Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Buying Tips and Advice

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 5, 2012, 11:05 AM   #1
Hexley
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Why are Macs so picky with RAM?

Why are Intel Macs so picky with RAM? I remember back in the PPC days PC ram will work on a Mac even if it is not certified to work on a Mac.

Today, it's hit or miss with non-certified RAM modules.

I always thought Macs wholly ran on commodity PC hardware.
Hexley is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 11:15 AM   #2
xekret
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
I upgraded my 2011 iMac with PNY mac certified ram and it would just have problems. I switched to crucial and everything works great. Not sure if the PNY was faulty but it was frustrating having to change the RAM all those times.
__________________
13" MacBook Late 2009 256GB Samsung 840 SSD
15" Macbook Pro With Retina Display 2.3 GHz 8 GB RAM, 256 GB SSD
iPhone 5S 32gb Space Gray.
xekret is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 11:33 AM   #3
bliggs
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Broken Arrow, USA
I've used Crucial in the past as well with great results. I have also used RAMJet but they are quite a bit more expensive. They do specialize in RAM for MAC's and guarantee it to work or your money back.
bliggs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 11:37 AM   #4
gnasher729
macrumors G5
 
gnasher729's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hexley View Post
Why are Intel Macs so picky with RAM? I remember back in the PPC days PC ram will work on a Mac even if it is not certified to work on a Mac.

Today, it's hit or miss with non-certified RAM modules.

I always thought Macs wholly ran on commodity PC hardware.
You can use any good quality RAM modules that meet the spec of that particular Macintosh. If you buy from a place that sells rubbish, then don't expect it to work. If you buy RAM that doesn't meet the specs of your Mac, then don't expect it to work.

If you buy from one of many reliable sellers, and make sure that you buy the right RAM, you'll be fine. You can save lots of money by buying from a reliable seller instead of buying from Apple directly (or from Dell, HP etc. directly, it's the same principle). That's what I do, and never had problems. You can save a tiny little more by buying from unreliable sellers who sell unreliable memory. Not worth it.
gnasher729 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 11:49 AM   #5
CanadaRAM
macrumors G5
 
CanadaRAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hexley View Post
Why are Intel Macs so picky with RAM? I remember back in the PPC days PC ram will work on a Mac even if it is not certified to work on a Mac.
Today, it's hit or miss with non-certified RAM modules.
I always thought Macs wholly ran on commodity PC hardware.
On the contrary, some of the PowerPC Macs were extraordinarily difficult with generic RAM. There was a whole range of PowerBook G4s that used processor-slewing in Sleep mode, and wreaked havoc with standard DDR333 RAM modules.

The issue, as usual with Apple, is that when they publish a spec, the firmware checks the RAM very closely to the spec. So if a generic RAM assembler has cut corners and failed to write all of the expected configuration data to the module's SPD values, then the Mac will fail it. How do you know if corners have been cut? You don't other than buying RAM from a reputable supplier who guarantees compatibility.
__________________
Expert
Ex = former, no longer. Spurt = a leak, esp. when caused by water pressure. Expert = a has-been drip under pressure.
CanadaRAM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 01:16 PM   #6
Mac_Max
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
My experience has been that Intel Macs pretty much work with any memory. The only times I've seen problems is when a memory producer has a bad batch (which consistently errors in memtest86) or makes low quality parts in general.
Mac_Max is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 10:28 PM   #7
toxic
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
only Mac Pros are picky, everything else will take any RAM of the correct type. "Mac memory" is just normal memory with a price hike.
toxic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2012, 11:03 PM   #8
phoenixsan
macrumors 65816
 
phoenixsan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
In my experience.....

iMacs are the most picky. Second are the minis....No too much trouble with Macbooks and Pros though....


__________________
Mac Pro 2012 3.06 Westmere version, 12 Core 64 GB RAM, 4 TB , iPhone 5 (black), Moto G 8 GB (black)
phoenixsan is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Buying Tips and Advice

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Am I Being Too Picky With my iPhone? Radiating iPhone 34 Feb 14, 2014 11:41 AM
Iphone 5s - is the mic that picky? treehorn iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 2 Nov 25, 2013 09:16 AM
Being too picky? Hichisky iPhone 6 Feb 2, 2013 06:30 PM
Best RAM brand for Macs? kingc0bra MacBook Pro 18 Nov 28, 2012 02:43 PM
Seems like I'm being picky but... dominicdiep MacBook Air 7 Aug 1, 2012 10:52 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:50 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC