Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Old Dec 6, 2012, 08:53 AM   #1
Mark Morb
macrumors regular

UK Education Discount - in store?

Hi,

I'm probably going to bite the bullet and get a new 27" iMac with the following spec:

•3.2GHz Quad-core Intel Core i5, Turbo Boost up to 3.6GHz
•8GB 1600MHz DDR3 SDRAM - 2x4GB
•1TB Fusion Drive
•NVIDIA GeForce GTX 675MX 1GB GDDR5
•Apple Magic Mouse
•Apple Wireless Keyboard (British) & User's Guide (English)
•Accessory Kit

£1899

I'm studying with the Open University which means I've been able to get my previous iMac (2010 model) and iPad with educational discounts by ringing the education store.
I have recently started working for a new company who will not allow personal items to be delivered so I was wondering if you can claim the education discount in person at an Apple store?

...which leads me to my next couple of quick questions, are these available in store yet or just mail order at the moment? and what is the current going rate for University student discount, how much less than £1899 is it likely to be.

Thanks a lot,
Mark
Old Dec 6, 2012, 08:57 AM   #2
Muzz112
macrumors member

The model you've specified won't be available in store, only online or over the phone. It'll only be the base model that will be available in store, and fusion drive is BTO only. The current rate for Student discount is around 10%. That will drop around £200

Just get it delivered to your home address?

James
Old Dec 6, 2012, 09:01 AM   #3
dhokes
macrumors regular

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Morb View Post
Hi,

I'm probably going to bite the bullet and get a new 27" iMac with the following spec:

•3.2GHz Quad-core Intel Core i5, Turbo Boost up to 3.6GHz
•8GB 1600MHz DDR3 SDRAM - 2x4GB
•1TB Fusion Drive
•NVIDIA GeForce GTX 675MX 1GB GDDR5
•Apple Magic Mouse
•Apple Wireless Keyboard (British) & User's Guide (English)
•Accessory Kit

£1899