Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 10, 2013, 02:15 PM   #1
wolfik
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
RAM installation in IMAC 2010

Hi Guys !

I have a mid 2010 Imac with Core i3 and currently 8 GB od RAM (4x2GB). I wanted to update it to 16 GB and I have two questions :

1 I found these G.Skill 16 GB in 2x8GB configuration. The thing is I checked the Apple RAM update site and it says that the mid 2010 imacs only take 2 and 4 GB RAM sticks. Will it take an 8GB stick ?
2. If I were to put the 2 8GB sticks and add say 2x2GB pieces and get it to 20GBs ? (I know the apple site says, the maximum amount of RAM on this model is 16GBs but maybe some of you tried to go beyond the limit with no issues ?)

I really appreciate your help.
wolfik is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 02:17 PM   #2
ezramoore
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Washington State
I believe that the stated limit is the actual limit (16 GB).

I doubt it would recognize 8 GB stick, the 16 GB configuration it is expecting is 4 x 4 GB sticks.
ezramoore is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2013, 04:31 PM   #3
wolfik
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Thank you for your help ezramoore, I will by 4x4GB sticks just in case
wolfik is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:28 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC