Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 10, 2012, 01:54 PM   #1
iCaleb
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
I wish the new iMacs had 3 thunderbolt ports.

Here's what I would like to do........Have 2 1080p 21.5'' monitors to go with the iMac screen one to the left and one to the right.

But at the same time I would also like to have an external drive set as the main boot drive running mountain lion.

But with the two TB ports already taken up by the two hdmi monitors the only option would be to use a usb 3.0 drive as the main boot drive instead of a TB ssd drive.

How much faster would the usb 3.0 ssd/hdd drive be compared to the internal standard hdd?
iCaleb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 02:06 PM   #2
dlbmacfan
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
You can daisy chain Thunderbolt peripherals, so I think you can put an external TB drive in between the computer and one of your monitors.
dlbmacfan is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 02:24 PM   #3
iCaleb
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlbmacfan View Post
You can daisy chain Thunderbolt peripherals, so I think you can put an external TB drive in between the computer and one of your monitors.
I can only afford the lacie rugged TB ssd drive but it only has one TB port making it non daisy chain able.

Your idea would only work with the pricey Little big disk ssd which has two TB ports.
iCaleb is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 02:27 PM   #4
SnowLeopard2008
macrumors 604
 
SnowLeopard2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Silicon Valley
Send a message via AIM to SnowLeopard2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by iCaleb View Post
I can only afford the lacie rugged TB ssd drive but it only has one TB port making it non daisy chain able.

Your idea would only work with the pricey Little big disk ssd which has two TB ports.
Can you put the SSD/boot drive at the end of the chain? iMac->TBD->SSD/boot.
__________________
Mac Pro | Thunderbolt Display | iPhone 6 | iPad Air 2 | Apple TV | AirPort Extreme
SnowLeopard2008 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 02:33 PM   #5
iCaleb
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnowLeopard2008 View Post
Can you put the SSD/boot drive at the end of the chain? iMac->TBD->SSD/boot.
I would be using two dell 21.5 inch displays via hdmi to DP not the TB display.

If I could only find a hard drive with two TB ports for under 300.
iCaleb is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 02:51 PM   #6
kaelell
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
right there with you. Even thunderbolt hubs seem to be starting at 250ish
kaelell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 02:54 PM   #7
thekev
macrumors 603
 
thekev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
I believe the current chip only supports 2 ports.
__________________
world's largest manufacturer of tin foil hats, none of that aluminum foil crap.
thekev is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 02:55 PM   #8
iCaleb
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
So what are my other options?

A usb 3.0 drive or some type of network storage?

Or would these two options be slower than the internal hdd?
iCaleb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 02:58 PM   #9
xgman
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
This is a big problem right now. I had to spend a fortune on dual TB enclosures to be able to get extra ports. I needed to be able to house 5 drives via TB. An external monitor will be plugged into one of them and a Firewire adapter into the other end of the line. That's a long way to go and a lot of cash to get what could have been much less expensive and bother if there were more ports or if manufacturers simply included the pass through port to begin with.

I'm using WD MY Passport Duo Thunderbolts which have 2 drives per unit and a passthorugh. Trouble is I had no use for the drives so they are moving to my Mac Pro which I'm selling, and using existing ssd & velciraptors in their place. The TB box was around $465 with the slow Green WD drives.

I fully expect in a couple few months OWC and others will fill the gap, but for now it's a huge pain in several areas.
__________________
{2014 27" r-imac-4.0i7-295x-32gb ram-1TBSSD+External TB enclosure>Samsung840evo ssd + Segate Enterprise 5TB-UAD Apollo/Marantz/Amphion/Bowers&Wilkins Sound-Nektar P1 61}
{ipads}{iphones}{LG G3}
xgman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 02:59 PM   #10
iCaleb
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
If only Apple would of put an HDMI out port on the new iMacs this wouldn't be an issue.
iCaleb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 06:06 PM   #11
bflowers
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by iCaleb View Post
If only Apple would of put an HDMI out port on the new iMacs this wouldn't be an issue.
If only they would have done a lot of things. If wishes were _________ (fill in your favorite saying here)
bflowers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 12:39 PM   #12
iCaleb
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
My questions are still unanswered.

Number one being the fastest and number four being the slowest.

Would this be in the correct order as shown below?


#1 External thunderbolt ssd.

#2 External usb 3.0 ssd.

#3 External usb 3.0 hdd.

#4 Internal stock hdd.

A thunderbolt drive is not an option for me unless I remove one display from my setup.

So should I have a 2 screen setup and a thunderbolt ssd as the boot drive?

Or should I have a 3 screen setup and a usb 3.0 ssd/hdd as the boot drive?
iCaleb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 01:02 PM   #13
hfg
macrumors 68030
 
hfg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
You could get a refurbished LaCie "Little Big Disk" for $200, replace the hard disks with your choice of matching SSD drives, configure the SSDs for RAID-0 to maximize speed, then run your display off of the second Thunderbolt port on the LaCie. Set your system to boot from the external Thunderbolt RAID-0 SSD.

This would be #0 in your list above.

The LaCie LBD as received with RAID-0 hard disks would be about #1.5 to 2.2 in your list.


-howard

Last edited by hfg; Dec 11, 2012 at 01:10 PM.
hfg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 01:06 PM   #14
iCaleb
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
I'm not a big fan of refurbished items.
iCaleb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 01:12 PM   #15
hfg
macrumors 68030
 
hfg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by iCaleb View Post
I'm not a big fan of refurbished items.
They appear to be new, possibly LaCie is dumping the old SATA-II internal bus stock and now is selling the current SATA-III internal bus models. But it is much cheaper for the old ones if you already have the SSDs.

The most likely part to wear out is the disks ... and you are discarding them.

You can get a brand new 1TB SSD LaCie Thunderbolt (highest speed) for $1000 if you don't already have the drives.

That isn't a bad deal since doing it yourself would require 2 x $400 512GB SSDs plus the $200 Thunderbolt dual drive enclosure (less if you can use / sell the hard disks that come with it) making the DIY one $1000 as well (plus the cheaper refurbished enclosures may be a bit slower with SATA-II internal bus).



-howard

Last edited by hfg; Dec 11, 2012 at 04:23 PM.
hfg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2012, 09:36 AM   #16
xgman
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by iCaleb View Post
My questions are still unanswered.

Number one being the fastest and number four being the slowest.

Would this be in the correct order as shown below?


#1 External thunderbolt ssd.

#2 External usb 3.0 ssd.

#3 External usb 3.0 hdd.

#4 Internal stock hdd.

A thunderbolt drive is not an option for me unless I remove one display from my setup.

So should I have a 2 screen setup and a thunderbolt ssd as the boot drive?

Or should I have a 3 screen setup and a usb 3.0 ssd/hdd as the boot drive?
Switch 3 & 4 around and I wouldn't place an SSD on usb 3 if I could get a TB enclosure. The pickup in speed would be worth the extra $ I think.
__________________
{2014 27" r-imac-4.0i7-295x-32gb ram-1TBSSD+External TB enclosure>Samsung840evo ssd + Segate Enterprise 5TB-UAD Apollo/Marantz/Amphion/Bowers&Wilkins Sound-Nektar P1 61}
{ipads}{iphones}{LG G3}
xgman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2012, 10:03 AM   #17
mmomega
macrumors Demi-God
 
mmomega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: DFW, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaelell View Post
right there with you. Even thunderbolt hubs seem to be starting at 250ish
Show me a real Thunderbolt hub that is for sale and shipping, I'll buy it.
__________________
2013 iMac 27" i7, 32GBRAM, GTX780M, 256GB Flash, VESA, Yosemite
2012 Mac Mini Server w/ 23TB Storage
iPad Air 32GB, iPhone 6+ Gold 128GB, iPad Mini 16GB
3x AEBS 802.11ac, 5x AppleTV
mmomega is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2012, 06:56 AM   #18
kaelell
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmomega View Post
Show me a real Thunderbolt hub that is for sale and shipping, I'll buy it.
there....ermm...mmm....oh...there's one on the apple store for 899.
There is also this huge screen on the back of it.

=)
kaelell is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2012, 09:37 AM   #19
mmomega
macrumors Demi-God
 
mmomega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: DFW, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaelell View Post
there....ermm...mmm....oh...there's one on the apple store for 899.
There is also this huge screen on the back of it.

=)
Actually one just went on sale yesterday the Matrox DS1 I believe.
1 USB3
2 USB2 ... ?
1 HDMI
1 Gigabit
Set of Headphone jacks

for $249

I'll wait for the Belkin Hub or a TBDisplay with USB3 if either ever makes it .
__________________
2013 iMac 27" i7, 32GBRAM, GTX780M, 256GB Flash, VESA, Yosemite
2012 Mac Mini Server w/ 23TB Storage
iPad Air 32GB, iPhone 6+ Gold 128GB, iPad Mini 16GB
3x AEBS 802.11ac, 5x AppleTV
mmomega is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2012, 10:28 AM   #20
kaelell
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmomega View Post
Actually one just went on sale yesterday the Matrox DS1 I believe.
1 USB3
2 USB2 ... ?
1 HDMI
1 Gigabit
Set of Headphone jacks

for $249

I'll wait for the Belkin Hub or a TBDisplay with USB3 if either ever makes it .
Just saw that too, for 200 though its still way over priced with only 2 TB's.

I will wait for the Belkin Hub and pray that the pricing is just speculation.
kaelell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2013, 01:42 AM   #21
iCaleb
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
I found the solution!!! A USB 3.0 to hdmi adapter.

1st TB port using ssd OS drive.

2nd TB port using hdmi adapter to first monitor.

USB 3.0 port using hdmi to second monitor.

PROBLEM SOLVED.
iCaleb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2013, 02:07 AM   #22
Aqueous
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by iCaleb View Post
I found the solution!!! A USB 3.0 to hdmi adapter.

1st TB port using ssd OS drive.

2nd TB port using hdmi adapter to first monitor.

USB 3.0 port using hdmi to second monitor.

PROBLEM SOLVED.
I would love to believe that that will work well for you, just have a gut feeling that you will have problems getting that to work... could be wrong, but?

I know HDMI was giving people grief in the MacMini's. Factor in USB3 (also giving people grief in the 2012 Mac Lineup) plus HDMI and I start to have doubts. And how will you get them all to look the same? Can't help but think the HDMI will be glitchy for you...

Hope I'm wrong though!

OWC Helios could be an option for you ($399) but it gives you 2 TB ports plus whatever PCIe card you want to throw in it. I have a CalDigit Fasta6G (2) Sata Ports and (2) USB3 Ports. Kinda useful as a customizable hub for the future...
Aqueous is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2013, 01:08 PM   #23
Outrigger
macrumors 68000
 
Outrigger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by iCaleb View Post

USB 3.0 port using hdmi to second monitor.

PROBLEM SOLVED.
you will NOT like the performance of the 2nd monitor with the usb connection. hope you're only using it for text.
__________________
iMac | Intel i7 3.4GHz | 32GB RAM | 1TB Fusion | GTX 680MX
Mini | Intel i5 2.5GHz | 8GB RAM | 750GBSSD | AMD 6630M
rMBP 13 | Intel i5 2.6Ghz | 8GB RAM | 512GB SSD
Outrigger is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2013, 04:38 PM   #24
seanm9
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by iCaleb View Post
My questions are still unanswered.

Number one being the fastest and number four being the slowest.

Would this be in the correct order as shown below?


#1 External thunderbolt ssd.

#2 External usb 3.0 ssd.

#3 External usb 3.0 hdd.

#4 Internal stock hdd.

A thunderbolt drive is not an option for me unless I remove one display from my setup.

So should I have a 2 screen setup and a thunderbolt ssd as the boot drive?

Or should I have a 3 screen setup and a usb 3.0 ssd/hdd as the boot drive?
In the real world the speed of the disk will be the factor...
Thunderbolt is 10 Gb/s
SATA 3 is 6 Gb/s
USB3.0 is 5 Gb/s

SSD's with SATA 3 interfaces seem to work near the limit of the SATA 3 (6Gb/s) interface, so it will not be *that* much slower in a USB3.0 enclosure (depending on how well the USB to SATA Bridge works in said enclosure.) HDD's max out (because of the moving parts) about 1.5 Gb/s (SATA 1 speed)

so #1 and #2 probably have no speed difference...

use the USB3.0 SSD as a boot drive and enjoy the 3 screens... USB video is garbage...
seanm9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2013, 04:41 PM   #25
theSeb
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Poole, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by iCaleb View Post
If only Apple would of put an HDMI out port on the new iMacs this wouldn't be an issue.
Agreed since the rMBP has HDMI out and 2 x TB and the Mini also has HDMI out. It seems like a silly omission.
__________________
What is Other on my HDD?
Throttling, overheating and Geekbench
theSeb is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do you use your Thunderbolt ports and if you do, for what? Hieveryone MacBook Pro 61 Jun 25, 2014 05:58 PM
10.9.2 broke one of my Thunderbolt ports. fratey OS X Mavericks (10.9) 1 Mar 7, 2014 11:44 AM
Which DACs are compatible with USB 3 ports on iMacs? ed45 iMac 0 Oct 25, 2013 12:05 AM
Bad Thunderbolt ports?? meaganmargaret iMac 4 Mar 9, 2013 04:14 AM
2 x Thunderbolt ports mean 2 x monitors? Tombs MacBook Pro 23 Jun 11, 2012 06:33 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:52 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC