Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 2, 2012, 11:41 PM   #1
bcooln
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Florida
iPhone 5 keeps saying no SIM installed

hi, i have my iphone for about a month already. However, from yesterday till now, my phone keep say no sim install. I have to turn the phone off and on back to get signal. then it last about couple hours, then it back to no sim install again. I tried to reset the phone, but the issue still occur. so is it the hardware issue, i went to tmobile and get a new sim card too. plz help
bcooln is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 11:44 PM   #2
mobilehaathi
macrumors 68040
 
mobilehaathi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bay Area, CA
Go to the Apple store. I had this problem and they swapped out my phone immediately.
__________________
The true way is along a rope that is not spanned high in the air, but only just above the ground. It seems intended more to cause stumbling than to be walked along.
mobilehaathi is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 11:46 PM   #3
bcooln
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Florida
last time i have problem, i went to apple store, they told me i have tmobile, so they can't help me. so i don't know should i tried to go the again, the closet apple store from me is 90 minutes away
bcooln is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 12:01 AM   #4
Minhimalism
macrumors 6502a
 
Minhimalism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by bcooln View Post
last time i have problem, i went to apple store, they told me i have tmobile, so they can't help me. so i don't know should i tried to go the again, the closet apple store from me is 90 minutes away
That's complete ******** (I've run into it too though) because they're servicing your phone, not the ****ing plan you're on. I hate how they pull this crap.
__________________
White iPhone 5; 2013 13" MacBook Air
Twitter Instagram Flickr deviantART
Minhimalism is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 08:24 AM   #5
bcooln
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by Minhimalism View Post
That's complete ******** (I've run into it too though) because they're servicing your phone, not the ****ing plan you're on. I hate how they pull this crap.
so did they finally fix your problem?
bcooln is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 10:22 AM   #6
Minhimalism
macrumors 6502a
 
Minhimalism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by bcooln View Post
so did they finally fix your problem?
:0 i did personally after my genius "asked the manager flr his approval." Not sure how its goin for the OP
__________________
White iPhone 5; 2013 13" MacBook Air
Twitter Instagram Flickr deviantART
Minhimalism is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 07:22 PM   #7
bcooln
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by Minhimalism View Post
:0 i did personally after my genius "asked the manager flr his approval." Not sure how its goin for the OP
i'm out of luck with these genius. they just let me to have a replacement phone, even though they acknowledge the problem i have. so pretty i have to turn my phone off and one couple times a day now, unless i drop my phone in water and willing to pay 49.99
bcooln is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 07:40 PM   #8
largefarrva
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
I had this same problem the morning after getting my iPhone 5....No Sim Installed is all it would say. All I did to fix it is pull the sim card out...wipe it off and blow out the sim card slot in the phone with compressed air and then put the card back in. Haven't had a single problem with it since.
largefarrva is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 07:43 PM   #9
Baggio
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Have you tried getting a new SIM card from you carrier?

I had this problem on older iPhone that was jailbroken and unlocked with Ultrasn0w. I was having a problem with prepaid SIM in Brazil. Reseting the network settings would temporarily fix the issue, but for some reason I turned the phone off and popped open the the SIM and pushed it back in place. It fixed the issue. Not sure if that will help you or not.
Baggio is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 07:45 PM   #10
dictoresno
macrumors 68020
 
dictoresno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: NJ
i had this issue with my iphone 4. it was out of warranty so they replaced it for $150. they acknowledged it was a hardware defect. since youre still under warranty, replacement shouldnt be an issue.
__________________
Verizon iPhone 5S 32GB Space Grey
iPad Mini 16GB Black, iPad 1 32 GB Black
iPod Touch 4th Generation 64GB Black
Apple TV 3rd Generation, Apple AirPort Express 2nd Generation
dictoresno is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 11:23 PM   #11
bcooln
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Florida
i got a new sim card already. but the problem still occur. i brought it to apple store today and the genius told me, i have tmobile, they don't support tmobile, so can't do anything about it. i guess i will try another apple store this weekend to see what happen
bcooln is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:12 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC