Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 9, 2012, 01:29 PM   #1
northernbaldy
macrumors 6502a
 
northernbaldy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: the north, UK
such an idiot! time machine

i'm looking for a nas or a firewire external disk for time machine backups and i couldn't decide what to go for.

now I have just thought, why not just stick a big disk in the empty drive bay!


doh!
__________________
17" MacBook pro, MacMini Server, iPhone 5 64gb, AppleTV, iPad 32gb wifi, 11" MacBook Air
northernbaldy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2012, 01:33 PM   #2
mobilehaathi
macrumors 68040
 
mobilehaathi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bay Area, CA
Yes, you can do that easy.....
__________________
The true way is along a rope that is not spanned high in the air, but only just above the ground. It seems intended more to cause stumbling than to be walked along.
mobilehaathi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2012, 01:35 PM   #3
SDAVE
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Nowhere
You can even put 2 in there to have dual backups


Also it might be possible to Time Machine when external drives are connected.
__________________
iPhone 5, MacBook Pro (2011), Mac Pro 2008, Apple Cinema Display 30" Aluminium
SDAVE is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2012, 01:45 PM   #4
DanielCoffey
macrumors 65816
 
DanielCoffey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Edinburgh, UK
An external backup would be handy however... just in case the whole Mac Pro goes up in smoke (or gets stolen).
DanielCoffey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2012, 01:54 PM   #5
SDAVE
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Nowhere
Quote:
Originally Posted by DanielCoffey View Post
An external backup would be handy however... just in case the whole Mac Pro goes up in smoke (or gets stolen).
If the drive is sitting on a desktop, it might get stolen too

Also doubt if the desktop stops working all of a sudden and all of it's components go kaput.
__________________
iPhone 5, MacBook Pro (2011), Mac Pro 2008, Apple Cinema Display 30" Aluminium
SDAVE is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2012, 02:20 PM   #6
Zwhaler
macrumors 603
 
Zwhaler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Yes, extra bays is one of the nicest features of the Mac Pro because it allows multiple internals on OS X natively, I'm using all four right now with a 4TB as my Time Machine backup drive (backs up the other 3)
Zwhaler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2012, 02:23 PM   #7
northernbaldy
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
northernbaldy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: the north, UK
This will go in the last bay too, i have an SSD and two raided drives in 1,2 and 3
__________________
17" MacBook pro, MacMini Server, iPhone 5 64gb, AppleTV, iPad 32gb wifi, 11" MacBook Air
northernbaldy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2012, 05:12 PM   #8
malch
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
O.K., riddle me this, though.
I have a Mac Pro, with a Time-machine backup drive in one of my extra internal slots, and a week-and-a-half old SSD boot drive.
And the SSD boot drive just gave up the ghost—it seems, anyway. I had to finally take the Mac Pro into an Apple Repair place, and they eventually got it to launch, but told me to get it replaced asap. Fine. I'm not in full-panic because I was able to get it to launch myself, when I got the machine home, and I did a new Time-Machine backup to the internal drive reserved for this.
But here's what has me spooked. When my Mac Pro wouldn't start, it simply wouldn't start. I tried starting holding this or that key down, hoping to at least be given the opportunity of starting from my most recent Time-Machine backup, but I couldn't get anything to come up on my desktop.
This is probably due to my own ineptitude, I realize.
But it made me wonder whether an external (fw, for example) backup, launcheable drive might not be an even better idea than in internal one.
regards,
malch
malch is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2012, 06:05 PM   #9
DJenkins
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by malch View Post
This is probably due to my own ineptitude, I realize.
But it made me wonder whether an external (fw, for example) backup, launcheable drive might not be an even better idea than in internal one.
regards,
malch
If you keep your time machine backup internally, there is always the risk that if a power surge or something damages your primary disk it will kill the backup as well. This is why I keep a time machine backup externally. I even usually have it unplugged from the system and mains power, but this sort of defeats the purpose of the continuous frequent backups.

I also have another drive partitioned with the last few major OSX updates. Each partition is an exact bootable clone made with CCC. This drive only gets updated occasionally. So having this extra clone disk means it would be pretty safe to leave my main time machine running 24/7 but I'm just super paranoid!
DJenkins is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:38 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC