Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 4, 2012, 04:58 PM   #1
woodbine
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Bath, UK
new MM unresponsive at 100% CPU

My new 2012 MacMini is doing sterling work as a compact render machine, but the rest of the system becomes almost unusable when it's got Compressor running at 96% on the CPU.
Is this normal?
Never happened on the old MacPro I had.
woodbine is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 06:25 PM   #2
Mr. Retrofire
macrumors 601
 
Mr. Retrofire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: www.emiliana.cl
Quote:
Originally Posted by woodbine View Post
My new 2012 MacMini is doing sterling work as a compact render machine, but the rest of the system becomes almost unusable when it's got Compressor running at 96% on the CPU.
Is this normal?
Never happened on the old MacPro I had.
The RAM size is?
__________________

“Only the dead have seen the end of the war.”
-- Plato --
Mr. Retrofire is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 12:34 AM   #3
woodbine
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Bath, UK
probably not enough....basic 4GB

----------

today I went to upgrade some apps on the app store, same thing, CPU ramping up and down to 100% and system unusable.

even the clock doesn't update properly!

Numbers is taking 45 mins to upgrade!

Last edited by woodbine; Dec 5, 2012 at 12:43 AM.
woodbine is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 01:48 AM   #4
cyclotron451
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Europe
And does your Mini have 10.8.1 or the 'old' 10.8.2 or the 'newer' 10.8.2?

My basic 2012 mini did great except for Barclays iBank website where Safari would eat 3GB of Safari Web Content whilst trying to render whatever Barclays were doing in java. I bought a single 8GB stick to improve things. (although actually the mini system was still responsive - just Safari was beachballing & hung) With the new 10GB system RAM I was unimpressed to see Barclays iBank taking 8GB of Safari Web Content - at least that left an improved 2GB for the rest of the mini!
I solved the problem by using Chrome for Barclays bank, runs great. I have FCPX on the mini but haven't had time to play yet and see what I need to buy next....
cyclotron451 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 12:31 PM   #5
woodbine
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Bath, UK
solved it actually, stupid Compressor was running about six instances, even though the job had finished.
woodbine is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:29 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC