Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 13, 2014, 06:45 AM   #1
matrix07
macrumors 68000
 
matrix07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Can XLD transcode APE to M4A?

I ask because I did it on one album and all I got (in iTunes) is static noise. (every songs)

The files look alright.


And the app looks good too.


Never have this problem on Windows before. The Chinese shouldn't be a problem, should it? (I'm not Chinese btw)
__________________
13" Macbook Air 2011, iPad 2 16 GB., iPad mini 16 GB., iPhone 4 16 GB.
matrix07 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2014, 09:00 AM   #2
Neskeens
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
I have converted many 'ape' files and haven't yet encountered any problems. Do the 'ape' files play in VLC?
Neskeens is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2014, 09:07 AM   #3
matrix07
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
matrix07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neskeens View Post
I have converted many 'ape' files and haven't yet encountered any problems. Do the 'ape' files play in VLC?
Wow! Good question. It indeed plays, beautifully.

(And FLACs were converted alright)
__________________
13" Macbook Air 2011, iPad 2 16 GB., iPad mini 16 GB., iPhone 4 16 GB.

Last edited by matrix07; Aug 13, 2014 at 09:17 AM.
matrix07 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 13, 2014, 09:56 AM   #4
matrix07
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
matrix07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Well, I just transcoded another album. This time it's FLAC and I got static.
Looks like something happened to XLD out of the blue. If I just trash the app, it will be a clean uninstall?
__________________
13" Macbook Air 2011, iPad 2 16 GB., iPad mini 16 GB., iPhone 4 16 GB.
matrix07 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2014, 12:15 PM   #5
coops
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Think i remember something about this static issue before - can't remember the full thing but it may have been a problem with converting one large flac or whatever file nyou need the cue file to split it properly into it's tracks?

Sorry can't help more, but it is almost certainly not an xld issue on your pc etc...

----------

Googled 'xld flac transcode static cue' and got this :

IMPORTANT NOTE : To split ape(flac,wav,etc) + cue files, open the .cue file from "Open..." in File menu. "Open Raw PCM (bin/cue)" can be only used to handle Raw PCM (header-less wav) files.

Here
http://www.hydrogenaud.io/forums//lo...20/t84573.html
coops is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4th Gen APE extending from a 6th Gen APE Apple Fan 21 Mac Peripherals 3 Dec 27, 2013 03:50 AM
Help with transcode avemestr Digital Video 8 Nov 11, 2012 11:02 AM
XLD problem sofasurfer Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Oct 15, 2012 07:37 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:39 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC