Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPad

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 30, 2012, 08:05 PM   #1
bteam
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Should it have more RAM?

So I've had the iPad 4 for 2 weeks. It's nearly perfect, but there is a flaw. It seems like Safari likes to reload tabs if too many open. This is very, very annoying. From googling, the problem seems to be a lack of RAM. If there is not enough, Safari releases the older tabs from memory then reloads when you switch back. My iPad is mostly used for web surfing and I use it more than my other computers so I get this problem everyday.

If Apple releases a 2 gig iPad next year, I will probably upgrade.

Not looking for an argument, but I'd just like to hear your thoughts. Should the iPad have more RAM?
bteam is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 08:43 PM   #2
WhiteIphone5
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Lima, Peru
Quote:
Originally Posted by bteam View Post
So I've had the iPad 4 for 2 weeks. It's nearly perfect, but there is a flaw. It seems like Safari likes to reload tabs if too many open. This is very, very annoying. From googling, the problem seems to be a lack of RAM. If there is not enough, Safari releases the older tabs from memory then reloads when you switch back. My iPad is mostly used for web surfing and I use it more than my other computers so I get this problem everyday.

If Apple releases a 2 gig iPad next year, I will probably upgrade.

Not looking for an argument, but I'd just like to hear your thoughts. Should the iPad have more RAM?
Of course, everyone loves more RAM. But in my opinion it's not really necessary, I think iOS handles RAM very well.
WhiteIphone5 is offline   5 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2012, 12:29 AM   #3
clyde2801
macrumors 601
 
clyde2801's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the land of no hills and red dirt.
Wait til next year, it'll have it then.
__________________
I've found that the sanest question I can ask myself is 'Am I going crazy?' --Jack Robbins
2012 base 15" rMBP, 2012 base 11" MBA, late 2011 2.4 i7 17" MBP, 16 gb ram, Crucial M4 512gb SSD
clyde2801 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2012, 02:39 AM   #4
Ipadlover29
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by bteam View Post
So I've had the iPad 4 for 2 weeks. It's nearly perfect, but there is a flaw. It seems like Safari likes to reload tabs if too many open. This is very, very annoying. From googling, the problem seems to be a lack of RAM. If there is not enough, Safari releases the older tabs from memory then reloads when you switch back. My iPad is mostly used for web surfing and I use it more than my other computers so I get this problem everyday.

If Apple releases a 2 gig iPad next year, I will probably upgrade.

Not looking for an argument, but I'd just like to hear your thoughts. Should the iPad have more RAM?
I was disappointed when I found out the iPad 4 only has 1gb of ram. Of course apple wants us to buy the 5 to get more ram.
Ipadlover29 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2012, 06:51 AM   #5
maflynn
Moderator
 
maflynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Boston
Quote:
Originally Posted by clyde2801 View Post
Wait til next year, it'll have it then.
Not necessarily. Apple has a long and illustrious history of providing products that have very little ram. If they think for the usage the mini is getting 512meg is sufficient they'll keep it at the level.
maflynn is online now   3 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2012, 07:36 AM   #6
Breitling65
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by bteam View Post
So I've had the iPad 4 for 2 weeks. It's nearly perfect, but there is a flaw. It seems like Safari likes to reload tabs if too many open. This is very, very annoying. From googling, the problem seems to be a lack of RAM. If there is not enough, Safari releases the older tabs from memory then reloads when you switch back. My iPad is mostly used for web surfing and I use it more than my other computers so I get this problem everyday.

If Apple releases a 2 gig iPad next year, I will probably upgrade.

Not looking for an argument, but I'd just like to hear your thoughts. Should the iPad have more RAM?

I would prefer better and faster iOS7 including new safari.
__________________
MacBookPro w/retina 13"/256 gb iPad Air 32gb s/gray
iPhone5(S) 16gb s/gray iPod 160/80gb
Apple TV3 AirPort Extreme
Dell XPS 8500 i7 Win7
Breitling65 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2012, 07:53 AM   #7
jimboutilier
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Denver
Send a message via AIM to jimboutilier
I experienced Safari page reloading with my iPad 1 but not so much with an iPad 2 or mini. But I suppose it depends on the number and complexity of pages open. I usually only have a handful open at once and tend to consume each one in sequence rather than doing a lot of switching.

I can appreciate the desire for more RAM, but remember its onboard the processor not separate so it's nothing like adding commodity rem sticks. They have to come up with a whole new processor package that includes more ram in the design.
__________________
2013 MBA 11.6, 1.7ghz i7, 8gb RAM, 512gb SSD
2012 Mini 2.6 ghz QCi7, 16gb RAM, 1TB Fusion Drive
iPad mini GSM 64gb, iPhone 5S GSM 32gb
jimboutilier is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2012, 09:30 AM   #8
nfl46
macrumors 601
 
nfl46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Most likely the iPad 5 will have 2GB, while most Android tablets have 3-4 GB next year.
nfl46 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2012, 09:48 AM   #9
HobeSoundDarryl
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hobe Sound, FL (20 miles north of Palm Beach)
Of course it should have more ram. As soon as iOS took on the background multitasking functionality in a real way (which was what- version 2 or 3?), the need for more and more ram manifested. Multitasking and pinched ram are a poor pairing.

While they're at it (adding more ram), I'd like to be able to tag certain apps to stay in RAM. For example, it would be good if an interested user could make their VOIP app always be active in RAM. As is, things get kicked out of ram to free up space for more recently opened apps. Being able to tag some key apps to be "always on" would be a great way to use some of that added ram we want to see.

Of course, such an option paired with some apps would burn through battery time more rapidly, but a "warning" could advise users of that when they try to use that functionality.
HobeSoundDarryl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2012, 01:09 PM   #10
bteam
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by HobeSoundDarryl View Post
Of course it should have more ram. As soon as iOS took on the background multitasking functionality in a real way (which was what- version 2 or 3?), the need for more and more ram manifested. Multitasking and pinched ram are a poor pairing.

While they're at it (adding more ram), I'd like to be able to tag certain apps to stay in RAM. For example, it would be good if an interested user could make their VOIP app always be active in RAM. As is, things get kicked out of ram to free up space for more recently opened apps. Being able to tag some key apps to be "always on" would be a great way to use some of that added ram we want to see.

Of course, such an option paired with some apps would burn through battery time more rapidly, but a "warning" could advise users of that when they try to use that functionality.
A lot of people seem to be happy with their minis with only 512 MB.

Can't they do something like connected standby on the new Macs where the program is suspended, but if a packet arrives for a particular program it's woken up? I don't think the notification service works like this because it goes through Apple.

They could always use flash memory as swap space, but I've seen benchmarks on sync speed and it's pretty slow.
bteam is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2012, 04:30 PM   #11
Saberon
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
As much as I love the Mini in person, I decided to get the 4 just for the big jump in CPU/RAM. The Mini has the same hardware as the iPad 2.

Just to clarify some confusion I always seem to find on these forums

iPhone: 128MB
iPhone 3G: 128MB
iPhone 3GS: 256MB
iPhone 4: 512MB
iPhone 4S: 512MB
iPhone 5: 1GB

iPad 1: 256MB
iPad 2: 512MB
iPad 3: 1GB
iPad 4: 1GB
iPad Mini: 512MB

iPod Touch 1: 128MB
iPod Touch 2: 128MB
iPod Touch 3 (32GB and 64GB only) 256MB
iPod Touch 4: 256MB
iPod Touch 5: 512MB

Last edited by Saberon; Dec 2, 2012 at 12:38 PM.
Saberon is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 01:12 AM   #12
irDigital0l
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Breitling65 View Post
I would prefer better and faster iOS7 including new safari.
Which more RAM would help...
irDigital0l is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 01:28 AM   #13
Fruit Cake
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
They need to enable the swap file in iOS, 1gb ram would go a lot further then it does now.
Fruit Cake is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 03:54 AM   #14
clyde2801
macrumors 601
 
clyde2801's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: In the land of no hills and red dirt.
Quote:
Originally Posted by maflynn View Post
Not necessarily. Apple has a long and illustrious history of providing products that have very little ram. If they think for the usage the mini is getting 512meg is sufficient they'll keep it at the level.
Silly me. But I wonder what next year's model will bring, assuming it won't have a retina display. New colors?
__________________
I've found that the sanest question I can ask myself is 'Am I going crazy?' --Jack Robbins
2012 base 15" rMBP, 2012 base 11" MBA, late 2011 2.4 i7 17" MBP, 16 gb ram, Crucial M4 512gb SSD
clyde2801 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 06:03 AM   #15
maflynn
Moderator
 
maflynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Boston
Quote:
Originally Posted by clyde2801 View Post
Silly me. But I wonder what next year's model will bring, assuming it won't have a retina display. New colors?
I don't know what they'll have, but they've never touted the amount of ram as part of the upgrade on iPad models so I kind of doubt that will be one of the items that will be marketed as improved. Heck they don't even really detail the ram amount, so why advertise it increased
maflynn is online now   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 08:45 PM   #16
raccoonboy
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Trust me, it must have somthing to do with 6.0.1 if you are currently using.

OS not willing to give back ram after using apps. My Ipad 2 page refresh more often and i am surprised to find out here that its the same case in Ipad 4. 1G of ram for IOS supposed to be plenty. Wait for 6.1, it should be better.
raccoonboy is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 08:59 PM   #17
Medic311
macrumors 65816
 
Medic311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
i don't really need more RAM since i am constantly closing Apps to maximize battery life

if you're complaining with 1GB RAM, try using a Blackberry and then see how good you have it.
Medic311 is offline   2 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPad

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
last minute decision; 21''/3.1Ghz i7/ 16gb RAM/ 512 flash. Do I need 32gb RAM 27''? bluesnina iMac 10 Feb 10, 2014 06:57 PM
Resolved: Does macbook (late 2007) support a maximum of 4gb RAM or 6gb RAM? ItsDaKronic MacBook 2 Sep 18, 2013 07:06 AM
Upgrading from 1x1GB 200pin 1067Mhz RAM to 4x4GB 1333Mhz 204pin RAM aningbo MacBook Pro 10 Jul 7, 2013 06:07 PM
i want any app to test my ram new ram and old ram TT1TT Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Jul 12, 2012 04:09 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:20 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC