Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

View Poll Results: How much RAM are you going with on the new 2012 27-inch iMac?
8GB 58 29.00%
16GB 55 27.50%
32GB 87 43.50%
Voters: 200. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 1, 2012, 01:59 PM   #1
Photography
macrumors 6502a
 
Photography's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
How much RAM are you going with on the new 2012 27-inch iMac?

How much RAM are you going with on the new 2012 27-inch iMac?

What do you think is the best RAM option to future-proof your new iMac?

Whether you're purchasing it directly from Apple or from a third-party, please vote in the poll.
Photography is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2012, 02:00 PM   #2
jetjaguar
macrumors 68000
 
jetjaguar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: new jersey
ordered with 8 ... buying 32 from owc or somewhere else
__________________
27" iMac | iPhone 6+ | iPad Air | aTV
jetjaguar is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2012, 02:02 PM   #3
THOPMedia
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Yep, same. I bought it with 8Gb from apple but already have the 32gb waiting to go in from crucial.
THOPMedia is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2012, 02:14 PM   #4
medi.freak
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2011
you should add a 24GB option. I will order 8GB and add 3rd Party 16Gb when it gets here...
__________________
27" iMac late2012, i5 2,9Ghz 8Gb RAM, 1TB Fusion Drive
11" MacbookAir 2011,1,6Ghz, 2GB RAM, 64GB SSD
iPhone 5 16GB Black
8Gb iPod Nano 3G
medi.freak is offline   6 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2012, 02:16 PM   #5
arthurschiller
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
24GB.
I'll keep the standard 8GB and add 2x8GB from Crucial by myself.
Think that should be enough for a while and will save me some bucks.
arthurschiller is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2012, 02:18 PM   #6
wgnoyes
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by arthurschiller View Post
24GB.
I'll keep the standard 8GB and add 2x8GB from Crucial by myself.
Think that should be enough for a while and will save me some bucks.
Exactly. 8gb runs ML just fine on my mid-2011 iMac, and I can buy Crucial ram for a whole lot less than what Apple wants to charge.
wgnoyes is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2012, 02:25 PM   #7
daveishere
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Going with 16 from apple, may go up to 32GB in time.
__________________
2012 iMac 27" 3.4 GHz i7/16GB RAM/1TB Fusion Drive
2012 13" MacBook Air, 2GHz i7 Ivy Bridge, 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD.
iPhone 5 64GB Black & Slate.
iPad mini 64GB Black & Slate.
daveishere is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2012, 02:26 PM   #8
akatsuki
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by arthurschiller View Post
24GB.
I'll keep the standard 8GB and add 2x8GB from Crucial by myself.
Think that should be enough for a while and will save me some bucks.
I'll probably do this too.
akatsuki is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2012, 02:28 PM   #9
sdo1982
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: North Vancouver
Ordered with 8 have 32 sat waiting to go in.
sdo1982 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2012, 02:31 PM   #10
maehara
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern Ireland
Bought with 8, but will be maxing it out to 32 on arrival.

Don't remotely need 32, but hey - RAM's cheap at the moment...
__________________
maehara
iMac 27" Fusion 2.9GHz i5 | MacBook Air 1.86GHz C2D | Retina iPad mini 32GB | iPhone 5 32GB | iPod touch 4G 8GB | AppleTV 2
maehara is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2012, 02:33 PM   #11
AppleDApp
macrumors 68020
 
AppleDApp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Who sells 1600Mhz RAM for the third-parties OWC doesn't have any online yet.

EDIT Just noticed that OWC and Crucial now have RAM available.
__________________
If you are a MacRumors newbie, chances are I will disregard your post.

Last edited by AppleDApp; Dec 1, 2012 at 02:43 PM.
AppleDApp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2012, 02:41 PM   #12
lopexo
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sacramento, CA
Thought about only getting 8 gigs, but the idea of ungluing the screen and removing the motherboard to upgrade the ram..is a bit out of my comfort zone :|
lopexo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2012, 02:43 PM   #13
maehara
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by lopexo View Post
Thought about only getting 8 gigs, but the idea of ungluing the screen and removing the motherboard to upgrade the ram..is a bit out of my comfort zone :|
Question's about the 27" - it has user-accessible slots, so no need to unstick anything.
__________________
maehara
iMac 27" Fusion 2.9GHz i5 | MacBook Air 1.86GHz C2D | Retina iPad mini 32GB | iPhone 5 32GB | iPod touch 4G 8GB | AppleTV 2
maehara is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2012, 02:43 PM   #14
AppleDApp
macrumors 68020
 
AppleDApp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by lopexo View Post
Thought about only getting 8 gigs, but the idea of ungluing the screen and removing the motherboard to upgrade the ram..is a bit out of my comfort zone :|
The 27" iMac has user upgradable RAM
__________________
If you are a MacRumors newbie, chances are I will disregard your post.
AppleDApp is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2012, 02:51 PM   #15
lopexo
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sacramento, CA
really? So, it is only the 21s that are not? Great...I guess I have to cancel and reorder
lopexo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2012, 02:55 PM   #16
tendicott
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Plymouth
Quote:
Originally Posted by lopexo View Post
really? So, it is only the 21s that are not? Great...I guess I have to cancel and reorder
Yes the 21's can not be upgraded without removing the screens but the 27s can they have a flap that opens up on the back.
__________________
27' iMac (Late 2012) 3.4GHz i7, 8GB RAM, 1TB Fusion Drive, Nvidia GTX 680MX; 13" MacBook Pro (Mid 2009), 2.26 GHz, 8GB RAM, 750 GB HD; iPad 2 32 GB Wi-Fi Black; iPhone 4S 16GB Black
tendicott is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2012, 03:12 PM   #17
MightyWhite
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Oxford UK
I was going to buy 1x8gb card and add it to the 2 already there to make 16 then up to 24 if needed.

I did not think you coud do 2x4 and 1x8 but the chap from crucial said that's cool so I will go for that at a mere 29.99 delivered
__________________
iPad 2 32gb wifi 3G iPhone 4s 16gb TV3 iMac 27" 2012 3.2 i5 1TB Fusion GTX680MX
MightyWhite is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2012, 03:22 PM   #18
Arman
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: SoCal
Correct me if I'm wrong but by the ifixit tear down pics, the 21" iMac looks to only have 2 slots. Is it certain the 27" iMac has 4 slots?



----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arman View Post
Correct me if I'm wrong but by the ifixit tear down pics, the 21" iMac looks to only have 2 slots. Is it certain the 27" iMac has 4 slots?
Nevermind, got the answer here. Confirmed, the iMac 21.5 maxes memory out at 16GB only while the 27" has four slots up to 32GB.
Arman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2012, 06:06 PM   #19
BSoares
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
24GB. The 8GB it comes with + 16GB from Crucial (already ordered).
BSoares is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 12:42 AM   #20
Scrapula
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Seattle, WA
I'm currently running fine with 4GB, so I went with 8GB. I won't be buying any additional RAM until I feel that I need it.
Scrapula is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 12:48 AM   #21
ChristianJapan
macrumors Demi-God
 
ChristianJapan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: 日本
I right now have 12GB in my iMac 27"; so rounding up and make it 16GB would be enough for my little FCP and raw file processing. I don't (yet) have the need for 32GB in the Mac. Even more as I place my virtual machines now outside the Mac on a different hardware.
__________________
Member of MacRumors.com Folding@Home Team (#3446) & developer of the F@H Mobile Monitoring app.
ChristianJapan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 12:51 AM   #22
Mac2133
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by lopexo View Post
really? So, it is only the 21s that are not? Great...I guess I have to cancel and reorder
Where have you been, man?
Mac2133 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 12:53 AM   #23
mrmarts
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Melbourne Australia
when i will upgrade my 27 inch 2010 iMac latter next year i will configure it to 16gb of ram as already have 8gb in my current iMac, i will also upgrade it a 2gb video card and a 3tb fusion drive, i can't be bothered to upgrade the cpu this time.
__________________
Late 2013 13" MacBook Pro Retina | Time Capsule 2TB | iPhone 6 Plus 128GB Black | Apple TV 3 Living Room | iMac 27" Late 2013: i7 3.5 GHz, 16GB Ram, 3TB Fusion, 780M, |Ipad Air 128Gb Space Grey
mrmarts is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 01:07 AM   #24
bobright
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
To the people who already bought 16GB RAM for the 27" can you link to the one you purchased?
bobright is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 01:19 AM   #25
Jay9495
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Melbourne Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobright View Post
To the people who already bought 16GB RAM for the 27" can you link to the one you purchased?
Just go onto OWC and find your iMac model, it will do the rest
Jay9495 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Should I sell my late 2012 21.5 inch iMac and early 2013 15 inch retina MacBook Pro? boombox15 MacBook Pro 8 Sep 3, 2013 12:44 AM
iMac 27" Late 2012 -- Can I use July 2012 Macbook Pro RAM? Reg88 iMac 3 Apr 18, 2013 04:23 PM
Can I DIY RAM for the 2012 21.5-inch iMac Saku iMac 14 Nov 25, 2012 11:05 PM
4gb or 8gb ram 2012 13 inch lower model vdinc MacBook Air 14 Jun 12, 2012 10:20 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:38 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC