Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Community Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 10, 2012, 03:28 PM   #1
Dookieman
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Questions on registering a domain.

I am planning on buying my first domain for a (hopeful) future website I want to build. Currently the domain I want is available as a .com but is considered premium and is ridiculously expensive. The .net is currently taken but the owner has lapsed on his registration and it expired Sep 28, 2012. How long must I wait before I can register this domain? Are there additional steps i need to take to register this? Will the .net still be considered premium to name cheap and cost thousands?

Thanks!
Dookieman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 03:30 PM   #2
ideal.dreams
macrumors 68000
 
ideal.dreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: OH
If I'm not mistaken the owner has a period of like 70 days to pay a ridiculous amount of money to repurchase the domain. If he doesn't, then it becomes available. However, I'd keep your eye out because an advertising company might buy it and then you have to wait for it to expire all over again.

A domain name costing thousands of dollars though? That doesn't sound right... ".com" domains usually go for like $10.69/year at NameCheap.
__________________
15" rMBP: 256GB SSD, 8GB RAM, 2.3 GHz Quad Core i7, OS X 10.9.2
White iPhone 5s: 32GB, iOS 7.1
White iPad Air 16GB + WiFi, iOS 7.1
ideal.dreams is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 03:37 PM   #3
Dookieman
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Hmmm... I just checked and 70 days past Sep 28 is Dec 7, so it should be available soon?

The .com is a "Premium" domain, I'm not sure how it distinguishes between them, but I'm not paying $5,000.
Dookieman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 03:49 PM   #4
ChristianJapan
macrumors Demi-God
 
ChristianJapan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: 日本
Where do you live ? No free .com will cost you 5000 USD these days ... The domain might not be free and someone try to make money.

Check with who.is
__________________
Member of MacRumors.com Folding@Home Team (#3446) & developer of the F@H Mobile Monitoring app
ChristianJapan is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 03:54 PM   #5
snberk103
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: An Island in the Salish Sea
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dookieman View Post
Hmmm... I just checked and 70 days past Sep 28 is Dec 7, so it should be available soon?

The .com is a "Premium" domain, I'm not sure how it distinguishes between them, but I'm not paying $5,000.
What that means is that it is not, technically, 'available' - it is owned by somebody who is willing to sell it to you. In my understanding an unowned domain name is one that nobody has claimed (or has let lapse and is back into the pool). They are all in the $10 to $15 range... the only difference in pricing is due to who is offering the domain, and their profit margin/services offered. I'd keep looking for an unclaimed domain name. If you are in a country other than the US, there my be country codes you can use that are not available outside the US. For instance, the .CA code (instead of .COM) is only available to Canadian entities.

There are also country codes that are available to anyone... like .ME and .TV. These may cost more since their prices are determined by their country's policy.

Good Luck.
__________________
My friends, love is better than anger. Hope is better than fear. Optimism is better than despair. So let us be loving, hopeful and optimistic. And we'll change the world. - Jack Layton
snberk103 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 03:59 PM   #6
Dookieman
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
I'm in the USA. I just Whois'd the .com domain and says that it is for sale. So I take it someone owns it and it currently posting it as avilable on the domain sellers websites.

As for the .net, it says it is on "Backorder", which I assume means he is in his grace period. Is my only option to wait and check regularly if it becomes available?
Dookieman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 05:43 PM   #7
waloshin
macrumors 68030
 
waloshin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: in my world.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ideal.dreams View Post
If I'm not mistaken the owner has a period of like 70 days to pay a ridiculous amount of money to repurchase the domain. If he doesn't, then it becomes available. However, I'd keep your eye out because an advertising company might buy it and then you have to wait for it to expire all over again.

A domain name costing thousands of dollars though? That doesn't sound right... ".com" domains usually go for like $10.69/year at NameCheap.
He is probably trying to register through godaddy which auctions off "premium" domains for thousands.
__________________
What I wish the Nexus 5 had
2011 Macbook Air 13 1.7 Ghz i5
2008 Macbook Unibody 2.4 Ghz Core 2 Duo
waloshin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2012, 05:47 PM   #8
184550
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2008
I recently registered two domains through register.com

I'd recommend trying register.com and a combination of the coupon codes found here. I got my first domain for 90% off and my second for 35% off. Well worth it IMO.
184550 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 02:34 AM   #9
mrsir2009
macrumors 604
 
mrsir2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Have you considered a top-level country domain? It depends of course on the nature of the website, but it could even be better than a .net
mrsir2009 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 03:03 AM   #10
twietee
macrumors 68020
 
twietee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrsir2009 View Post
Have you considered a top-level country domain? It depends of course on the nature of the website, but it could even be better than a .net
What's a top-level country domain? You mean like the Swiss .ch is, which is for example, much more expensive than the German .de ?

I got a .net domain since it's meant as a kind of platform, so network was more appropriate instead of commerce. One thing I'd consider is, that, if your domain-name is rather unique, I wouldn't get a .net if .com is already used or vice versa since it can be confusing.
twietee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 12:03 PM   #11
mrsir2009
macrumors 604
 
mrsir2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by twietee View Post
What's a top-level country domain? You mean like the Swiss .ch is, which is for example, much more expensive than the German .de ?

I got a .net domain since it's meant as a kind of platform, so network was more appropriate instead of commerce. One thing I'd consider is, that, if your domain-name is rather unique, I wouldn't get a .net if .com is already used or vice versa since it can be confusing.
I mean, like: .us for the USA, .co.nz for NZ, .co.uk for the UK, .jp for Japan, etc... Domains that are specific for that country
mrsir2009 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 03:36 PM   #12
ChristianJapan
macrumors Demi-God
 
ChristianJapan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: 日本
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrsir2009 View Post
I mean, like: .us for the USA, .co.nz for NZ, .co.uk for the UK, .jp for Japan, etc... Domains that are specific for that country
But you need to live in those countries or need a proxy to register. Can be painful specially if you are globally flexible and move around a bit. I preferr the "neutral" .com/.net domains as they don't care where you live as long you pay.
__________________
Member of MacRumors.com Folding@Home Team (#3446) & developer of the F@H Mobile Monitoring app
ChristianJapan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 06:41 PM   #13
snberk103
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: An Island in the Salish Sea
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChristianJapan View Post
But you need to live in those countries or need a proxy to register. Can be painful specially if you are globally flexible and move around a bit. I preferr the "neutral" .com/.net domains as they don't care where you live as long you pay.
Only in some cases. For instance, I believe Tuvalu and Montenegro don't demand residency.... .TV and .ME

But for others it is a requirement. So... the OP needs to check around a bit.
__________________
My friends, love is better than anger. Hope is better than fear. Optimism is better than despair. So let us be loving, hopeful and optimistic. And we'll change the world. - Jack Layton
snberk103 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 09:37 PM   #14
mrsir2009
macrumors 604
 
mrsir2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChristianJapan View Post
But you need to live in those countries or need a proxy to register. Can be painful specially if you are globally flexible and move around a bit. I preferr the "neutral" .com/.net domains as they don't care where you live as long you pay.
Not true - I managed to register a .us domain normally, without using a proxy, despite the fact that I'm located in New Zealand and my IP address reflects that
mrsir2009 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 09:44 PM   #15
ChristianJapan
macrumors Demi-God
 
ChristianJapan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: 日本
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrsir2009 View Post
Not true - I managed to register a .us domain normally, without using a proxy, despite the fact that I'm located in New Zealand and my IP address reflects that
Might work for some; not for all TLD. For .de and .jp (and others) you need a residence. But we are sliding off-track for OPs original question
__________________
Member of MacRumors.com Folding@Home Team (#3446) & developer of the F@H Mobile Monitoring app
ChristianJapan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 09:54 PM   #16
mrsir2009
macrumors 604
 
mrsir2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChristianJapan View Post
Might work for some; not for all TLD. For .de and .jp (and others) you need a residence. But we are sliding off-track for OPs original question
Haha true - But if you really needed to get a restricted domain I guess you could just get a VPN to that country for $10
mrsir2009 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 4, 2013, 01:19 AM   #17
donnybwoy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
I'am from Italy can someone suggest me .com which is not much expensive.reply awaited.
donnybwoy is offline   0 Reply With Quote


Reply
MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Community Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:25 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC