Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 4, 2012, 02:10 PM   #1
earthman7
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Long Island
Question 2011 Mac Mini Server Using 16gb PC3-12800 DDR3-1600 Ram?

Hi All... Was looking to boost ram in my 2011 Mac Mini Server from 8 to 16gb.

While the speed of ram that is generally specified for this model is PC3-10600 DDR3 1333 MHz, I spoke to a rep from Crucial, who said that he was surprised to find that PC3-12800 DDR3-1600 ram was listed as being OK for the 2011 Mac Mini Server. (CRT 2K1GB64BS1 Crucial 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3-1600 204-pin SODIMM Memory)

So I ordered the PC3-12800 DDR3-1600, installed it, and it appears to be working just fine.

Ran Geekbench, but only 32 bit, and speeds got a bit better (from 8950 for 8gb to 9013-9031 for 16gb). I didn't do the Cinebench for the 8gb setup, but for the 16gb setup, it came out to 4.44 for the CPU, and 11.54 for the Open GL.

My question is, are there any drawbacks or benefits to using this ram over the PC3-10600 1333? Would it help or hurt my speed to use it? If there's some reason to not use the 1600, I do have another 2012 mini I'm setting up for a colleague, that I could this ram in.

Thanks in advance for your help on this!
earthman7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 02:16 PM   #2
philipma1957
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
does not matter much. as long as it runs it is good. That is the short story. the longer story is not important but maybe some one will chime in.
philipma1957 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 05:17 PM   #3
kobyh15
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
It probably works fine but it's not running at 1600 MHz. It is being down-clocked to 1333. You'd be hard pressed to notice a difference between the 2 though. Someone can chime in if I'm wrong.
kobyh15 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 05:59 PM   #4
philipma1957
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by kobyh15 View Post
It probably works fine but it's not running at 1600 MHz. It is being down-clocked to 1333. You'd be hard pressed to notice a difference between the 2 though. Someone can chime in if I'm wrong.
some does run at 1600 some does not.

kingston plug n play will run at 1600 in a 2011 mac mini. I think a corsair will also run at 1600 in a 2011 mac mini. most others do not. I have a 2011 mac mini with kingston plug n play and last year a lot of us tested this and posted results. the 1600 is a bit better then 1333 . If you run windows bootcamp it is also better.
philipma1957 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 06:23 PM   #5
Mr. Retrofire
macrumors 601
 
Mr. Retrofire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: www.emiliana.cl
Quote:
Originally Posted by earthman7 View Post
...My question is, are there any drawbacks or benefits to using this ram over the PC3-10600 1333?
The integrated GPU is a bit faster with this RAM, and the 1600 MHz RAM needs a bit more power, which is not important in desktop computers.
__________________

“Only the dead have seen the end of the war.”
-- Plato --
Mr. Retrofire is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2012, 06:40 PM   #6
kobyh15
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by philipma1957 View Post
some does run at 1600 some does not.

kingston plug n play will run at 1600 in a 2011 mac mini. I think a corsair will also run at 1600 in a 2011 mac mini. most others do not. I have a 2011 mac mini with kingston plug n play and last year a lot of us tested this and posted results. the 1600 is a bit better then 1333 . If you run windows bootcamp it is also better.
I see! Thanks for the heads-up!
kobyh15 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 04:56 PM   #7
earthman7
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Long Island
Quote:
Originally Posted by philipma1957 View Post
some does run at 1600 some does not.

kingston plug n play will run at 1600 in a 2011 mac mini. I think a corsair will also run at 1600 in a 2011 mac mini. most others do not. I have a 2011 mac mini with kingston plug n play and last year a lot of us tested this and posted results. the 1600 is a bit better then 1333. If you run windows bootcamp it is also better.
Thanks for the responses. Interesting... so how would I know if the Crucial runs at 1600? Is that just by looking at the about this computer and memory tab? If so, that says that the computer contains 2 memory slots, each of which accepts a 1600 MHz DDR3 memory module.

So I've been reading through any old posts on this I could find, attempting to get fully informed on this issue. I ran the memory test, Rember, and it said it was running 100% OK. So is that indicative that it's running at 1600?
earthman7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 06:16 PM   #8
philipma1957
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by earthman7 View Post
Thanks for the responses. Interesting... so how would I know if the Crucial runs at 1600? Is that just by looking at the about this computer and memory tab? If so, that says that the computer contains 2 memory slots, each of which accepts a 1600 MHz DDR3 memory module.

So I've been reading through any old posts on this I could find, attempting to get fully informed on this issue. I ran the memory test, Rember, and it said it was running 100% OK. So is that indicative that it's running at 1600?
it is a bit more complicated. the best way is to download memtest86+

http://www.memtest.org/


burn a cd and boot directly into it

you get a blue screen . this test was from a quad 2012 mini with 16gb crucial ram




it reads half what you run at. my crucial reads at 798 which is 1596. this tests runs all the ram rember runs around 13 gb out of 16gb. remeber ram test is based on memtest.


I think geekbench also shows the real speed. I will run a test. here is a piece of a geek bench on a core 2 2012 mini with 8gb 1600 ram.


if you were to run the same mini with 2x 4g sticks of 1333 ram the geekbench scores would change. this tests will show differences but in real world 8gb of 1333 ram or 8gb of 1600 ram in a 2012 mac mini would be very hard to know a speed difference.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2308.JPG
Views:	55
Size:	1.72 MB
ID:	381781   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2012-12-05 at 7.21.46 PM.png
Views:	70
Size:	916.6 KB
ID:	381785  

Last edited by philipma1957; Dec 5, 2012 at 06:25 PM.
philipma1957 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 07:56 PM   #9
calvol
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Interesting about Kingston RAM running at 1600Mhz. There's another thread where someone claims to have 1833 MHz Kingston RAM running on a 2011. I stayed with Crucial 1.35v 1333, and seems to run fine.

BTW, I have a 2011 i5 2.5 16GB Mini with the Radeon 6630M and it's Cinebench GL is 23.75. Shows what a good GPU it is compared to the HD3000. It even beat the 2012 2.6 Mini/HD4000 I returned that had a GL score of 23.25. However, my Cinebench CPU score is only about 2.6.
calvol is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 01:26 AM   #10
earthman7
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Long Island
Quote:
Originally Posted by philipma1957 View Post
it is a bit more complicated. the best way is to download memtest86+

http://www.memtest.org/


burn a cd and boot directly into it
Well I've spent a few hours trying to figure all this out, including just how to make a bootable usb stick or cd from the memtest86 that I downloaded. I've come up empty handed though! Is there an easy way to do this? (My technical experience with all this is obviously a bit insufficient!)

Your geekbench scores are so wildly different than mine. I see you have a different year, different processor and 1/2 the ram. Does it make sense that your memory scores are so much higher than mine, considering that I have twice the ram? (Or are all the differences related to the fact that I used the 32 bit geekbench?)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Geekbench Results.jpg
Views:	97
Size:	91.3 KB
ID:	381868  
earthman7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 03:11 AM   #11
PaulKemp
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Norway
In regards to the boot issues, i remember I did this from my windows partition. But thats not necessary i think, look at rEFIt, it will let you boot from a usb stick I THINK ´. Look into it before trying.

You get about 500 higher score than me with my mini I7 2.0 GHz, but mine just got 4 gb ram at the moment.
__________________
iMac i7 3.4 GHz, 24 GB Ram, 256 SSD | MBA 2011 i5 1.7 GHz, 4 GB Ram | Mini i7 2.0 GHz, 4 GB Ram, RAID 0 | iPad 2 16 GB | iPhone 5 16 GB | ATV 3
Remember to quote orignal post.
PaulKemp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 07:19 AM   #12
philipma1957
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by earthman7 View Post
Well I've spent a few hours trying to figure all this out, including just how to make a bootable usb stick or cd from the memtest86 that I downloaded. I've come up empty handed though! Is there an easy way to do this? (My technical experience with all this is obviously a bit insufficient!)

Your geekbench scores are so wildly different than mine. I see you have a different year, different processor and 1/2 the ram. Does it make sense that your memory scores are so much higher than mine, considering that I have twice the ram? (Or are all the differences related to the fact that I used the 32 bit geekbench?)
32 bit makes a big difference. Downloading and burning the cd was really hard. but if you have done it it will show up like this.

the mt410 is it. I have a macbookair cd player and all I need do is pick the mt410 as a boot option. it then boots into the blue screen.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2012-12-06 at 8.18.06 AM.png
Views:	38
Size:	1.20 MB
ID:	381900  
philipma1957 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2012, 02:21 AM   #13
earthman7
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Long Island
Quote:
Originally Posted by philipma1957 View Post
32 bit makes a big difference. Downloading and burning the cd was really hard. but if you have done it it will show up like this.

the mt410 is it. I have a macbookair cd player and all I need do is pick the mt410 as a boot option. it then boots into the blue screen.
Yeah, "hard" is what I found too. I'll try again when I get some time before I have to choose whether to install this ram in my 2011 or in my friend's 2012. You'd think it would be a piece of cake to create a bootable disc from a disc image... I know I've done that several times in the past!

Thanks and a great night to you!
earthman7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2012, 03:17 AM   #14
Edde1
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by philipma1957 View Post
32 bit makes a big difference. Downloading and burning the cd was really hard. but if you have done it it will show up like this.

the mt410 is it. I have a macbookair cd player and all I need do is pick the mt410 as a boot option. it then boots into the blue screen.

How do you get that temp and cpu info on the top of screen?
Edde1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2012, 11:34 AM   #15
philipma1957
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edde1 View Post
How do you get that temp and cpu info on the top of screen?
istat
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen shot 2012-12-07 at 12.36.11 PM.png
Views:	46
Size:	360.4 KB
ID:	382149  
philipma1957 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2012, 02:16 PM   #16
Edde1
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by philipma1957 View Post
istat
Thanks
Edde1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2012, 03:06 PM   #17
philipma1957
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
you are welcome i am sticking with version 3 as i paid for it. i may go to version 4 soon
philipma1957 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I use PC3-10600 RAM instead of PC3-12800 for my iMac? Sanchez25 iMac 10 May 10, 2014 08:01 AM
upgraded early 17" 2011 MBP w 16GB 1600 DDR3 and 840 Pro SSD: 10250 32bit Geekbench underblu MacBook Pro 3 Jun 15, 2013 10:41 PM
RAM purchase for 2012 Mac Mini, PC3 12800 vs PC3 10600, Does it matter? MrXiro Mac mini 9 Nov 10, 2012 01:12 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC