Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 4, 2012, 10:50 AM   #1
smoge
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
iMac + Apple remote

Am I right in saying that; now apple have done away with magnets to hold the screen in place, in favour of glue, you will no longer be able to have an apple remote on the front of the 2012 iMac?
smoge is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 10:55 AM   #2
seble
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
I assume this is correct, but I also think I've read that the new marks don't have an IR reciever so I don't think a remote will even work with it! Sad times
seble is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 11:11 AM   #3
smoge
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
wow! I did not know that!
smoge is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 11:36 AM   #4
seble
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
I guess we'll soon wait and see, but just look what they did to the Retina's looks like that's the direction they're going in
seble is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 11:42 AM   #5
6ftunder
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Austria
check this out, I think the IR sensor is still there:

https://discussions.apple.com/thread...art=0&tstart=0
__________________
6ftunder is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 11:43 AM   #6
jedicurt
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by seble View Post
I assume this is correct, but I also think I've read that the new marks don't have an IR reciever so I don't think a remote will even work with it! Sad times
i was curious about that as well. because when i ordered my new iMac, i noticed that the apple remote was no longer an optional accessory to add during checkout
jedicurt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 11:46 AM   #7
kaelell
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Not used remote with my previous iMac, but what did the magnets have to do with it? ( just curious!) did they hold the remote too?
kaelell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 12:23 PM   #8
smoge
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
In the 'fat' iMac's there are six or so magnets in the bezel that hold the glass/screens to the aluminum body.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PW7tFEHYWP0
smoge is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 12:28 PM   #9
kaelell
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
I got that, but the remote ?
kaelell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 12:33 PM   #10
seble
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by 6ftunder View Post
check this out, I think the IR sensor is still there:

https://discussions.apple.com/thread...art=0&tstart=0
Hmmm there is hope then, but i still can't figure out why they would remove it from the retina, but not the iMac. I thought it was due to the fact that apple removed front row and wanted to move away from those, and use an app solution or something...
seble is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 12:34 PM   #11
smoge
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
As aluminium is not magnetic, I guess the magnets are strong enough (and the remote is light enough) to attract the copper in the circuit board.
smoge is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 12:54 PM   #12
DIMEZ
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: MD
Send a message via AIM to DIMEZ
anyone can confirm if works or not?
__________________
27in" Imac , 2.7GHz I5, 16GB RAM, 256 SSD + 1tB HD
15" Macbook Pro retina, 2.6GHz, 16GB RAM, 512 SSD
Iphone 5 64GB
Ipad 2 64GB WIFI+3G
DIMEZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 03:04 PM   #13
Resist
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by smoge View Post
In the 'fat' iMac's there are six or so magnets in the bezel that hold the glass/screens to the aluminum body.
How are magnets supposed to hold glass and aluminum together? Both materials aren't magnetic.
Resist is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
G5 Apple Remote Desktop & iMac macnerd93 PowerPC Macs 1 Jul 12, 2013 12:41 PM
Someone please test the Apple Remote with 2012 iMac 6ftunder iMac 24 Apr 11, 2013 05:01 PM
New iMac - but Apple remote doesn't work annab921 iMac 24 Mar 31, 2013 06:30 PM
Apple Remote and New iMac AnthonyCM iMac 19 Jan 14, 2013 11:16 AM
How do I stop Apple Remote from controlling my iMac? MaskedCarrot Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 3 Nov 16, 2012 12:31 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:16 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC