Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 8, 2012, 05:26 PM   #1
kiddk1
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Need help no Apple TV remote

Hello,
I just purchased an apple tv 2nd gen off of ebay with no remote, is there anyway to access it with my iphone, I have installed the app remote but cannot get access. thanks
kiddk1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2012, 05:30 PM   #2
From A Buick 8
macrumors 68020
 
From A Buick 8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ky Close to CinCinnati
Quote:
Originally Posted by kiddk1 View Post
Hello,
I just purchased an apple tv 2nd gen off of ebay with no remote, is there anyway to access it with my iphone, I have installed the app remote but cannot get access. thanks
If your on the same network the remote app should work. The apple tv can also learn pretty much any remote but you need a remote to make your way to that part of the settings.
__________________
Homemade Interocitor, iPad 4iPhone 5 32GB Black & Slate, iPod Touch 4th and 5th Gen, iPad 1st gen, iPhone 4, Two Apple TV's, -- 21.5-inch: 3.2GHz Intel Core i3 iMac.
From A Buick 8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2012, 06:03 PM   #3
kiddk1
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by From A Buick 8 View Post
If your on the same network the remote app should work. The apple tv can also learn pretty much any remote but you need a remote to make your way to that part of the settings.
I am on the same network, when i open the app on my iphone, nothing shows up
kiddk1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2012, 06:07 PM   #4
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Great Lakes State
I'm thinking you will need a physical remote to turn it on and navigate to the Home Sharing option to log in so that you can get the Remote.app on the iPhone to "see" it and use it.
__________________
Magnificent Seventh
SandboxGeneral is online now   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2012, 06:23 PM   #5
kiddk1
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by SandboxGeneral View Post
I'm thinking you will need a physical remote to turn it on and navigate to the Home Sharing option to log in so that you can get the Remote.app on the iPhone to "see" it and use it.
I think you may be correct
kiddk1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2012, 06:25 PM   #6
Tec972
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
How would you get the ATV on your network without being able to control it and telling it what network to connect to. Your iphone remote app wouldn't be able to connect to the ATV because you haven't been able to get into the ATV settings. Am I wrong?
__________________
Mid 2010 Core i7 iMac | Core i7 Intel PC | iPhone 5 | A few iPods
Tec972 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2012, 06:42 PM   #7
DefBref
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Buy one: http://store.apple.com/us/product/MC...A/apple-remote
DefBref is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2012, 06:43 PM   #8
KylePowers
macrumors 68000
 
KylePowers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Or borrow one.
KylePowers is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2012, 07:15 PM   #9
kiddk1
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by DefBref View Post
that is what I was trying not to do, but I just ordered one at best buy, looks like I had a $5 reward certificate set to expire today.
kiddk1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2012, 08:06 PM   #10
Carlanga
macrumors 601
 
Carlanga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: PR
unfortunately you need one for first set up, you can pick a logitech universal remote instead though and get better control of your stuff.
__________________
☻ "A dream you dream alone is only a dream...
... A dream you dream together is reality." ☻
Carlanga is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2012, 09:15 PM   #11
hsuthard
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
If you have a remote from an apple computer, they work as well in a pinch. Doesn't have to be the shiny silver one for the Apple TV.
hsuthard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2012, 03:37 AM   #12
Layton10
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
I am so much interested about Apple TV. Also I want to buy it as soon as possible because this is great ultra modern technology. So, I have no more idea about Apple TV because now I have no any Apple TV.
__________________
CPSC
Layton10 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2012, 08:18 AM   #13
kiddk1
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Thank you for all the help, now i just need to figure out if it s jailbroken or not, the seller stated it was "modified" but was not sure if it was jailbroken, he said a friend modified it for him, it does have the "apple tv" symbol on the bottom right but all the movie info is in Chinese or japanese. Any advice?
kiddk1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:13 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC