Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 2, 2012, 01:23 PM   #1
chaseardoin7
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Adding RAM to 2012 27" iMac

I've heard that there is a panel in the back of the new 27" that can be removed easily to add ram. Haven't see pics of this. Is this true? If so, pretty simple at home modification for a newbie?

Thanks!!
__________________
MacBook Air,24" Aluminum iMac w/ 4GB RAM, MacBook,AppleTV, AirportExtreme,30 GB iPod Video, 2GB iPod Nano,3rd Generation iPod,iPod Touch,iPhone!
chaseardoin7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 01:26 PM   #2
Roller
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Yes, there is. Should be easy if you follow the instructions that Apple and memory resellers provide.
Roller is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 01:28 PM   #3
TrboMac
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: NC/USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by chaseardoin7 View Post
I've heard that there is a panel in the back of the new 27" that can be removed easily to add ram. Haven't see pics of this. Is this true? If so, pretty simple at home modification for a newbie?

Thanks!!
There's a button to press on the back to release the RAM plate. Couldn't be much easier, although I hear the button is a bit hard, so use something like a pen to depress it.
__________________
2011 21.5" iMac, i5, 2.5 GHz, 4 GB RAM, 500 GB HD
TrboMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 01:30 PM   #4
MeFromHere
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by chaseardoin7 View Post
I've heard that there is a panel in the back of the new 27" that can be removed easily to add ram. Haven't see pics of this. Is this true? If so, pretty simple at home modification for a newbie?

Thanks!!
Here's a picture:
http://i.i.com.com/cnwk.1d/i/tim/201...5440705_14.jpg

Here's a review, including a video that shows how the memory panel is opened:
http://reviews.cnet.com/imac/

Adding RAM should be VERY easy on this system.
MeFromHere is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 01:37 PM   #5
daveishere
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Might get me another 16gb of memory for my new iMac...
__________________
2012 iMac 27" 3.4 GHz i7/16GB RAM/1TB Fusion Drive
2012 13" MacBook Air, 2GHz i7 Ivy Bridge, 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD.
iPhone 5 64GB Black & Slate.
iPad mini 64GB Black & Slate.
daveishere is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 01:56 PM   #6
ViperDesign
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Utah
Quote:
Originally Posted by daveishere View Post
Might get me another 16gb of memory for my new iMac...
For how cheap ram are these days, without a doubt you should max it out at 32GB
__________________
iPhone 5s TMobile(White), Macbook Pro Retina Late 2013, 2x AppleTV, 2x Chromecast
ViperDesign is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iMac 27" Late 2012 -- Can I use July 2012 Macbook Pro RAM? Reg88 iMac 3 Apr 18, 2013 03:23 PM
Adding another 8GB to the 2012 27" iMac - need some quick help js09 iMac 10 Dec 18, 2012 01:10 PM
Adding RAM to a 2012 27" iMac: price vs. performance. ryanasimov iMac 1 Nov 30, 2012 11:44 PM
2012 27" iMac RAM compartment garrize iMac 2 Nov 6, 2012 08:41 AM
2012 27" iMac Ram MightyWhite iMac 3 Nov 6, 2012 07:48 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:10 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC