Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 6, 2012, 02:16 PM   #1
seedzeng
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Mac air for parallel

Hi there,

I am getting a mac air 13inch..........Will 128gb enough for parrelel a windows 8 system??? I will only microsoft office(2011) in windows...................

and i will only use my mac for word editing( store all videos in a sd card. only store photos from i cloud on mac).......



HELP!
seedzeng is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 02:23 PM   #2
zen
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
I've been using Parallels 8 with Windows 7 on my 11" Macbook Air (1.6 GHz i5, 4GB RAM, 128GB SSD) for a couple of weeks now, and it works just fine. I use it for Office only, as the Mac version is a buggy, crashy pile of crap.

It's a little slower than a native PC, and you'll want to play around with the Parallels settings to assign the right amount of memory and CPU to Windows, but you should be good. I run mine in Convergence mode most of the time.

Parallels and Windows 7 took about 30GB of hard drive space, I think - 731 for Parallels and 28.63GB for the Windows virtual machine.

However I don't think Parallels 8 supports Windows 8 yet.
zen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 02:24 PM   #3
blevins321
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Winnipeg MB
Yeah 128 would be fine for your needs. You're looking at 15-25 GB for a fully updated office install and windows install. Set aside 60 just to be safe in care you do other programs later.
__________________
Late 2013 15" Retina MBP; iPhone 5S; iPad Air
blevins321 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 02:36 PM   #4
seedzeng
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
deos support

Quote:
Originally Posted by zen View Post
I've been using Parallels 8 with Windows 7 on my 11" Macbook Air (1.6 GHz i5, 4GB RAM, 128GB SSD) for a couple of weeks now, and it works just fine. I use it for Office only, as the Mac version is a buggy, crashy pile of crap.

It's a little slower than a native PC, and you'll want to play around with the Parallels settings to assign the right amount of memory and CPU to Windows, but you should be good. I run mine in Convergence mode most of the time.

Parallels and Windows 7 took about 30GB of hard drive space, I think - 731 for Parallels and 28.63GB for the Windows virtual machine.

However I don't think Parallels 8 supports Windows 8 yet.
It actually does..........

what do you mean by "convergence mode"?
SO you assigned 30gb to windows and office together??

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by blevins321 View Post
Yeah 128 would be fine for your needs. You're looking at 15-25 GB for a fully updated office install and windows install. Set aside 60 just to be safe in care you do other programs later.
How much space does a 128gb mac really offer after mac os?
seedzeng is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 02:45 PM   #5
zen
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Convergence is when Parallels lets you run Windows apps invisibly in OS X - you don't know Windows is running, except for the Windows apps retain their Windows appearance, title bars, etc. I have Word, Excel and Powerpoint sitting in my Dock just like they're Mac apps.

I didn't assign anything - I ran Parallels, installed Windows, installed Office. I knew it would take around 30GB so I just made sure I had that much free space.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by seedzeng View Post
How much space does a 128gb mac really offer after mac os?
Well... my system folder is 5.56GB, my library folder is 3.93GB, my applications folder is 30.08GB (21GB of that is World of Warcraft). My users folder is at 66GB but I've got a bunch of videos in there. I have three external drives for bulk storage, though.
zen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 03:17 PM   #6
2IS
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
I have a 128GB air running Mountain Lion and Windows 7. It works, but honestly, it's a bit tight, and I'm sure I'm missing out on a good bit of SSD performance by having so little free space left. I'm on a 2010 so due for an upgrade, just need to stretch it out until the Haswell models come out, then I'll be going with 512GB.
2IS is online now   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 03:27 PM   #7
thasan
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: uk
Quote:
Originally Posted by zen View Post
I've been using Parallels 8 with Windows 7 on my 11" Macbook Air (1.6 GHz i5, 4GB RAM, 128GB SSD) for a couple of weeks now, and it works just fine. I use it for Office only, as the Mac version is a buggy, crashy pile of crap.

It's a little slower than a native PC, and you'll want to play around with the Parallels settings to assign the right amount of memory and CPU to Windows, but you should be good. I run mine in Convergence mode most of the time.

Parallels and Windows 7 took about 30GB of hard drive space, I think - 731 for Parallels and 28.63GB for the Windows virtual machine.

However I don't think Parallels 8 supports Windows 8 yet.
Yep it supports well...but win8 is (to me) is crashy pile of c****
thasan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 03:45 PM   #8
2IS
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by thasan View Post
Yep it supports well...but win8 is (to me) is crashy pile of c****
Sounds like it doesn't support it all that well. I'm not a fan of Windows 8 (much prefer 7) but I've installed it on a few machines and it's been rock solid. I only wish I didn't hate the interface so much.
2IS is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 04:32 PM   #9
Beanoir
macrumors 6502a
 
Beanoir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: 51 degrees North
Sure works fine for me, i've got plenty of space left too to be honest. Depends how much space you need really, but if you're not a HD monster and use external drives/cloud/BTMM etc then the OS and Parallels don't take up that much space.
__________________
iPhone5 32Gb-iPad Mini 64Gb
iMac 27" 3.2Ghz i3 / 16Gb / 1Tb
MacMini 2.33GHz / 128Gb SSD / 20" ACD
Macbook Air 11.6" 1.6Ghz i5 / 4Gb / 128Gb
Beanoir is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2012, 09:59 PM   #10
Isamilis
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
You could try Windows 7 "Lite". It took me 5GB total including Office 2007 installed. Very small footprint compared to the complete version.
Isamilis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 03:03 AM   #11
thasan
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: uk
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2IS View Post
Sounds like it doesn't support it all that well. I'm not a fan of Windows 8 (much prefer 7) but I've installed it on a few machines and it's been rock solid. I only wish I didn't hate the interface so much.
sorry if i mislead. it works fine. never crashed. but the interface...i just couldnt get used to it even though i tried with an open mind. for me, its just more clicks to get the same things done. not my way. thats why the piece of c comment...
thasan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 04:41 AM   #12
arnamak
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
I was just messing with Parallel on my 2012 13" 1.8GHz 128GB.
I put Windows 8 on there, runs fine.
What's shocking is I ran Arkham Asylum near flawlessly through steam, through Windows 8, through Parallel. At a resolution of 1920x1080. I was pretty shocked.
So yeah, you'll be fine to run what you want to run.
arnamak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 04:49 AM   #13
m00min
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
I ran Parallels with Windows 7 on an MBP with a 128gb drive. Yes, it's doable but I felt like I was firefighting to keep a reasonable amount of space free for other things. This time round I got an Air with 256gb drive, it's a much better fit. If you can stretch to the larger drive I would recommend it.
__________________
Obligatory dick waving: 2012 i7/8GB/256SSD MBA; 2010 i7/8GB/256SSD MBP; 2006 Mac Mini; iPhone 4S; iPad 3
m00min is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 11:33 AM   #14
krravi
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
I run virtualbox(www.virtualbox.org) from Oracle and its free.

I run Windows 7 and 8, Linux, Win Servers etc with no issues except for attaching USB devices which is buggy. I just attach it to the host OS and then share it with the guest for now.

Regarding MBA, I have 8 GB RAM but with a dual core CPU I can only give the VM two cores so I went Bootcamp as I run some intensive tasks in my MBA (SQL Server, VS etc).

But for light office work it should work fine.

Think about it, few years ago all we had was dual core CPU's in laptops and people still worked with it.

Update :
After seeing as how my virtual machine was very zippy and fast(probably the SSD), I deleted my bootcamp partition to get back the space and I think I can make it with the virtual machines on my MBA.
__________________
Lots of Apple,Sony and other gadgets.

Last edited by krravi; Dec 11, 2012 at 09:56 PM.
krravi is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Parallel or bootcamp gaming on 13 inch MacBook Air coolaaron88 MacBook Air 4 Jul 1, 2013 01:34 PM
parallel 8 anos OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 4 Jan 2, 2013 01:33 PM
10.6 parallel to 10.8 - able to go back? docdoomi OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Aug 11, 2012 09:53 AM
parallel 7 and ML j1huynh OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 5 Jun 13, 2012 10:21 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:35 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC