Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 2, 2012, 03:05 PM   #1
2012Tony2012
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
SuperDuper and Time Machine on same HDD?

I have an 500GB External hard drive that I want to use for my Imac to make complete SuperDuper backup images onto and then also to use to make Time Machine backups.

Can someone please tell me my exact steps needed to make that happen?

Do I need to format the 500GB External hard drive into 2 partitions? And if so, how do I format the 500GB External hard drive? What file system for both partitions and what application do I use to create 2 partitions and to format the 500GB External hard drive?

Please if someone could give me a step by step guide I would really appreciate it and be very grateful
2012Tony2012 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 05:36 PM   #2
old-wiz
macrumors 604
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: West Suburban Boston Ma
split the HDD into two partitions, use one for superduper and one for time machine. use osx extended journaled. they won't coexist on one partition.
old-wiz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 06:17 PM   #3
2012Tony2012
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by old-wiz View Post
split the HDD into two partitions, use one for superduper and one for time machine. use osx extended journaled. they won't coexist on one partition.
How do I make 2 partitions? In iMac?

And I read that Journaling is best suited for servers requiring high availability, servers containing volumes with many files, and servers containing data that is backed up at infrequent intervals... That's what Apple Website says.

So seeing journaled can slow down system performance, why use it? Especially seeing I am not running an intense server and seeing I rarely get power cut off and even if I did, it wouldn't matter.

Last edited by 2012Tony2012; Dec 2, 2012 at 06:18 PM. Reason: E
2012Tony2012 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 06:17 PM   #4
ECUpirate44
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: NC
Use disk utility.
ECUpirate44 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 06:19 PM   #5
2012Tony2012
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ECUpirate44 View Post
Use disk utility.
So use iMac disk utility to create 2 partitions? Then tell SuperDuper to use one and tell TM to use the other?

And is it possible to tell TM to only backup once per day instead of every hour?
2012Tony2012 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 06:21 PM   #6
ECUpirate44
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2012Tony2012 View Post
So use iMac disk utility to create 2 partitions? Then tell SuperDuper to use one and tell TM to use the other?

And is it possible to tell TM to only backup once per day instead of every hour?
Yep. And no, but just plug in the drive when you want to back up and unplug it when you're done.
ECUpirate44 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 06:30 PM   #7
rnb2
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: West Haven, CT, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2012Tony2012 View Post
I have an 500GB External hard drive that I want to use for my Imac to make complete SuperDuper backup images onto and then also to use to make Time Machine backups.

Can someone please tell me my exact steps needed to make that happen?

Do I need to format the 500GB External hard drive into 2 partitions? And if so, how do I format the 500GB External hard drive? What file system for both partitions and what application do I use to create 2 partitions and to format the 500GB External hard drive?

Please if someone could give me a step by step guide I would really appreciate it and be very grateful
You don't have to do anything special - SuperDuper! is smart enough to recognize a Time Machine folder and leave it alone. Just plug the drive in and let Time Machine run at least once to create the backup folder, then run SuperDuper! as normal. Make sure (as always) that you are running the latest version of SuperDuper, of course, but this capability has been there since shortly after Time Machine arrived.
rnb2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 07:44 PM   #8
hfg
macrumors 68020
 
hfg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA.
If you elect to put both on the same partition, be aware that TimeMachine will continually grow in size to eventually consume all available disk space. This may not be an issue with your setup and time frame, but you should realize that you may encounter a full disk at some point and SuperDuper will be unable to accommodate additional files.
hfg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 07:48 PM   #9
2012Tony2012
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ECUpirate44 View Post
Yep. And no, but just plug in the drive when you want to back up and unplug it when you're done.
I found this app, it seems to be able to alter when TM does backups?

http://timesoftware.free.fr/timemachineeditor/

Anyone used it?
2012Tony2012 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 12:56 PM   #10
ECUpirate44
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2012Tony2012 View Post
I found this app, it seems to be able to alter when TM does backups?

http://timesoftware.free.fr/timemachineeditor/

Anyone used it?
No, but it seems to be a simple utility. Give it a go.
ECUpirate44 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 03:44 AM   #11
2012Tony2012
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
I've created a Time Machine backup on my external USB HDD, and now I want to do a SuperDuper backup.

But if I keep using the same HDD for Time Machine backups, won't the Time Machine backups eventually start deleting the SuperDuper backup?
2012Tony2012 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 04:56 AM   #12
old-wiz
macrumors 604
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: West Suburban Boston Ma
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2012Tony2012 View Post
I've created a Time Machine backup on my external USB HDD, and now I want to do a SuperDuper backup.

But if I keep using the same HDD for Time Machine backups, won't the Time Machine backups eventually start deleting the SuperDuper backup?
Time machine will eventually start overwriting the time machine backups, not superduper backups. However once Time machine fills the free space your next attempt to run superduper may fail if it needs more space.

To be truly safe, I keep them on separate physical drives; then if the physical drive fails you have only lost one or the other, not both.
old-wiz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 04:25 PM   #13
2012Tony2012
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
I ended up deciding to create 2 partitions, one called Time Machine and the other SuperDuperBackup.

When I get more money I will buy a second USB HDD to use TM and SD on separate hard drives. But in the meantime I need to use them both on the same hard drive with 2 separate partitions.
2012Tony2012 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 04:35 PM   #14
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2012Tony2012 View Post
I ended up deciding to create 2 partitions, one called Time Machine and the other SuperDuperBackup.

When I get more money I will buy a second USB HDD to use TM and SD on separate hard drives. But in the meantime I need to use them both on the same hard drive with 2 separate partitions.
I recommend Carbon Copy Cloner for creating bootable backups, as it also clones the OS X recovery partition, which SuperDuper! doesn't do.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 04:44 PM   #15
slffl
macrumors 65816
 
slffl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
I'm not sure how SuperDuper works, but Time Machine just creates a folder. You don't need to dedicate a partition to it. If SuperDuper works similar, then you just need one partition and both apps can use it.
__________________
Why waste your time posting how much you hate Apple products?
slffl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 04:53 PM   #16
talmy
macrumors 68040
 
talmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Oregon
Quote:
Originally Posted by slffl View Post
If SuperDuper works similar, then you just need one partition and both apps can use it.
It isn't similar. It makes a clone (functional duplicate) of the source drive, so as soon as you run it the Time Machine backup will be deleted.
__________________
27" i7 iMac, 15" MacBook Pro, Mac mini with Mavericks Server, 5 other Macs and an Apple TV.
talmy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 04:56 PM   #17
2012Tony2012
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGJstudios View Post
I recommend Carbon Copy Cloner for creating bootable backups, as it also clones the OS X recovery partition, which SuperDuper! doesn't do.
I am using Snow Leopard and SL doesn't create a OS X recovery partition, so I don't need to backup a OS X recovery partition as I don't have one. AFAIK, the OS X recovery partition only began with Lion? So SuperDuper will be OK?

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by talmy View Post
It isn't similar. It makes a clone (functional duplicate) of the source drive, so as soon as you run it the Time Machine backup will be deleted.
Hi there One Eye

So you think what I did in creating TM for it's own partition and SD with it's own partition was a good idea?
2012Tony2012 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 04:57 PM   #18
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2012Tony2012 View Post
I am using Snow Leopard and SL doesn't create a OS X recovery partition.
Since you didn't specify your version, it seemed appropriate to mention it.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 05:00 PM   #19
2012Tony2012
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGJstudios View Post
Since you didn't specify your version, it seemed appropriate to mention it.
Agreed. And as soon as I move up to Lion or Mountain Lion, I will start using CCC to backup rescue partition as well.

BY the way, why is it important to backup the rescue partition? It isn't touched or modified is it and should always be there as is? And if I do a clean install it's created again anyway, isn't it?
2012Tony2012 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 05:04 PM   #20
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2012Tony2012 View Post
Agreed. And as soon as I move up to Lion or Mountain Lion, I will start using CCC to backup rescue partition as well.

BY the way, why is it important to backup the rescue partition? It isn't touched or modified is it and should always be there as is? And if I do a clean install it's created again anyway, isn't it?
It would come in handy if your internal drive failed completely. You wouldn't have to re-create it or reinstall anything; just boot from your CCC backup. There are a few other slight advantages to CCC, which is why I prefer it, but SD works fine.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 05:36 PM   #21
2012Tony2012
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGJstudios View Post
It would come in handy if your internal drive failed completely. You wouldn't have to re-create it or reinstall anything; just boot from your CCC backup. There are a few other slight advantages to CCC, which is why I prefer it, but SD works fine.
Good point. Thank you.

Do you mind if I asked what other few slight advantages to CCC are there that I may not be aware of? And are you talking about the Free SD and Free CCC, because I can't buy any of them at this stage so need to use the free version.
2012Tony2012 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 05:40 PM   #22
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2012Tony2012 View Post
Good point. Thank you.

Do you mind if I asked what other few slight advantages to CCC are there that I may not be aware of? And are you talking about the Free SD and Free CCC, because I can't buy any of them at this stage so need to use the free version.
You can use 3.5.1 ($40) or 3.4.7 (free, and works well on OS X 10.6, 10.7 and 10.8).

The features work the same in both versions. CCC also does incremental backups, which the free version of SD doesn't do.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 05:45 PM   #23
2012Tony2012
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGJstudios View Post
You can use 3.5.1 ($40) or 3.4.7 (free, and works well on OS X 10.6, 10.7 and 10.8).

The features work the same in both versions. CCC also does incremental backups, which the free version of SD doesn't do.
I thought only the PAID version of CCC does incremental backups?
2012Tony2012 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 05:46 PM   #24
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2012Tony2012 View Post
I thought only the PAID version of CCC does incremental backups?
No, the free version does, as well. All the features of the paid version are also in the free version. Until recently, the free (donationware) version was the only version.

Carbon Copy Cloner now a paid app (V 3.5.0)
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 05:50 PM   #25
2012Tony2012
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGJstudios View Post
No, the free version does, as well. All the features of the paid version are also in the free version. Until recently, the free (donationware) version was the only version.

Carbon Copy Cloner now a paid app (V 3.5.0)
Awesome thanks!!!

Now all I have to figure out is how to uninstall SuperDuper completely lol. How do I uninstall apps on iMac and remove all associated files?
2012Tony2012 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:04 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC