Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 30, 2012, 03:05 AM   #1
timtambla
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Smile Best Configration For Me? 27 iMac

Hi guys,

ive been waiting for this 27 imac since March and finally its here!!

I really want to invest money on this machine and to max the potential.

I want this Imac for Premiere, After Effects and other Adobe Apps...

So what do you guys think?

How should i configure my new 27" Imac?

Thanks
timtambla is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 03:07 AM   #2
AzzUrr1
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2012
If money doesn't matter get everything maxed except the RAM because on the 27" you can upgrade it by yourself cheaper
AzzUrr1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 03:09 AM   #3
ka-spot
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2012
...but know that you'll be just fine with the base model.
__________________
Macbook Pro with Retina display 13" (Feb 2013) & iPhone 5S
ka-spot is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 03:11 AM   #4
AzzUrr1
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ka-spot View Post
...but know that you'll be just fine with the base model.
Yeah that's something I forgot
AzzUrr1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 03:12 AM   #5
timtambla
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by AzzUrr1 View Post
If money doesn't matter get everything maxed except the RAM because on the 27" you can upgrade it by yourself cheaper
I mean, of course the money matters... but i can get it to 3K +/-.

I thought about:
3.4 I7
16GB
3TB Fusion
680MX

Do u think i can save money somehow? or this is the perfect Config' for me?
timtambla is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 03:19 AM   #6
XionCore
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
cut the ram and do a aftermarket upgrade yourself. thatīll save you 100 bucks.
XionCore is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 03:26 AM   #7
timtambla
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by XionCore View Post
cut the ram and do a aftermarket upgrade yourself. thatīll save you 100 bucks.
The only problem is that i dont have any idea how to do thia upgrade myself...
The upgrade should be done by me? or in a private lab?

Actually im asking for the configuration help cause i dont really understand about all of it. I mean is there a real different between the 3.2 or 3.4 processors? Or between the 2 graphics?

Thanks for your help guys
timtambla is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 03:34 AM   #8
XionCore
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
really no offense, but a monkey could do the upgrade. itīs just getting the right memory (ask here), unscrew a panel and plug it in. reeeeally that simple.

If you donīt plan to run high-load-programmes (video editing, sound,) the i5 will be enough. If you want to play new games on high-quality settings, you gonna need the 680MX. Otherwise, the base model (w/ fusion) will be the right one for you. Tell us what you plan to use the iMac for
XionCore is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 03:38 AM   #9
torana355
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
I ordered mine with full upgrades except ram, i plan to keep it for a while so future proofing as much as possible. I will get 32 gig ram elsewhere
__________________
2012 27" iMac with 680mx | 2011 13" MBA 128gb | iPhone 4 32gb | Nexus 7 16gb | Nexus 4 on Carbon and Trinity.
torana355 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 03:38 AM   #10
timtambla
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by XionCore View Post
really no offense, but a monkey could do the upgrade. itīs just getting the right memory (ask here), unscrew a panel and plug it in. reeeeally that simple.

If you donīt plan to run high-load-programmes (video editing, sound,) the i5 will be enough. If you want to play new games on high-quality settings, you gonna need the 680MX. Otherwise, the base model (w/ fusion) will be the right one for you. Tell us what you plan to use the iMac for
As i said i plan to use it for Video and photo editing... actually for most of the Adobe Creative Suite

The 680MX could help me for my needs?
timtambla is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 04:01 AM   #11
AzzUrr1
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by timtambla View Post
As i said i plan to use it for Video and photo editing... actually for most of the Adobe Creative Suite

The 680MX could help me for my needs?
I'm not sure if it helps with Adobe Products but if you max everything out except the RAM (You can upgrade by yourself it's really easy!) your price would be $2,749.00.

If you want to save some money I think you can take i5 processor because graphic cards matters more for graphical programms that you use
AzzUrr1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 04:25 AM   #12
timtambla
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Ok gr8 thanku so much for helping
timtambla is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 05:03 AM   #13
tann
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Nottingham, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by timtambla View Post
I mean, of course the money matters... but i can get it to 3K +/-.

I thought about:
3.4 I7
16GB
3TB Fusion
680MX

Do u think i can save money somehow? or this is the perfect Config' for me?
If you wanna run windows via bootcamp you can't on the 3tb fusion, just a heads up.

and I agree with others, upgrade ram yourself, literally easiest thing on the planet to do.
__________________
2013 13" MacBook Air i5/8GB/256GB || White 64GB iPhone 5 || 32GB Cellular Silver iPad rMini!
Follow me on Twitter!
tann is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 05:16 AM   #14
6ftunder
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austria
Help me choose

Hello,

I was wondering if you guys could help me decide which 27" iMac configuration to get for my own needs. I don't want to start another thread. What I do is Photoshop, I retouch large RAW Images from my Canon 5D Mark III and other cameras. Since I am an architecture student, I will definitely be doing a lot of 3D modelling and rendering later on, and I will most definitely be making videos with my Canon and then edit them on the iMac, either in FCP or Adobe Premiere. So my question is mostly concerning the graphics card. I was planning on getting:

27" - i7, 1TB Fusion drive, Apple care. I'll add the RAM myself.

I now cannot decide whether or not to get the 680MX. How much can I actually benefit from it? My only fear is that it might produce a lot of heat which actually shouldn't be a problem since AppleCare is going to cover any damage that might happen, right? So, what do you think? Money isn't a problem but I don't want to invest in something if I cannot benefit from it and if I don't have to.

Thank you.
__________________
6ftunder is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 05:29 AM   #15
BasK
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
6ftunder, I hear everywhere the 680MX is a great upgrade for 150 dollar, so if you have the money, do it. Personally Im doubting between the 'base' 27" iMac and the High-end. I need it for serious photo editting and I work a lot with CS5/CS6, so I dont think I need the faster graphics. But I wonder does it make sense to buy high end 27" with 3.2Ghz i5 instead of the base with 2.9Ghz i5? Is there much of a difference between these?
BasK is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iMac SMC Firmware Update 1.1 - Fan Noise - Late 2013 27 iMac alksion iMac 139 Jan 17, 2014 09:51 AM
Help, Erased iMac HDD volume drive trying reset my iMac to factory conditions trueq iMac 12 Dec 23, 2013 09:27 AM
Is possible to install Ati HD 6670m (iMac 2011 21,5) in iMac 27 late 2009?? Gianca90 iMac 4 Nov 5, 2013 04:08 PM
Late 2009 27" iMac Graphics Card DYING AGAIN. Which new iMac to replace it? DracoDWS iMac 0 Sep 29, 2013 08:50 PM
iMac late 2012 not the same brightness as iMac 2011/2010/2009? Krrrt iMac 10 May 16, 2013 08:58 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:33 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC