Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Community Discussion

Old Dec 7, 2012, 06:32 PM   #1
Java Overlord
macrumors newbie

Graphic Design Major - How skilled do I need to be?

I'm a high school student right now. I'm definitely going to major in Computer Science, I'm taking the AP right now and it makes so much sense to me, it's fun! However, I'm also very interested in graphic design. I've done very basic stuff with photoshop following online tutorials, but it looks really cool and I'd be interested in learning how to do the professional stuff. My difficulty arrises in the fact that I am not very skilled with drawing things by hand, like I have difficulty keeping a straight line and stuff. Obviously this primitive photoshop stuff I did is nowhere near the difficulty of the "read deal", but I found that it just felt so much different working with a computer compared to an actual pen and paper. Is it possible for me to excel in Graphic Design well enough to dual-major with it? And if I did, would it give me an edge in the job market, or would it be a useless dual major?
Java Overlord is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2012, 06:40 PM   #2
Zombie Acorn
macrumors 65816

Quote:
Originally Posted by Java Overlord View Post