works out at 12,000 units worldwide. Taking 21- and 27-in systems together, Apple might well sell more iMacs today than Microsoft's Surface sales for the entire quarter.

If you live within easy access of a store, don't forget to order One to One support. You can add AppleCare later, but One to One has to be ordered with the system.

Last edited by iLondoner; Nov 30, 2012 at 03:54 AM.
iLondoner is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 03:52 AM   #61
KiwiPhoto
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by iLondoner View Post
There must be more 27-in machines in the pipeline than I thought, delivery estimates are holding at 2-3 weeks whichever country I look at.

But then, are these different pipelines? More likely one pipeline that gets the different keyboards/documentation added during distribution.
My thought is one of two supply chains. Either from local stock, or like my last iPad"3" and iPhone5 direct from factory in China.
KiwiPhoto is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 03:53 AM   #62
offwidafairies
macrumors 6502a
 
offwidafairies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by KiwiPhoto View Post
Placed my order about 30 min ago!! Looks like most of the international stores opened up at the same time ... guess 1am Pacific Time maybe.

ordered
27-inch iMac
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680MX 2GB GDDR5
3.2GHz Quad-core Intel Core i5, Turbo Boost up to 3.6GHz
8GB 1600MHz DDR3 SDRAM - 2x4GB
768GB Flash Storage
Magic Magic Mouse (as already have Trackpad )

Available to ship: 2 - 3 Weeks
Delivers Dec 21 - Dec 27

Also ordered AppleCare as its my first Mac and I'm sure I may need some phone support. Wow Photoshop is going to fly now. No more Dell crash for me!!
once you go mac you never go back! (ewwww dell....)
__________________
K.I.S.S
15" 2010 i7 8Gb 120SSD optibay + 500HDD MBP; 24" 2008 iMac; Dual Boot Dell Mini10v; iPhone 5; 2Gb iPod shuffle. 13" retina & 27" iMac coming soon!
offwidafairies is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 03:55 AM   #63
scottrichardson
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Ulladulla, NSW Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lancer View Post
If you don't know how to fit 2.5" SSD into 3.5" bay then you might not be ready to take your new iMac apart.
Haha, true - but I can get the local mac store in town to do it for me if worst comes to worst

Kinda stupid question - I realize there's oodles of 2.5" > 3.5" adapters out there.
__________________
Mac Pro 8 Core 2.93Ghz 32GB RAM, 2 X SSD 840 PRO 512GB RAID 0, 2 x 24" LED, GTX660 2GB GPU. MacBook Air 13" 2012 i7 2GHz, 256GB SSD, 8GB RAM.
scottrichardson is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 03:55 AM   #64
ifraaank
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Løgumkloster, Denmark
Quote:
Originally Posted by L3g4to View Post
yep 27", 3,4 i7 and 680 gtx? maby we'll have the same one i hope for everyone that they can make it til the 27 of dez. cause everyone has vacation, can u imagine you play the whole vacation with your old rig an on the last day you get the new one but you have to go to work the next day? i wouldnt be so productive the next day
This is exactly how i feel. It would suck to get it in the last day of the vacation... But I still want it, no matter when it arrives. We have the same setup, but I put a 1TB Fusion Drive in as well.
__________________
 iMac late 2012, 3.4 i7, 32GB RAM, 2GB 680MX, 1TB Fusion Drive
 MacBook Pro late 2009, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM, 256MB 9600M GT, 256GB SSD
 iPad Air, Space Grey, 32GB
 iPhone 5, Black and Slate, 32GB
ifraaank is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 03:58 AM   #65
Deanobear
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by offwidafairies View Post
Interesting article. I can't make up my mind... I have both SSD and HDD on my MBP and it FLIES! The idea that software will decide which files go where makes me nervous.

Do you think applications will always be loaded onto the SSD? What about Sound Libraries (eg. Logic, other music programs with large software instruments). I don't see how 128Gb is enough space???

Does anyone have any experience with using Fusion and Logic or similar?
Sit back, relax and enjoy - 128gb is more than enough for booting, loading and unloading of files, if it works as said, it should be completely transparent to the user, except for quicker file access etc. I'll know soon enough LOL
Deanobear is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 04:08 AM   #66
Lancer
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deanobear View Post
Sit back, relax and enjoy - 128gb is more than enough for booting, loading and unloading of files, if it works as said, it should be completely transparent to the user, except for quicker file access etc. I'll know soon enough LOL
Maybe it's a evil plot?

http://www.macworld.co.uk/mac/news/?newsid=3413776
Lancer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 04:09 AM   #67
rmaunruh
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mobster1983 View Post
Wewt!! Ordering mine now.

27" with 3.4 GHz Core i7 and 728 GB SSD. Will use my external thunderbolt for more storage and buy aftermarket RAM.

Anyone know why you can't get a fusion drive with the 728 GB SSD and 3 TB HDD. Would work much better for me (yes, I would use most of that storage).
You can't get that high with fusion because the SSDs used are the blade type like in the MacBook Air. That's also one of the reasons the SSDs are more expensive, they are not the standard 2.5" drives.

Just ordered my 27" iMac an hour and a half ago here in Korea.
i7, 1 TB fusion, 8 GB ram, GTX 680MX 2 GB, and of course the plug in keyboard because I love the number pad. ETD Dec. 21st.
rmaunruh is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 04:10 AM   #68
offwidafairies
macrumors 6502a
 
offwidafairies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deanobear View Post
Sit back, relax and enjoy - 128gb is more than enough for booting, loading and unloading of files, if it works as said, it should be completely transparent to the user, except for quicker file access etc. I'll know soon enough LOL
relax i can't sleep when a new apple product comes out, especially when i'm planning to buy it!

and you are right 128Gb is enough "if it works as said".... i have 120Gb in my MBP and it is perfect
__________________
K.I.S.S
15" 2010 i7 8Gb 120SSD optibay + 500HDD MBP; 24" 2008 iMac; Dual Boot Dell Mini10v; iPhone 5; 2Gb iPod shuffle. 13" retina & 27" iMac coming soon!
offwidafairies is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 04:25 AM   #69
turtlez
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
AUD$3157 with 8GB of ram. Oh sheeee

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mobster1983 View Post
Wewt!! Ordering mine now.

27" with 3.4 GHz Core i7 and 728 GB SSD. Will use my external thunderbolt for more storage and buy aftermarket RAM.

Anyone know why you can't get a fusion drive with the 728 GB SSD and 3 TB HDD. Would work much better for me (yes, I would use most of that storage).
because it would stop you from upgrading too soon :P

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by edry.hilario View Post
Got mine high end 27 inch iMac max out except for ram you'd be a fool to buy ram from apple. Couldn't be happier. Tears of joy been waiting since April without a computer just an iPad as my main machine. Yayyyy
I have been waiting since March and now I can't afford it lmao

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by FFuzz View Post
Just ordered... will upgrade RAM myself.

AU$ 3,068.99
27" iMac
3.4GHz Quad-core Intel Core i7, Turbo Boost up to 3.9GHz
8GB 1600MHz DDR3 SDRAM - 2x4GB
3TB Fusion Drive
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680MX 2GB GDDR5

Ships: 2 - 3 Weeks
Delivers 20/12/2012 - 24/12/2012
(Melbourne, Australia)
you risking no Apple care?
turtlez is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 04:25 AM   #70
Torrijos
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
BTO are quite steep

I'm seriously considering a Hackintosh now, since they seem to be working pretty well nowadays. Damn!
Torrijos is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 04:28 AM   #71
Blue Sun
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Australia
These new iMacs are much cheaper in Australia than the previous gen.
Blue Sun is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 04:29 AM   #72
bazinga!!
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Belgium
gotta love the European prices... 1900 euros instead of 1800 dollars... WHYYYYYYYYYYYYYY
__________________
13" MBP late 2011 thunderbolt display iPhone 4S 16gb white iPod nano 6th gen iPad mini
bazinga!! is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 04:33 AM   #73
turtlez
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue Sun View Post
These new iMacs are much cheaper in Australia than the previous gen.
for real?
turtlez is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 04:33 AM   #74
OllyW
Moderator
 
OllyW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: The Black Country, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by bazinga!! View Post
gotta love the European prices... 1900 euros instead of 1800 dollars... WHYYYYYYYYYYYYYY
US prices don't include taxes.
__________________
Some Apple stuff
Some other stuff
https://soundcloud.com/disco-tramps
OllyW is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 04:36 AM   #75
JordanNZ
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Quote:
Originally Posted by turtlez View Post
AUD$3157 with 8GB of ram. Oh sheeee

----------



because it would stop you from upgrading too soon :P

----------



I have been waiting since March and now I can't afford it lmao

----------



you risking no Apple care?
Why would he be 'risking applecare'? The 27" has user replaceable ram.
JordanNZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:07 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC