Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 25, 2013, 04:46 PM   #1
virginblue4
macrumors 6502a
 
virginblue4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Cyberpower UPS power cord?

I just wanted to ask, does the Cyberpower PFC series come with a power cord or do I have to buy this separately?
__________________

iPhone 5S, gold, iOS 7.1
iPad mini with Retina display, silver, iOS 7.1
Late 2012 27" iMac - 3.4GHz i7, 1TB Fusion, 24GB RAM, 680MX 2GB
virginblue4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2013, 05:26 PM   #2
gzigoris
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Middle MI.USA
UPS showing power cord attacked

Power cord is hard wired into the UPS as shown on Amazon. I ordered one this morning and the pictures showed that power cord attached to the BOX.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...pf_rd_i=507846
gzigoris is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2013, 05:36 PM   #3
WilliamG
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Seattle
Quote:
Originally Posted by gzigoris View Post
Power cord is hard wired into the UPS as shown on Amazon. I ordered one this morning and the pictures showed that power cord attached to the BOX.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...pf_rd_i=507846
Yep, that's the one I have and the power cord is hard-wired into the unit.

Great UPS, fyi. I've pulled the plug on it several times to test my iMac's stability since getting the UPS last week, and there have been no issues at all. Not even a buzzing from the PSU which there was on on my old UPS when the power would cut out. I really like it so far.
__________________
iMac, MacBook Air, Mac mini, iPad, iPhone, 55-11
www.bighugenerd.com
WilliamG is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2013, 05:50 PM   #4
virginblue4
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
virginblue4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Quote:
Originally Posted by gzigoris View Post
Power cord is hard wired into the UPS as shown on Amazon. I ordered one this morning and the pictures showed that power cord attached to the BOX.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...pf_rd_i=507846
Quote:
Originally Posted by WilliamG View Post
Yep, that's the one I have and the power cord is hard-wired into the unit.

Great UPS, fyi. I've pulled the plug on it several times to test my iMac's stability since getting the UPS last week, and there have been no issues at all. Not even a buzzing from the PSU which there was on on my old UPS when the power would cut out. I really like it so far.
Thanks to you both! I checked the 'what's in the box' and it didn't show up so it got me wondering. Make sense!
__________________

iPhone 5S, gold, iOS 7.1
iPad mini with Retina display, silver, iOS 7.1
Late 2012 27" iMac - 3.4GHz i7, 1TB Fusion, 24GB RAM, 680MX 2GB
virginblue4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2013, 06:18 PM   #5
iMikeT
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by WilliamG View Post
Yep, that's the one I have and the power cord is hard-wired into the unit.

Great UPS, fyi. I've pulled the plug on it several times to test my iMac's stability since getting the UPS last week, and there have been no issues at all. Not even a buzzing from the PSU which there was on on my old UPS when the power would cut out. I really like it so far.


How long will your UPS stay on with the iMac connected to it?
iMikeT is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2013, 06:25 PM   #6
WilliamG
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Seattle
Quote:
Originally Posted by iMikeT View Post
How long will your UPS stay on with the iMac connected to it?
Long enough. It really depends on several factors. What you're doing, screen brightness, other accessories attached etc. Even the smallest Cyberpower is overkill for an iMac, and I have my iMac set to shut down after 1 minute if the power doesn't come back on in that time anyway.
__________________
iMac, MacBook Air, Mac mini, iPad, iPhone, 55-11
www.bighugenerd.com
WilliamG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2013, 06:30 PM   #7
iMikeT
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by WilliamG View Post
Long enough. It really depends on several factors. What you're doing, screen brightness, other accessories attached etc. Even the smallest Cyberpower is overkill for an iMac, and I have my iMac set to shut down after 1 minute if the power doesn't come back on in that time anyway.



I've been looking for a UPS for my iMac and a bunch of external hard drives. I have a 27" iMac which eats up 320w, according to Apple. I'd like to get something that gives me enough time to wrap up what I'm doing and safely shut everything down in the case of a power failure. I was thinking of getting a 900w+ unit but I wanted to know how much time a unit like the one you have keeps your iMac going after a power failure.
iMikeT is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2013, 06:36 PM   #8
WilliamG
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Seattle
Quote:
Originally Posted by iMikeT View Post
I've been looking for a UPS for my iMac and a bunch of external hard drives. I have a 27" iMac which eats up 320w, according to Apple. I'd like to get something that gives me enough time to wrap up what I'm doing and safely shut everything down in the case of a power failure. I was thinking of getting a 900w+ unit but I wanted to know how much time a unit like the one you have keeps your iMac going after a power failure.
I'm running 3x external drives. Honestly, I don't think you'd need more than the lowest power Cyberpower. 320W is insane, and that's only going to happen if you have your sound cranked to max, the brightness cranked to max, the CPU under full load, and the GPU under full load. Basically, it's never going to happen when you're not right in front of the computer, and only on rare occasions if you're gaming, and even then...

With my 2012 27" i7 loaded iMac it's approximately 20-30 minutes of runtime if I recall correctly, just sitting there with the display on moderately. I don't really want to test that out, personally, and it doesn't matter to me since if I'm sitting in front of the computer I have time to decide what to do, and if it's an extended outage or while I'm asleep, whether it's 30 minutes or two 2 hours makes no difference to me.
__________________
iMac, MacBook Air, Mac mini, iPad, iPhone, 55-11
www.bighugenerd.com
WilliamG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2013, 06:51 PM   #9
iMikeT
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by WilliamG View Post
I'm running 3x external drives. Honestly, I don't think you'd need more than the lowest power Cyberpower. 320W is insane, and that's only going to happen if you have your sound cranked to max, the brightness cranked to max, the CPU under full load, and the GPU under full load. Basically, it's never going to happen when you're not right in front of the computer, and only on rare occasions if you're gaming, and even then...

With my 2012 27" i7 loaded iMac it's approximately 20-30 minutes of runtime if I recall correctly, just sitting there with the display on moderately. I don't really want to test that out, personally, and it doesn't matter to me since if I'm sitting in front of the computer I have time to decide what to do, and if it's an extended outage or while I'm asleep, whether it's 30 minutes or two 2 hours makes no difference to me.


Gotcha.

Well I don't think I'm running at 320w continuously, I just went with Apple's spec for my iMac's model (27" 2011 BTO iMac). Actually, it does say "Maximum continuous power: 310w". So no need to worry about that.

Yeah, about 30 minutes is plenty of time to either wait for the power to return or safely shut down the entire system. It would also be great to have a couple hours of juice while everything is asleep to avoid completely restarting a system.
iMikeT is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2013, 06:54 PM   #10
WilliamG
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Seattle
Quote:
Originally Posted by iMikeT View Post
Gotcha.

Well I don't think I'm running at 320w continuously, I just went with Apple's spec for my iMac's model (27" 2011 BTO iMac). Actually, it does say "Maximum continuous power: 310w". So no need to worry about that.

Yeah, about 30 minutes is plenty of time to either wait for the power to return or safely shut down the entire system. It would also be great to have a couple hours of juice while everything is asleep to avoid completely restarting a system.
If your system is asleep, you'd easily get a couple of hours I'd imagine, with even the smallest Cyberpower. Probably a good deal longer. Basically, don't go overkill on your UPS. It takes up a lot of space, and is simply a waste of money NOW (the UPS costs more), and LATER (the replacement battery costs more).

Plus the little UPS is so cute.
__________________
iMac, MacBook Air, Mac mini, iPad, iPhone, 55-11
www.bighugenerd.com
WilliamG is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC