Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 4, 2012, 06:38 PM   #1
gorf37
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
New 27" iMac What's the best buy for 32GB RAM?

Hi all,

I'm anctiously awaiting delivery of my new iMac, and I'm shopping for RAM to replace the existing 8GB that comes installed.

My dad suggested:
http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/memor.../2012_27/DDR3L

Is all RAM created equal? Is there a certain company or product that is more effective or less prone to problems than others? Scorching deals I'm not aware of?

Thanks in advance!
gorf37 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 06:40 PM   #2
bobright
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
I'm looking for 16GB ram myself and am very confused there's DDR1 2, 3
bobright is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 07:21 PM   #3
randy98mtu
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
I'm planning to get the Corsair on Amazon. It's currently $79.99 per 16 gig. Just search for "204 pin ddr3 1600". Lots of options pop up.
randy98mtu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 07:25 PM   #4
knoxtown
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
RamJet has always been my favorite. Never had an issue and been using them for as long as I can remember.
knoxtown is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 07:27 PM   #5
czachorski
macrumors 6502a
 
czachorski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Just got 32 GB from Crucial for $160.
__________________
27" iMac, Late 2012, 3.4 GHz Core i7, 3 TB Fusion Drive, 32 GB Ram
czachorski is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 08:28 PM   #6
CoreyLahey
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by czachorski View Post
Just got 32 GB from Crucial for $160.
Think I will do the same, it's an amazing price.
CoreyLahey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 08:36 PM   #7
Mr. Retrofire
macrumors 601
 
Mr. Retrofire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: www.emiliana.cl
Quote:
Originally Posted by gorf37 View Post
Hi all,

I'm anctiously awaiting delivery of my new iMac, and I'm shopping for RAM to replace the existing 8GB that comes installed.

My dad suggested:
http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/memor.../2012_27/DDR3L

Is all RAM created equal? Is there a certain company or product that is more effective or less prone to problems than others? Scorching deals I'm not aware of?

Thanks in advance!
You do not need the DDR3L (1.35 V) RAM in a desktop computer. DDR3L needs less power, which is only important in mobile computers. I can recommend this RAM (1.5 V, DDR3):
http://www.kingston.com/us/memory/se...i7&Model=80276

On amazon.com (for example):
http://www.amazon.com/Kingston-1600M.../dp/B0089MTON0

4 x ≈40 US$ = 160 US$ (not bad)
__________________

“Only the dead have seen the end of the war.”
-- Plato --
Mr. Retrofire is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 08:40 PM   #8
eagandale4114
macrumors 6502a
 
eagandale4114's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobright View Post
I'm looking for 16GB ram myself and am very confused there's DDR1 2, 3
DDR3 @1600 hz is what you want. This stuff is great for your new mac. For some reason 32 gig kits aren't being sold so you will need 2 16s if you want to go 32.
__________________
*GUIDE* High resolution Youtube videos and Safari.
Early 2011 MacBook Pro 17" with antiglare & iPhone 4s 32GB Sprint
PS3 & PS Vita
eagandale4114 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 09:45 PM   #9
doobybiggs
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Retrofire View Post

On amazon.com (for example):
http://www.amazon.com/Kingston-1600M.../dp/B0089MTON0

4 x ≈40 US$ = 160 US$ (not bad)
It says MBP ram ... Will it work in the new iMac?
doobybiggs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 09:49 PM   #10
eagandale4114
macrumors 6502a
 
eagandale4114's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by doobybiggs View Post
It says MBP ram ... Will it work in the new iMac?
They use the same type.
__________________
*GUIDE* High resolution Youtube videos and Safari.
Early 2011 MacBook Pro 17" with antiglare & iPhone 4s 32GB Sprint
PS3 & PS Vita
eagandale4114 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 08:51 AM   #11
Hexley
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Do a search on G.Skill's F3-1600C10D-16GSQ. It should say it works on mid-2012 MBPros without Retina Display.

Should be the same case with the 2012 iMac. I am looking to fill my 27-inch with it.

I am transferring the iMac's stock RAM to the 2010 MBPro as it maxs out at 8GB.
Hexley is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 08:55 AM   #12
DDaddyx2
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Indianapolis, IN
I'd go with Crucial. Good price and their RAM selector ensures you are getting the right kind of memory.
DDaddyx2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 09:46 AM   #13
DeafRaiders
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Caotbridge (outside Glasgow, UK)
Our UK Crucial is out of stock! Send some over to us pretty please.
__________________
iPod Nano 1st Gen | iPad 16GB 1st Gen (wifi+3G) | iPhone 5 16GB | iMac Late 2012 (1st iMac) | iPad Mini with Retina Display
DeafRaiders is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 11:06 AM   #14
macfamily
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
I have been using Data Memory System for years. They are based out of Salem NH. They stand behind everything they sell and answer back quickly to any questions. They are online for chat during the daytime. As a bonus they often tend to have very low prices, they always beat OWC. Their RAM has a lifetime warranty.
macfamily is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 11:10 AM   #15
dhokes
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeafRaiders View Post
Our UK Crucial is out of stock! Send some over to us pretty please.
Any idea when they plan to restock?
dhokes is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 11:21 AM   #16
CoreyLahey
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by DDaddyx2 View Post
I'd go with Crucial. Good price and their RAM selector ensures you are getting the right kind of memory.
Do you know whether the Crucial has any advantages over the Corsair or other brands for that matter?
CoreyLahey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 11:56 AM   #17
photoz
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by macfamily View Post
I have been using Data Memory System for years. They are based out of Salem NH. They stand behind everything they sell and answer back quickly to any questions. They are online for chat during the daytime. As a bonus they often tend to have very low prices, they always beat OWC. Their RAM has a lifetime warranty.
Are you kidding me??
Their 16GB set is $134!!

WTF are these people smoking?
photoz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 12:05 PM   #18
Icaras
macrumors 601
 
Icaras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: California, United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by czachorski View Post
Just got 32 GB from Crucial for $160.
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoreyLahey View Post
Think I will do the same, it's an amazing price.
And you can get an additional 5% off Crucial by using this page on their site:

http://www.crucial.com/promo/index.a...3-471622B49BF2

Picked up 16GB myself for $75.99.
__________________
iMac (27-inch, Late 2012) iPad Air iPhone 5 Apple TV (3rd Generation) Airport Time Capsule OS X Mavericks iOS 7 Logic Pro X
Icaras is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 03:26 PM   #19
gorf37
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Retrofire View Post
You do not need the DDR3L (1.35 V) RAM in a desktop computer. DDR3L needs less power, which is only important in mobile computers. I can recommend this RAM (1.5 V, DDR3):
http://www.kingston.com/us/memory/se...i7&Model=80276

On amazon.com (for example):
http://www.amazon.com/Kingston-1600M.../dp/B0089MTON0

4 x ≈40 US$ = 160 US$ (not bad)
Thanks Retrofire,

Would a 0.15V change in operating voltage result in an equivalent reduction in power consumption and heat generation, or is the Wattage the same? Is the difference in heat generation negligible?
gorf37 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 02:39 AM   #20
DeafRaiders
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Caotbridge (outside Glasgow, UK)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dhokes View Post
Any idea when they plan to restock?
Probably after Christmas if you want it before then just do what I did Order 4x8GB for 32GB or 2x8GB for 16GB. It's only a few pennies difference on what you buy on the 16GB bundle
DeafRaiders is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 09:09 PM   #21
kellte2
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820144593

32GB for 109.98 shipped.

Hard to beat that.
kellte2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 09:16 PM   #22
12dylan34
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
I got 32GB of G.Skill RAM, which has good reviews and a lifetime warranty for $98. It's up to $140 now, so I guess it was on sale before.

Here's the link just for fun, then
12dylan34 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 10:04 PM   #23
oaks42
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Is it just me or the price of Crucial RAM just went up?!

It was 79.99 excluding discount yesterday?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen shot 2012-12-07 at AM 11.57.39.png
Views:	77
Size:	87.3 KB
ID:	382059  
oaks42 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2012, 12:56 AM   #24
zemzabob
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by oaks42 View Post
Is it just me or the price of Crucial RAM just went up?!

It was 79.99 excluding discount yesterday?
Yeah it went up I just ordered it, wish I would have did it yesterday.
zemzabob is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2012, 02:55 AM   #25
kidwei
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Amazon seems to have the exact same spec crucial ram here for a few bucks less:

http://www.amazon.com/Crucial-PC3-12...6GX3M2A1600C11

Seems to be the same spec as this one that everyone's been recommending:
http://www.crucial.com/store/mpartsp...0E583EA5CA7304

If you're willing to connect the dots here:
http://forum.crucial.com/t5/Apple-Ma...12/td-p/107430

and here:
http://forum.crucial.com/t5/Apple-Ma...pe/td-p/113742

Does it seem ok to just get this ram from Amazon?

edit: this link seems to explain how crucial just uses different model numbers to track what computers people are buying the ram for.. seems like needless confusion to me

http://forum.crucial.com/t5/Apple-Ma...rs/td-p/105762
kidwei is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:16 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC