Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 10, 2012, 02:30 PM   #1
Peakbagger
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Montreal
Installing memory in new iMac

Ordered my very first iMac on Nov 30th. I noticed a lot of folks here are purchasing memory from other vendors but I was wondering if there is a document explaining how to install it (such as this one).
http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1423#1

My understanding is since there is no memory access door in the new model, you have to unglue the screen to get to the memory slots. Wouldn't that void the warranty?

Thanks!
Peakbagger is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 02:37 PM   #2
BSoares
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
27" has a little door to do it. 21.5" requires you to remove the screen and a bunch of other things inside. Better to upgrade when ordering if you're getting the small iMac.
BSoares is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 02:38 PM   #3
dhokes
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peakbagger View Post
Ordered my very first iMac on Nov 30th. I noticed a lot of folks here are purchasing memory from other vendors but I was wondering if there is a document explaining how to install it (such as this one).
http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1423#1

My understanding is since there is no memory access door in the new model, you have to unglue the screen to get to the memory slots. Wouldn't that void the warranty?

Thanks!
The 27" version has a user-accessible slot and the 21.5" doesn't. Consequently, if you upgrade/try to upgrade the RAM in the smaller iMac, I imagine it will void the warranty.

As for documentation, I'm not too sure but I would imagine there will be plenty of Youtube videos in the next couple of weeks to show you how to install it.
__________________
iPhone 4 | 27" iMac
dhokes is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 02:44 PM   #4
Peakbagger
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Montreal
Quote:
Originally Posted by dhokes View Post
The 27" version has a user-accessible slot and the 21.5" doesn't. Consequently, if you upgrade/try to upgrade the RAM in the smaller iMac, I imagine it will void the warranty.

As for documentation, I'm not too sure but I would imagine there will be plenty of Youtube videos in the next couple of weeks to show you how to install it.
I ordered the 27" so I should be good then. I saw the 21" at the Store, that's why I thought there was no slot. My mistake.
Thanks!
Peakbagger is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 10:05 PM   #5
chicagodunn
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
one of the videos on that was posted on macrumors from cnet youtube channel shows you how to open the slot...

There was a button under power supply that the man pushed with a pen to release the slot's cover...

seen here: http://www.macrumors.com/2012/11/30/...-enhancements/

or here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NYcMvh3mId8

It is around 1:55 timestamp.
chicagodunn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 03:20 AM   #6
leerichards1
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Prague, Czech Republic
Also regarding memory, I'm buying a 27" with 8GB RAM (2*4GB). Is it ok for me to add another single 8GB dimm with a view to adding another one at a later date, or do you still need to install memory in pairs like the old days?

Thanks.
leerichards1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 01:38 PM   #7
GaryClough
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by leerichards1 View Post
Also regarding memory, I'm buying a 27" with 8GB RAM (2*4GB). Is it ok for me to add another single 8GB dimm with a view to adding another one at a later date, or do you still need to install memory in pairs like the old days?

Thanks.
I would also like to know this. I presume that you still have to order ram in pairs, so as the 27" imac will come with x2 4gb dimms, can I add a further x2 8gb dimms to make a total of 24gb or do all slots have to have the same size memory module ?

Thanks
GaryClough is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 01:46 PM   #8
bigcat318
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
They do not all have to be the same size. You can install 24GB
bigcat318 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 01:54 PM   #9
GaryClough
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigcat318 View Post
They do not all have to be the same size. You can install 24GB
Yippee, thanks for the quick answer. I will order 16gb from crucial to have ready for when my imac arrives.

For anyone in the UK it looks like this memory will match the new 27" imac perfectly.

http://www.crucial.com/uk/store/mpar...FEC046A5CA7304

Thanks
GaryClough is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 02:01 PM   #10
dogegg
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigcat318 View Post
They do not all have to be the same size. You can install 24GB
Does it matter which slots they go into? I've got my 2 x 8GB sticks ready to put in, do I just put them into the two empty slots or should I put the higher memory into the lower slots, ie move the original RAM to the other slots?

Is there a guide anywhere?

Cheers
dogegg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 02:57 PM   #11
bigcat318
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
I don't believe it matters which slot they are in. I would just put them in the currently empty slots.
bigcat318 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2011 iMac memory used in 2013 iMac? Eduardot iMac 8 May 7, 2014 03:32 PM
Installing Lion on new iMac Doc Mitchell iMac 3 Jul 20, 2013 10:57 AM
Installing W.XP on my iMac G4 garirry PowerPC Macs 4 May 1, 2013 06:28 PM
Installing new RAM memory into macbook pro 2012 13"? mrhuynh94 MacBook Pro 6 Aug 22, 2012 12:10 PM
My Macbbok Pro acting funny after installing 8 GB memory excelsiorsmith MacBook Pro 11 Jun 30, 2012 12:08 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:39 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC