Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 31, 2012, 06:40 PM   #1
LeicaM8
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: West Michigan
USB 3.0 Cards - HUB Problem

Hello,
I have a 5.1 MacPro running Mountain Lion. I have a Generic USB 3.0 Card that's been working fine for couple of weeks now :-D.
My Problem is: Girlfriend got me a DLink USB 3.0 HUB for Christmas and It's not working right when used with the card. Even though System Info app sees the hub connected to my card nothing plugged into the hub is seen. BTW: System Info sees it as a USB 2.0 Hub. The hub works correctly when plugged into one of the built in usb ports, but of course only at USB 2.0 speed.
I've tested swapping cables to the hub, but bupkis. I tried two different Hard Drives (usb 3.0) and a usb 2.0 CD Housing and all are unavailable plugged into the hub, but work fine plugged into the card itself or if hub is plugged into one of my builtin usb 2.0 ports.

Any info or suggestions would be most welcome.

Thx
Richard in Michigan
LeicaM8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 06:56 AM   #2
TonyK
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2009
Generic USB 3 card? What does system profile say about the card. Some of my readings about USB 3 cards indicate they do not support USB hubs and that could be the case here.
TonyK is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 1, 2013, 09:00 AM   #3
LeicaM8
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: West Michigan
Quote:
Originally Posted by TonyK View Post
Generic USB 3 card? What does system profile say about the card. Some of my readings about USB 3 cards indicate they do not support USB hubs and that could be the case here.
Hi, it's a card I bought 12months ago on flea-bay from a southern china vendor. The original 'lacie driver' he sent wouldnt work under ML so I used the software I found via this forum. (Thank You MacPro Forum.)

Not being able to use a Hub would really suck.
a) I've got limited mobility -and- b) I tore my rotator cuff in PT
I can't be horsing tower around now, at least not routinely.

I just assumed a hub would work because, well it's usb and hubs work under usb.
Bummer
RW
LeicaM8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2013, 05:47 PM   #4
TonyK
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2009
The posts and threads I read, even started one, about USB 3 controllers made me re-think getting one and instead I grabbed a internal USB 2 controller which works great. Don't have the speed but it works with my hubs.
TonyK is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2013, 06:19 PM   #5
ActionableMango
macrumors 68040
 
ActionableMango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeicaM8 View Post
Any info or suggestions would be most welcome.
Does your card have a MOLEX power connector on it? And if so, did you connect power?
ActionableMango is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 07:40 PM   #6
LeicaM8
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: West Michigan
Quote:
Originally Posted by ActionableMango View Post
Does your card have a MOLEX power connector on it? And if so, did you connect power?
A Good question. I did not see a power connector while I was handling the card, but will give it another look n see tomorrow.
I received essentially no paperwork with the card. Just a 3" CD with windows drivers and a link to download drivers from Lacie.
FWIW The card does send out enough juice to run a bus powered hard drive with zero issues.
Thx-Richard in Michigan
LeicaM8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 07:54 PM   #7
ActionableMango
macrumors 68040
 
ActionableMango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
I've never seen a USB 3.0 PCIe card without an extra power connector.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LeicaM8 View Post
FWIW The card does send out enough juice to run a bus powered hard drive with zero issues.
My USB 3.0 card (not a Lacie) wouldn't work without the extra power lead connected, even with no drives attached at all.

I suppose I'm theorizing that your card has enough to power a drive but the HUB is demanding too much.
ActionableMango is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2013, 08:32 PM   #8
LeicaM8
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: West Michigan
It WAS a powered hub so it ought not to have been sucking more juice than a running hard.
Going to get an extension or longer USB 3.0 cable until I can get a Hub sorted out.
R in Mi
Quote:
Originally Posted by ActionableMango View Post
I've never seen a USB 3.0 PCIe card without an extra power connector.



My USB 3.0 card (not a Lacie) wouldn't work without the extra power lead connected, even with no drives attached at all.

I suppose I'm theorizing that your card has enough to power a drive but the HUB is demanding too much.
LeicaM8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2013, 08:44 AM   #9
TonyK
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2009
Even my USB 2 PCIe card has a power port/slot on it. Not connected and works great with a 3TB drive and 2 hubs connected. Wish it were USB 3 but after much searching and even a thread I started I decided to play it safer.
TonyK is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
USB 2 hub or USB 3 HUB for charging? MiniD3 Mac Peripherals 7 Nov 28, 2013 09:12 AM
Dell Monitor USB Hub (USB 1.1) DanTesla1 Mac Peripherals 2 Sep 30, 2013 09:58 PM
Problem with usb hub on iMac 24" wildkiddo Mac Peripherals 1 Aug 20, 2013 01:41 PM
Problem with Air & USB 3.0 hub zlayde MacBook Air 6 Jan 5, 2013 03:44 PM
USB Hub Problem broadcast MacBook Pro 7 Jul 23, 2012 06:57 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:24 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC