Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 30, 2012, 05:19 AM   #1
bgsnmky
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
iMac as main monitor with Windows PC

I thought I posted this a while back but just checked and didn'ts ee it sorry if this is a duplicate.

I have asked people at the apple store and they say there is NOT a way to do this, but wanted to come and ask the experts !

I want to use my imac 27 (to be ordered) as my main monitor. and main home pc. so I have two monitors for my home and for my work. But only using 3 monitors.

Then I want to hook up a windows PC to that monitor and use a KVM switch to be able to switch back and forth.

This is what I have now.

Windows LAPTOP (work pc)---- 24 inch monitor (KVM between work & home pc)--- 22 inch monitor (home pc)

is there any way to do this same setup with the new imac with that being the center monitor. Which means I have to be able to hook a windows pc up to it.

What I am being told is I can hook the IMAC TO another monitor, but I cannot hook a pc to a mac monitor.

If I can't then I need to either use a different monitor as my main monitor (boo!) -

Windows LAPTOP (work PC) --- 24 inch monitor (KVM between work and home) --- 27 inch mac (home pc)



OR forget the KVM switch and have way too many monitors and take up too much space on my desk!

Just wanted to see if anyone knew of ways to make it happen!!

I hope all this made sense.

Last edited by bgsnmky; Nov 30, 2012 at 06:04 AM.
bgsnmky is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 09:18 AM   #2
old-wiz
macrumors 604
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: West Suburban Boston Ma
The 2011-2012 27" iMac only accepts video input from Thunderbolt connections. However the latest 27" iMac just came out, but I would expect the thunderbolt input to have the same requirement.
old-wiz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 09:23 AM   #3
forty2j
macrumors 68030
 
forty2j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by old-wiz View Post
The 2011-2012 27" iMac only accepts video input from Thunderbolt connections. However the latest 27" iMac just came out, but I would expect the thunderbolt input to have the same requirement.
It does. Several people here have posted their attempts to get a Windows box with Thunderbolt to display on an iMac; I don't think any have reported success.
__________________
 2012 iMac 3.2GHz 27" 680MX Fusion  iPhone 5  Apple TV 2  iPad 2 
forty2j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 09:29 AM   #4
Nors
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
You can drive a Thunderbolt Display with some PC motherboards that output video via Thunderbolt. It would be safe to assume the iMacs would also accept the signal, but no way to know until they are out there.
Nors is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 07:34 AM   #5
bgsnmky
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
KVM switch

Why wouldn't this work?

http://www.ehow.com/how_4883106_conn...e-monitor.html
bgsnmky is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 07:36 AM   #6
ashleypenny
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
I read somewhere not possible because Target mode only works in osx?
ashleypenny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 07:43 AM   #7
bgsnmky
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashleypenny View Post
I read somewhere not possible because Target mode only works in osx?
I was also just thinking this is not the mac as the main monitor.

This might be just having an extra monitor as the main monitor..not the actual imac...
bgsnmky is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 08:01 AM   #8
NMF
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by bgsnmky View Post
Because iMac only accepts Thunderbolt input. Unless you have one of the brand new Windows motherboards with Thunderbolt, you're hosed. Welcome to all of our anger in 2011.
__________________
MacBook Air 13" (2013) Mac mini (2011) OS X Server + Drobo 5D
AirPort Time Capsule (2013) iPhone 5 TV 3
NMF is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 10:01 AM   #9
drambuie
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by NMF View Post
Because iMac only accepts Thunderbolt input. Unless you have one of the brand new Windows motherboards with Thunderbolt, you're hosed. Welcome to all of our anger in 2011.
A PC with Thunderbolt output should work with the Thunderbolt display, but word is that it does not work with an iMac in Target display mode. It appears that Target display mode will accept Thunderbolt output, only from another Mac.
drambuie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 10:10 AM   #10
theSeb
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Poole, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by bgsnmky View Post
Did you actually read the article you linked? This article is about how to share a MONITOR between two different computers (a Windows PC and a Mac in this case).

You could use this to share for example a Dell Monitor with your iMac/Mac Book Pro/Mac Pro/Mac Mini with another computer.

Your iMac happens to be have a monitor built it. It is not a standalone monitor, but it can be used as such, by using Target Display Mode.

http://support.apple.com/kb/TS3775

Quote:
Symptoms
When you attempt to connect an iMac (21.5-inch or 27-inch, Mid 2011) and later to another computer with a Mini DisplayPort to Mini DisplayPort cable, the screen of the target iMac will not become an external display when you press Command-F2 to activate Target Display Mode.

Resolution
iMac (21.5-inch, Mid 2011) and iMac (27-inch, Mid 2011) and later computers support Target Display Mode via Thunderbolt to Thunderbolt cable (2 m) when the source is another Thunderbolt-equipped computer.

iMac (27-inch, Mid 2011) computers do not support Target Display Mode via Mini DisplayPort cables.
So, if you have another Mac with Thunderbolt output, or, in theory, a PC with Thunderbolt, then you can use the iMac as a monitor for those sources.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by drambuie View Post
A PC with Thunderbolt output should work with the Thunderbolt display, but word is that it does not work with an iMac in Target display mode. It appears that Target display mode will accept Thunderbolt output, only from another Mac.
Do you have any links to this? I would be interested in reading about it.
__________________
What is Other on my HDD?
Throttling, overheating and Geekbench

Last edited by theSeb; Dec 17, 2012 at 10:22 AM.
theSeb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 10:43 AM   #11
martinm0
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Run windows in Bootcamp and connect additional monitors as needed...?

There's really no way to get this done that I can think of. What I would love to see is RDP or screen sharing to allow your remotely connected machine to virtually show more than one monitor (i.e., trick the machine into thinking it has two monitors connected so your iMac can run in dual/triple display mode when controlling another computer). Anything like that exist out there? I also have a work laptop that I just RDP into and control from my iMac. I would love to be able to RDP into the laptop and have the iMac allow me to use both monitors to control the work laptop.
martinm0 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 09:15 PM   #12
bgsnmky
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
I did read the article...and that is when I posted saying I realized it was still using the 3rd party monitor as the monitor.

In one sense the article is doing exactly what I want..I wanted to share one monitor between a pc and a mac.

it is just that I want the imac 27 inch to be that monitor that would be used between both....and that is what I am finding over and over again that we cannot go from a pc to an apple monitor.
bgsnmky is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 06:17 AM   #13
vooblu
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
There's a similar thread about using the iMac as a PC display already: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1474335

One person so far has replied confirming it works on the 2012 iMac with a thunderbolt enabled Windows laptop (and a thunderbolt cable). I have a thunderbolt enabled PC and will be trying this when my iMac arrives.
vooblu is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using iMac as external monitor for Windows laptop Armadillock iMac 6 May 27, 2014 03:28 PM
Turn off monitor for iMac Windows bootcamp Leonavice Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 0 Jun 15, 2013 09:09 PM
New iMac as monitor for Windows PC? cks1885 iMac 5 Dec 9, 2012 03:01 PM
Can I use the iMac as an external monitor for a windows laptop? islandboy198 iMac 7 Oct 12, 2012 11:38 AM
Mission Control on Main monitor in dual monitor setup jateelover OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Sep 2, 2012 02:37 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:12 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC