Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 9, 2012, 03:33 PM   #1
jackofharts
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
3TB Fusion or 1TB Fusion - surely 3TB?

Hi guys,

I'm looking to upgrade from my 2009 21.5 iMac to the new 27 inch. The one thing stopping me from hitting the buy now button is my dam indecisiveness.

So definitely getting a fusion drive, but which one. For an additional 120 surely it is worth getting the 3TB?

It means not having to buy multiple externals in the future and just having one big one, as a back up?

What are your guys thoughts on this? I'm failing to see a downside. I currently use 300GB, but am getting much more into photography, cinema 4d etc...
jackofharts is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2012, 03:43 PM   #2
All Taken
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackofharts View Post
Hi guys,

I'm looking to upgrade from my 2009 21.5 iMac to the new 27 inch. The one thing stopping me from hitting the buy now button is my dam indecisiveness.

So definitely getting a fusion drive, but which one. For an additional 120 surely it is worth getting the 3TB?

It means not having to buy multiple externals in the future and just having one big one, as a back up?

What are your guys thoughts on this? I'm failing to see a downside. I currently use 300GB, but am getting much more into photography, cinema 4d etc...
Bootcamp - Their is a current limitation meaning you can't install to a 3TB disk. Apple will fix this issue in future but keep it in mind. I'd personally go for the 3TB.
All Taken is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2012, 04:05 PM   #3
jackofharts
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by All Taken View Post
Bootcamp - Their is a current limitation meaning you can't install to a 3TB disk. Apple will fix this issue in future but keep it in mind. I'd personally go for the 3TB.
Hi, thanks for the response - I forgot to mention I don't ever plan on running Bootcamp - when I moved over to mac, it was to get away from windows ha.
jackofharts is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2012, 04:16 PM   #4
ashleypenny
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
For me the price of 2TB extra HD space isnt worth 120. I use way more HD space than that already and thus have an HP microserver that cost me 100 and can hold up to 5 drives. This is in a totally separate room and just gets on with serving files on its own independant of any other machines being turned on (therefore accessible remotely). it also serves to do some backing up, and I cheaply added 4gb of ram to it and a 25 graphics card and it runs XBMC, serving 1080p content to my TV. One of the best things I ever bought!

I do wish I'd taken the 1TB fusion however.

If you are getting into photography and watching films consider that 3TB is relatively small in the grand scheme of things, and you can get 3TB HD's now for about 90, so in a years time it will be even smaller as file sizes go up
ashleypenny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2012, 04:29 PM   #5
iLondoner
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: London (the big one, not London Ohio, Texas, Kentucky, etc)
Before the new models were introduced it cost 120 to go from 1TB to 2TB, so to go from 1TB Fusion to 3TB Fusion for the same price sounds good to me.

If in the distant, or not so distant future, you decide that's not enough you can always get external storage.

I also have a 3TB Time Capsule for backup of my critical files.
iLondoner is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2012, 05:07 PM   #6
torana355
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
If you don't plan on using bootcamp the 3TB is a no brainer. I got the 3TB fusion option aswell. If Apple don't release a fix for bootcamp i will replace the 3TB drive with a 512GB SSD and shut fusion down.
__________________
2012 27" iMac with 680mx | 2011 13" MBA 128gb | iPhone 4 32gb | Nexus 7 16gb | Nexus 4 on Carbon and Trinity.
torana355 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2012, 05:13 PM   #7
MatthewAMEL
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by All Taken View Post
Bootcamp - Their is a current limitation meaning you can't install to a 3TB disk. Apple will fix this issue in future but keep it in mind. I'd personally go for the 3TB.
I completely agree. However, I disagree that Apple will issue a fix. Boot Camp will NEVER support >2.2TB drives.
MatthewAMEL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2012, 05:33 PM   #8
12dylan34
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
External storage is the no-brainer for me. If you're getting into photography, you might want to be able to bring your drives out with you into the field with a potential future laptop. It makes getting files from one machine to the next easier. It's also pretty much the standard thing to do for video editing, photography, etc. It's also much cheaper. You need one for backups anyway, so why not just buy a large external disk or two?

Ideally, actually, get both, but if that's not possible, go for the external(s).

External solutions are always better for video and audio editing, and sometimes on things like After Effects and Cinema 4D, though the processor and RAM is usually the bottleneck with those.

Having the machine reading program and media files off the same drive is generally bad.
12dylan34 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2012, 06:09 PM   #9
smoking monkey
macrumors 6502a
 
smoking monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Japan
I was actually going to get a 1TB and have now changed my mind to the 3. I just want to keep everything on the HD and not have to worry about externals apart from Time Machine.

But also because I'm close to the limit on my 750 2008 imac and I've got about 1TB in flies offline. And I'm still in the process of putting all my 500 odd CDs into itunes.

I don't want to keep itunes on an external. I'm simply not up to doing that.

But If I were still doing heavy FCP editing I'd definitely want all my scratches as externals.
__________________
G3 450 B&W, K-Lime iBook G3/466SE, PB G4 867(Ti), G4 800 DP(QS), PB G4 1.5 17 (Al), iPT 1G, 08 24 iMac, MBP 09 17, iP3Gs, iPad1&2, iP4s, '12 27 iMac, iP5s, rMBP(H) 15", Air.
smoking monkey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2012, 08:48 PM   #10
-BigMac-
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by 12dylan34 View Post
External storage is the no-brainer for me. If you're getting into photography, you might want to be able to bring your drives out with you into the field with a potential future laptop. It makes getting files from one machine to the next easier. It's also pretty much the standard thing to do for video editing, photography, etc. It's also much cheaper. You need one for backups anyway, so why not just buy a large external disk or two?

Ideally, actually, get both, but if that's not possible, go for the external(s).

External solutions are always better for video and audio editing, and sometimes on things like After Effects and Cinema 4D, though the processor and RAM is usually the bottleneck with those.

Having the machine reading program and media files off the same drive is generally bad.
^ this.

Externals are better for sharing files off your network AND on your network (hard drive sharing via wifi).

The only reason to get a 3TB internal would be if you ONLY need your files to stay inside your house. Even then, a USB3 external would be about the same speed as your inbuilt Hard Drive.

Go for the externals
-BigMac- is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2012, 10:06 PM   #11
pjfla
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackofharts View Post
Hi guys,

I'm looking to upgrade from my 2009 21.5 iMac to the new 27 inch. The one thing stopping me from hitting the buy now button is my dam indecisiveness.

So definitely getting a fusion drive, but which one. For an additional 120 surely it is worth getting the 3TB?

It means not having to buy multiple externals in the future and just having one big one, as a back up?

What are your guys thoughts on this? I'm failing to see a downside. I currently use 300GB, but am getting much more into photography, cinema 4d etc...
This is exactly my approach. I always go as big as possible (within reason) for the internal HD, and then do a similar size external (and use the external for Time Machine back ups). No need to worry about fancy back up solutions. May not be for everyone but has served me well for awhile.
pjfla is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2012, 11:47 PM   #12
All Taken
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by MatthewAMEL View Post
I completely agree. However, I disagree that Apple will issue a fix. Boot Camp will NEVER support >2.2TB drives.
Why?
All Taken is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2012, 11:57 PM   #13
Zwhaler
macrumors 603
 
Zwhaler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Meh seems way too overpriced personally. If you really care about investing your money into these technologies in your new machine then definitely get the 3TB fusion drive.
__________________
2x2.93 24GB 25TB 2x1TB 840EVO 2x UAD OCTO, Apollo, 4-710d
Check Out My YouTube Channel~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Zwhaler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 07:52 AM   #14
forty2j
macrumors 68030
 
forty2j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by All Taken View Post
Why?
I wouldn't say "never"; I would say "not with current hardware". The solution as best as I can understand is for Macs to move from EFI to UEFI. Windows will support booting off the large drive if it's partitioned a certain way (I think Macs already do this) AND if it uses UEFI. (This is the replacement for the old BIOS - not something really able to be done with a software patch.)
__________________
 2012 iMac 3.2GHz 27" 680MX Fusion  iPhone 5  Apple TV 2  iPad 2 
forty2j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 09:15 AM   #15
jackofharts
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by pjfla View Post
This is exactly my approach. I always go as big as possible (within reason) for the internal HD, and then do a similar size external (and use the external for Time Machine back ups). No need to worry about fancy back up solutions. May not be for everyone but has served me well for awhile.
Boom - makes sense.

Externals you can always add at a later date. Internals are forever ha.
jackofharts is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 10:18 AM   #16
cambookpro
macrumors 68040
 
cambookpro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Berks, England
I'm not in the market for a new Mac, but I'd definitely go for 3TB. 120 isn't a lot in the grand scheme of things, if you keep the computer for just three years, it's only 3.33 a month more.

What's that? One less coffee at Starbucks every month?
__________________
MacBook Pro | iMac | iPhone 5 | iPad Air | Apple TV
cambookpro is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 10:30 AM   #17
81Steven
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by forty2j View Post
I wouldn't say "never"; I would say "not with current hardware". The solution as best as I can understand is for Macs to move from EFI to UEFI. Windows will support booting off the large drive if it's partitioned a certain way (I think Macs already do this) AND if it uses UEFI. (This is the replacement for the old BIOS - not something really able to be done with a software patch.)
you think they're not fixing on hardware they are selling with 3tb hard drive?
81Steven is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 10:39 AM   #18
wayne905
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Maple, Ontario, Canada
what I don't understand is if Apple knows of the Bootcamp over 2.2TB drive issue, then why not offer a 1TB Fusion along with 2TB Fusion options (and still keep the 3TB for those that want even more storage). I was all set to get the 3TB Fusion but only noticed a post about the issue with Bootcamp - so I went with 1TB fusion. I sure would have liked at least a 2TB option that would have worked with Bootcamp.
__________________
MacBook Air 2011 - 13" iMac - 21.5" Late 2012 iMac - 27" i7 Late 2012 iPad (3rd Gen) - 64GB wifi iPhone 5 two Apple TVs (3rd Generation)
wayne905 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 10:42 AM   #19
iLondoner
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: London (the big one, not London Ohio, Texas, Kentucky, etc)
Quote:
Originally Posted by cambookpro View Post
What's that? One less coffee at Starbucks every month?
Well if you have a Starbucks card you get the extra shot of coffee, flavours and whipped cream for free.
iLondoner is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 10:54 AM   #20
Beardy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
I think Apple have to come up with a fix for the Bootcamp issue. Storage needs are getting greater especially with HD video and Apple want to be able to sell you big internal drives rather than rely on external drives which they can't control pricing of as easily.

Money talks and Apple have lost a lot of sales of 3TB Fusion drives because of Bootcamp.
Beardy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 11:21 AM   #21
forty2j
macrumors 68030
 
forty2j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by 81Steven View Post
you think they're not fixing on hardware they are selling with 3tb hard drive?
To "fix" the hardware they are "selling with 3tb hard drive", they'd need to chisel a chip off the motherboard and solder on a new one. So.. no.

They're probably working on something, but it's a pretty substantial architectural change affecting how Macs boot up and recognize hardware. It's not going to come quickly, and there's not really anything they could do for computers already sold.
__________________
 2012 iMac 3.2GHz 27" 680MX Fusion  iPhone 5  Apple TV 2  iPad 2 
forty2j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 11:28 AM   #22
MeFromHere
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by forty2j View Post
To "fix" the hardware they are "selling with 3tb hard drive", they'd need to chisel a chip off the motherboard and solder on a new one. So.. no.

They're probably working on something, but it's a pretty substantial architectural change affecting how Macs boot up and recognize hardware. It's not going to come quickly, and there's not really anything they could do for computers already sold.
Are you sure? Many systems have firmware in a flash ROM, allowing the firmware to be updated after the system leaves the factory. My MacBook Pro had two firmware updates.
MeFromHere is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 11:28 AM   #23
81Steven
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by forty2j View Post
To "fix" the hardware they are "selling with 3tb hard drive", they'd need to chisel a chip off the motherboard and solder on a new one. So.. no.

They're probably working on something, but it's a pretty substantial architectural change affecting how Macs boot up and recognize hardware. It's not going to come quickly, and there's not really anything they could do for computers already sold.
Aren't mac already supporting efi?
Isn't just bootcamp that emulate bios boot? (changing bootcamp emulation should be enough...)

or not?
81Steven is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 11:47 AM   #24
MatthewAMEL
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by 81Steven View Post
Aren't mac already supporting efi?
Isn't just bootcamp that emulate bios boot? (changing bootcamp emulation should be enough...)

or not?
You are correct. Intel Macs have always been EFI. However, when Boot Camp was first introduced, almost no Windows PCs supported EFI, so Apple used the available MBR emulation.

I don't think they will fix it because it will require a complete re-write of Boot Camp Assistant and it will require Windows 7 (guess).

Apple isn't in the business of making other Operating Systems run on their hardware. I think they will let Boot Camp Assistant 'wither on the vine'.

I wonder what the % of Mac users who use Boot Camp is? I use it daily for gaming, but that's it. I use Fusion for any legacy Windows apps.
MatthewAMEL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 11:55 AM   #25
hfg
macrumors 68020
 
hfg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA.
I thought the 2.2TB issues was a Windows limitation, not Apples problem.

Anyway, the author of WinClone posted on his blog how to manually partition the 3TB disk such that you could get Windows to install and boot, but it puts the Windows partition in the middle of the drive table, with OS X partitions on either side. If you can live with that ... you are home free.

Now, if you are adventuresome, I think you should be able to "break" your factory Fusion drive and revert both drives back to standard, then follow the WinClone blog procedure to partition your 3TB drive, then re-build the Fusion drive using methods discussed here, but using the "drive_partition_ID" instead of "drive_ID" when specifying the join drive elements. Of course, you would use the first OS X partition-number to do so. This will leave the remaining OS X partition space (after your Windows partition) out of your Fusion drive space, but you should be able to still use it for simple storage.

Good luck... and let us know if it works!


-howard
hfg is online now   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Difference between 1TB vs. 3TB Fusion Drive? Tofray iMac 8 Oct 19, 2013 06:53 AM
Looks like most people prefer 1TB fusion to 3TB. Why? Spoiled iMac 67 Mar 22, 2013 05:35 AM
1TB Fusion vs. 3TB Fusion ajkr711 iMac 13 Dec 31, 2012 10:53 AM
Fusion confusion. Why no bootcamp on 3TB Fusion but OK on 1TB Fusion inscrewtable OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 1 Dec 11, 2012 10:21 PM
Should I get 1TB Fusion or 3TB non Fusion? frocco iMac 9 Dec 6, 2012 09:26 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:07 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC