Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 3, 2012, 12:54 AM   #1
flynz4
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Two methods to have an "SSD Only" iMac

I have been pretty sure that I will order the 768 GB option for the 27" iMac... and then compliment it with my existing 8TB Pegasus R4 Thunderbolt array.

As I consider it... I think there are actually two ways to go "SSD only" inside the iMac:
  1. Order the $1300 768GB SSD Option
  2. Order the $250 1TB Fusion option... but keep the capacity under 128 GB

If I go option #2... the there are two sub-options:
  • Keep the data on the Fusion drive below the size of the SSD... preventing any data actually reside on the HDD.
  • Spilt the Fusion into independent SSD + HDD... and don't use the HDD.

I would still have the HDD inside (obviously)... but if I selected the option to spin down the HDD when not in use... would it really shut down? It is not a huge deal... but I would prefer to not have it spinning and making noise.

My biggest reason for wanting the "SSD only" option is that I want to keep my entire Aperture 3 library on the SSD. However, I do have the Pegasus R4... and it is actually quite fast with its 4 spindles. I could go that route... save $1K and then eventually buy a Thunderbolt SSD if I want additional IOPs for my A3 library.

In many ways... since the 2011 iMac with Thunderbolt... we actually have much less reason to get into the machine... given that most people do this to upgrade storage. Thunderbolt gives the option to upgrade much more easily and maintain very good performance.

/Jim
flynz4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 01:03 AM   #2
Thunderbird
macrumors 6502a
 
Thunderbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Couldn't you just order the basic 27" with the 1 TB HDD. Then when you get it, bring it in to an Apple service store and ask them to swap out the HDD for an SSD?
Thunderbird is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 01:18 AM   #3
WilliamG
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Seattle
Option 3:

What I'm doing (if I don't open up my new iMac):

Thunderbolt SSD, - bootable. I leave my system running 24/7, so as soon as I boot into OS X I'll be ejecting the internal disk. Tah-dah! No more disk noise!
__________________
iMac, MacBook Air, Mac mini, iPad, iPhone, 55-11
www.bighugenerd.com
WilliamG is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 01:25 AM   #4
All Taken
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Wow, the sound of the disk will be the least of your worries. If you're running anything remotely intensive, think Mac Mini 2012 Thermal issues, you will hear the fan far more than the Hard Drive.

Of course if you purchased the iMac solely to play in iTunes you should be fine and have a whisper quiet system, please don't kid yourself into thinking these machines will stay quiet with any kind of load.
All Taken is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 10:22 AM   #5
yellowsnn0w
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
i was considering the same way, but.......

the problem is, that fusion drive algorithmus does shuffle data from the hdd onto ths sad, if u often use these data ( thats clear, thats the new technique)

but additionally fusion moves data FROM the ssd to the hdd, even if the ssd is maybe just 30 percent filled and the hdd is completely empty, when not used "often enough".

so you wonīt have this "solid" ssd solution, but an even more weired system algorithms. if you let run system over 2 weeks without doin anything, i think fusion would even move away things like documents downloads....
its just crap...
i really was looking forward to buy new imac 27 maxed out last friday, but i CANīT live with fusion drive and now i have to find an other setup, i am happy with.




Quote:
Originally Posted by flynz4 View Post
I have been pretty sure that I will order the 768 GB option for the 27" iMac... and then compliment it with my existing 8TB Pegasus R4 Thunderbolt array.

As I consider it... I think there are actually two ways to go "SSD only" inside the iMac:
  1. Order the $1300 768GB SSD Option
  2. Order the $250 1TB Fusion option... but keep the capacity under 128 GB

If I go option #2... the there are two sub-options:
  • Keep the data on the Fusion drive below the size of the SSD... preventing any data actually reside on the HDD.
  • Spilt the Fusion into independent SSD + HDD... and don't use the HDD.

I would still have the HDD inside (obviously)... but if I selected the option to spin down the HDD when not in use... would it really shut down? It is not a huge deal... but I would prefer to not have it spinning and making noise.

My biggest reason for wanting the "SSD only" option is that I want to keep my entire Aperture 3 library on the SSD. However, I do have the Pegasus R4... and it is actually quite fast with its 4 spindles. I could go that route... save $1K and then eventually buy a Thunderbolt SSD if I want additional IOPs for my A3 library.

In many ways... since the 2011 iMac with Thunderbolt... we actually have much less reason to get into the machine... given that most people do this to upgrade storage. Thunderbolt gives the option to upgrade much more easily and maintain very good performance.

/Jim
yellowsnn0w is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 09:19 PM   #6
flynz4
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Quote:
Originally Posted by yellowsnn0w View Post
i was considering the same way, but.......

the problem is, that fusion drive algorithmus does shuffle data from the hdd onto ths sad, if u often use these data ( thats clear, thats the new technique)

but additionally fusion moves data FROM the ssd to the hdd, even if the ssd is maybe just 30 percent filled and the hdd is completely empty, when not used "often enough".

so you wonīt have this "solid" ssd solution, but an even more weired system algorithms. if you let run system over 2 weeks without doin anything, i think fusion would even move away things like documents downloads....
its just crap...
i really was looking forward to buy new imac 27 maxed out last friday, but i CANīT live with fusion drive and now i have to find an other setup, i am happy with.
If this is true... then fusion is a non-starter for me. This leaves the options of splitting the fusion drive into SSD+HDD volumes... or getting the SSD-only configuration.

I am 90% sure that I'll just get the 768GB SSD and use it conjunction with my Pegasus R4. It is the most predictable configuration.

/Jim
flynz4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 09:33 PM   #7
jediDev
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by All Taken View Post
Wow, the sound of the disk will be the least of your worries. If you're running anything remotely intensive, think Mac Mini 2012 Thermal issues, you will hear the fan far more than the Hard Drive.

Of course if you purchased the iMac solely to play in iTunes you should be fine and have a whisper quiet system, please don't kid yourself into thinking these machines will stay quiet with any kind of load.
I can definitely hear a quiet hum, which I believe to be the fan and not the HD (it's pitch is lower than I'd expect for an HD). However, it didn't increase in intensity at all for me today, the first full day workout for the iMac. I am watching two HD video streams all day long and at times editing video. Even while encoding a short video today, the fans didn't kick in. With my mini, they definitely did kick in.

Moreover, the machine was barely warm to the touch. I could definitely feel heat spilling out of the rear vent though when i put my hand behind the case.

When I had the 27 inch iMac (mid-2010, i7 2.93) the fans frequently kicked in and the machine was often scaldingly hot to the touch. Not so with this 2012 i5 2.9.
__________________
15" Mid-2012 MBPr (2.3/8/256); 21.5" iMac late 2012 (2.9/8); iPhone 5s 64GB Space Gray; 4th gen iPad 64GB WiFi White.
jediDev is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2012, 10:28 PM   #8
kuau
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Hence the reason why I wanted to disable fusion all together and end up with 2 separate drives which seems to be easy to do as described in another thread with 2 terminal commands. No big deal.
Then you will end up with a SSD Boot drive and you can trash the 1 TB drive or use it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by yellowsnn0w View Post
i was considering the same way, but.......

the problem is, that fusion drive algorithmus does shuffle data from the hdd onto ths sad, if u often use these data ( thats clear, thats the new technique)

but additionally fusion moves data FROM the ssd to the hdd, even if the ssd is maybe just 30 percent filled and the hdd is completely empty, when not used "often enough".

so you wonīt have this "solid" ssd solution, but an even more weired system algorithms. if you let run system over 2 weeks without doin anything, i think fusion would even move away things like documents downloads....
its just crap...
i really was looking forward to buy new imac 27 maxed out last friday, but i CANīT live with fusion drive and now i have to find an other setup, i am happy with.
kuau is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 01:16 AM   #9
torana355
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by yellowsnn0w View Post

but additionally fusion moves data FROM the ssd to the hdd, even if the ssd is maybe just 30 percent filled and the hdd is completely empty, when not used "often enough".
This is not true, it only starts to move data to the HDD when there is 4GB left on the SSD...
__________________
2012 27" iMac with 680mx | 2011 13" MBA 128gb | iPhone 4 32gb | Nexus 7 16gb | Nexus 4 on Carbon and Trinity.
torana355 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 01:48 AM   #10
theSeb
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Poole, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by torana355 View Post
This is not true, it only starts to move data to the HDD when there is 4GB left on the SSD...
Source please
__________________
What is Other on my HDD?
Throttling, overheating and Geekbench
theSeb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 02:07 AM   #11
torana355
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by theSeb View Post
Source please
http://www.tested.com/tech/mac-os/44...ta-management/

"He combined the two drives into one logical volume and saw the operating system write files to the SSD until it was full, and then begin writing to the HDD."
__________________
2012 27" iMac with 680mx | 2011 13" MBA 128gb | iPhone 4 32gb | Nexus 7 16gb | Nexus 4 on Carbon and Trinity.
torana355 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 03:46 AM   #12
Yeroon
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
I'm in the same boat. I also use a Thunderbolt RAID system for my files (3 TB) and wanted to use an SSD only in the iMac. Though 768 GB is more than I need and far too expensive! And 128 GB is too little... So, I don't know what to do...
Yeroon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 06:19 AM   #13
jediDev
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yeroon View Post
I'm in the same boat. I also use a Thunderbolt RAID system for my files (3 TB) and wanted to use an SSD only in the iMac. Though 768 GB is more than I need and far too expensive! And 128 GB is too little... So, I don't know what to do...
I'm using a 500GB Samsung 840 in a Buffalo Ministation enclosure attached via thunderbolt. I actually have it set up as a Fusion drive because I'm curious about how Fusion will perform when the drive gets full enough. It's not the fastest SSD in the world to do this with, but it's still tons faster than a hard drive.
__________________
15" Mid-2012 MBPr (2.3/8/256); 21.5" iMac late 2012 (2.9/8); iPhone 5s 64GB Space Gray; 4th gen iPad 64GB WiFi White.
jediDev is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 07:11 AM   #14
Gascogne
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Sweden
Send a message via ICQ to Gascogne Send a message via MSN to Gascogne
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yeroon View Post
I'm in the same boat. I also use a Thunderbolt RAID system for my files (3 TB) and wanted to use an SSD only in the iMac. Though 768 GB is more than I need and far too expensive! And 128 GB is too little... So, I don't know what to do...
LaCie SSD Thunderbolt Little Big Disk that is an option?
That is the option I am going with and got it delivered to me today.
Now I only need to wait for the imac to arrive..
Gascogne is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 07:57 AM   #15
Pressure
macrumors 68040
 
Pressure's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Denmark
You could also crack it open and replace the internal mechanical drive with an Solid State Disk if so concerned about a quiet 5,400 RPM mechanical drive.

Isn't the Pegasus unit already noisy with four mechanical drives and it's small fan?
__________________
Never Argue With An idiot. They'll Lower You To Their Level And Then Beat You With Experience!
Pressure is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 08:45 AM   #16
theSeb
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Poole, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by torana355 View Post
http://www.tested.com/tech/mac-os/44...ta-management/

"He combined the two drives into one logical volume and saw the operating system write files to the SSD until it was full, and then begin writing to the HDD."
Thank you very much.
__________________
What is Other on my HDD?
Throttling, overheating and Geekbench
theSeb is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New 27" iMac, or Upgrade my 24" with SSD? douglas iMac 7 Oct 11, 2013 02:54 AM
2010 27" iMac screen issue..."dirty", "cloudy", image retention issues MMcCraryNJ iMac 1 May 18, 2013 04:02 PM
The "Quick and Dirty" iMac 27 Inch SSD Upgrade ppayne iMac 3 Mar 23, 2013 10:07 AM
Installing 2.5" SSD in addition to stock 3.5" HDD in new 27" iMac? TheSpeaker iMac 1 Dec 14, 2012 11:55 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:43 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC