Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 7, 2012, 08:20 PM   #1
SendMoney
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Marietta GA
non-Apple SSD in current Apple refurb MacPro?

Can anyone please confirm if non-Apple SSD will work in the $1819 refurbished Mac Pro currently sold on the Apple website? It's the 2.8GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon MC560LL/A. I was on the phone with Crucial earlier and they said their SSDs would not work in that machine, which I thought was odd. I've read lots of posts on thie forum about cloning the OS/apps/etc over to an SSD, but is there something odd about what is currently being sold by Apple?
SendMoney is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2012, 08:21 PM   #2
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by SendMoney View Post
Can anyone please confirm if non-Apple SSD will work in the $1819 refurbished Mac Pro currently sold on the Apple website?
There's no such thing as an Apple SSD. Apple doesn't make SSDs. Any SSD will work, as long as it fits and connects.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2012, 08:26 PM   #3
Jake0604
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Vulcan
Any sata ssd will work
__________________
2010 Mac Pro, Quad-Core, 16GB RAM, GTX 680
Jake0604 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2012, 08:28 PM   #4
SendMoney
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Marietta GA
Sorry if I was unclear. I'm gonna buy an Intel 520 or Crucial m4 (not Apple SSD) and put it in the Mac Pro's HDD or optical bay. I just thought that what Crucial told me was very odd.
SendMoney is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2012, 08:28 PM   #5
monkeybagel
macrumors 6502a
 
monkeybagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United States
Not sure why they would say that unless
a) the don't ship a 2.5 to 3.5 adapter with the SSD, which would be required to place it in the Mac Pro hard disk tray

b) OS X will not enable TRIM unless you have a genuine Apple SSD in there, and they think this will affect long-term performance. I highly doubt this is the case, however since other manufacturers list their drives as "Mac compatible."
monkeybagel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2012, 08:30 PM   #6
SendMoney
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Marietta GA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jake0604 View Post
Any sata ssd will work
Looks like you have the MC560LL/A. Do you add an SSD?
SendMoney is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2012, 08:31 PM   #7
ClassObject
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGJstudios View Post
There's no such thing as an Apple SSD. Apple doesn't make SSDs. Any SSD will work, as long as it fits and connects.
There are apple ssds
ClassObject is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2012, 08:34 PM   #8
Jake0604
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Vulcan
Quote:
Originally Posted by SendMoney View Post
Looks like you have the MC560LL/A. Do you add an SSD?
I did buy the same refurb model listed in the op, and while I haven't added an ssd yet i do plan on it soon. Any SATA ssd should work, you just need a 2.5" to 3.5" adapter if you want it to fit in one of the hard drive bays.
__________________
2010 Mac Pro, Quad-Core, 16GB RAM, GTX 680
Jake0604 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2012, 08:36 PM   #9
SendMoney
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Marietta GA
Quote:
Originally Posted by monkeybagel View Post
Not sure why they would say that unless
a) the don't ship a 2.5 to 3.5 adapter with the SSD, which would be required to place it in the Mac Pro hard disk tray

b) OS X will not enable TRIM unless you have a genuine Apple SSD in there, and they think this will affect long-term performance. I highly doubt this is the case, however since other manufacturers list their drives as "Mac compatible."
From doing lots of reading on this forum, I think I understand the TRIM issue, the use of an IcyDock (or equivalent) if installed in a HDD bay, the use of Carbon Copy Cloner (or equivalent) to do the transfer.

I was just really thown for a loop by Crucial's comments.
SendMoney is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2012, 08:39 PM   #10
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by ClassObject View Post
There are apple ssds
Apple may stick their label on them, but I've never heard of any SSD manufactured by Apple. I'd be very interested to know if you have additional information to prove otherwise.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2012, 08:42 PM   #11
monkeybagel
macrumors 6502a
 
monkeybagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: United States
Quote:
Originally Posted by GGJstudios View Post
Apple may stick their label on them, but I've never heard of any SSD manufactured by Apple. I'd be very interested to know if you have additional information to prove otherwise.
The place their firmware on all Apple OEM drives and they appear as Apple SSD in disk utility. When OS X sees this, it enables TRIM.

They are outsourced to other manufacturers, just like their computers, and they place their firmware and logo on them.
monkeybagel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2012, 08:44 PM   #12
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by monkeybagel View Post
The place their firmware on all Apple OEM drives and they appear as Apple SSD in disk utility. When OS X sees this, it enables TRIM.

They are outsourced to other manufacturers, just like their computers, and they place their firmware and logo on them.
That's exactly what I thought. Thanks.
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2012, 08:58 PM   #13
ClassObject
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by monkeybagel View Post
The place their firmware on all Apple OEM drives and they appear as Apple SSD in disk utility. When OS X sees this, it enables TRIM.

They are outsourced to other manufacturers, just like their computers, and they place their firmware and logo on them.
Ding ding! We have a winner!!!
ClassObject is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple Retail Stores Pushing Sales of Current Apple TV with $25 iTunes Gift Card Offer MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 92 Mar 4, 2014 09:59 PM
Commemorative Posters at Apple Campus List All Former and Current Apple Employees MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 113 Feb 28, 2014 02:00 PM
Apple wants me to trade in my macpro 6-core 2010 for a quad new macpro? compute Mac Pro 25 Dec 22, 2013 06:53 AM
Apple Displays in the Apple Refurb UK store? simonb76 Mac Peripherals 0 Mar 28, 2013 12:14 PM
(Apple Refurb Store)Did any one ever recieved a 256GB SSD when order Air with 128GB? ansabakhan MacBook Air 3 Dec 27, 2012 07:14 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:03 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC