Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 11, 2012, 06:45 AM   #51
Uplift
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by beestigbeestje View Post
When saving for web, you have to save 2x the resolution to view it correctly on a rMBP. Say, you want to have a 100px width for an image, you'll have to save it as 200px and use css to make it preview correctly at 100px (best for retina scale). If you save the image for web at 100px, it's 2x smaller when opening afterwards in preview on a retina screen. The photoshop canvas shows you retina quality image, but when exporting you have to make sure you have twice the pixel count, otherwise your actual image wil be smaller on your rmbp. Now, if you just "save as" then the image is as big as it was on the canvas on the rMBP screen. So using that wil make the images twice the size on regular screens.
does this make any sense?
I hardly ever use save for web.

As a test i created 1024x768/72 canvas, this was quite small... when i save this (save as) on retina it will come out as 512x384 ? and on non-retina it will display normal. So to accomodate for retina i need to create my documents at 2048x1536px/72 .. when i save this on retina it will give me 1024x768px, but on non-retina it will be twice the size (2048x1536px) .. to over come this i just need to set the size of the image on the web so that it displays correctly?

Do we keep the resolution at 72?

What about background images, we can only use background-size in IE9+ so thats not a viable solution.

I try to keep image use low and use CSS where possible so i'm hoping it's not going to be a major issue.

Finally, what about print? If i create an A4 poster at 210x297mm/300, is this exactly what i'm getting?
Uplift is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 07:09 AM   #52
JavaTheHut
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Exponent View Post
WhaddaYouMean? I've been using the 15" rMBP for 5+ months now, and love it!

I drive it in full resolution mode, and it's like having a Cinema Display on a laptop. I finally have the screen real-estate I need to to all kinds of multiple-window, multiple-program engineering work.
How do you have more screen real estate by having a 15" with higher res.? You need a larger screen or second monitor for more screen real estate. Or are you working with tiny little icons and tiny little text etc. sharp resolution but small?
JavaTheHut is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 07:13 AM   #53
KnightWRX
macrumors Pentium
 
KnightWRX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Quebec, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by JavaTheHut View Post
How do you have more screen real estate by having a 15" with higher res.? You need a larger screen or second monitor for more screen real estate. Or are you working with tiny little icons and tiny little text etc. sharp resolution but small?
Screen inches are not real-estate. 1280x800 is 1280x800 whether it's on a 13" screen or a huge hulking 19" monitor. The same content will be displayed on both, you won't fit more text on screen, as text size is mostly fixed to pixel count.

Real-estate comes from upped pixel counts. Running a 2880x1800 screen in normal mode instead of HiDPI mode (which would be 1440x900 points over 2880x1800 pixels) gives you much more room to display things, albeit, they'll all look smaller.

I personally run my 15" rMBP in 1920x1200 scaled mode. I think it's just perfect really.
__________________
"What you leave behind is not what is engraved in stone monuments, but what is woven into the lives of others."
-- Pericles
KnightWRX is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 07:39 AM   #54
Digital Skunk
macrumors 604
 
Digital Skunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In my imagination
Quote:
Originally Posted by huntermaclean View Post
If only I had $1000+ to buy CS6...
I would agree, but I've long since given the Creative Cloud a try, and I have to say that renting it at $50 a month is much better than buying it, and I get WAY more than I would paying for the Master Collection outright.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrxak View Post
Hopefully they get Lightroom updated by the time I get a retina display.
Agreed. I am in the market for a new mobile workstation, and Lightroom is a key app for me.

Quote:
Originally Posted by KnightWRX View Post
Screen inches are not real-estate. 1280x800 is 1280x800 whether it's on a 13" screen or a huge hulking 19" monitor. The same content will be displayed on both, you won't fit more text on screen, as text size is mostly fixed to pixel count.

Real-estate comes from upped pixel counts. Running a 2880x1800 screen in normal mode instead of HiDPI mode (which would be 1440x900 points over 2880x1800 pixels) gives you much more room to display things, albeit, they'll all look smaller.

I personally run my 15" rMBP in 1920x1200 scaled mode. I think it's just perfect really.
I would agree. I remember us going back and forth on the death of the 17" MBP, but I must say that 1920x1200 on the rMBP gives me the same workspace in a smaller package. I say this after 6 years of using 17" 1920x1200 screens.
__________________
What do I have?, stuff that I actually use for work! Some old, some new, all effective.
Digital Skunk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 07:39 AM   #55
JavaTheHut
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by KnightWRX View Post
Real-estate comes from upped pixel counts. Running a 2880x1800 screen in normal mode instead of HiDPI mode (which would be 1440x900 points over 2880x1800 pixels) gives you much more room to display things, albeit, they'll all look smaller.

I personally run my 15" rMBP in 1920x1200 scaled mode. I think it's just perfect really.
Yes this is exactly what I was referring to The screen resolution needs to be set to a comfortable working size for usability.
JavaTheHut is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 07:46 AM   #56
KnightWRX
macrumors Pentium
 
KnightWRX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Quebec, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by JavaTheHut View Post
Yes this is exactly what I was referring to The screen resolution needs to be set to a comfortable working size for usability.
The thing is, Apple always had huge shortcomings in this department. Something they got better on the high-res 15" MBP, right on the 2010 MBAs and now with the scaled modes on Retina MacBook Pros. All their other line-ups have atrociously low pixel counts for their screen sizes. 1280x800 13", 1440x900 15" models, those are just ludicrously bad.

Now, 1440x900 on the 13" MBA is passable, 1680x1050 on the 13" rMBP (scaled) is great, 1920x1200 on the 15" rMBP is just awesome. Those are actual comfortable sizes that provide the maximum amount of real-estate. Before, all we had were Duplo sized pixels.

Heck, Dell had better offerings a decade ago, albeit, as optional panels for their laptops.
__________________
"What you leave behind is not what is engraved in stone monuments, but what is woven into the lives of others."
-- Pericles
KnightWRX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 07:50 AM   #57
chocolaterabbit
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by iMikeT View Post
Just a useless reply to my useless post.

Here's a thought... What's worse, a useless post or a useless reply to a useless post?
I don't know which one of you is worse, but I do know that the worst is me making a useless post to reply to the useless posts from the two of you
chocolaterabbit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 08:00 AM   #58
JavaTheHut
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by KnightWRX View Post
The thing is, Apple always had huge shortcomings in this department. Something they got better on the high-res 15" MBP, right on the 2010 MBAs and now with the scaled modes on Retina MacBook Pros. All their other line-ups have atrociously low pixel counts for their screen sizes. 1280x800 13", 1440x900 15" models, those are just ludicrously bad.
Out of curiosity, since your using 15" rMBP in 1920x1200 scaled mode. When do you use the Hires mode?

Don't get me wrong I am not a detractor of higher resolutions its the future, just interested in hearing the workflow with the small 15" screen and higher res.
Thx.
JavaTheHut is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 08:16 AM   #59
Mike07335i
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Photoshop update won't install for me for some reason. (downloaded the direct FTP link)

Mike
Mike07335i is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 09:04 AM   #60
Builddesign
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
crispy vectors!
__________________
if everyone's thinking alike, then someone is not thinking
Builddesign is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 09:47 AM   #61
Dcr2k
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by thaweesak View Post
Update the Adobe Application Manager to the latest version (6.2), and everything should be updating as it should.

http://www.adobe.com/support/downloa...jsp?ftpID=4774
This worked. Thank you based gawd.
Dcr2k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 10:16 AM   #62
GorgonPhone
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Retrofire View Post
Great! :-)
yeah i would skip the retina macs.. not worth the extra money at this time
__________________
 2009 21" iMac  2011 MacBook Pro 13" i5 +  2006 21" HD Cinema Display
 iPhone4S 16Gig  iPhone5 16Gig  iPad3 16Gig
GorgonPhone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 10:27 AM   #63
Comeagain?
macrumors 68020
 
Comeagain?'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Spokane, WA
Quote:
Originally Posted by huntermaclean View Post
If only I had $1000+ to buy CS6...
Creative Cloud my friend.
__________________
Questions? MRoogle it!
Current iOS 8 "All the little things!"
MR Scavenger Score: 1
Comeagain? is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 10:30 AM   #64
Technodynamic
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Updates are a little FUBAR.

I had to update the updater after many failed attempts. Doing so allowed me to run the patches. Photoshop looked no different.

Now I run the updater again and it appears as if EVERY product in my Adobe Suite has an update. So.... letting it download a ton of updates now and waiting...
Technodynamic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 10:36 AM   #65
Dreamer2go
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asherpotter View Post
I think you mean minority.
what was I thinking. My bad yeah I mean minority -.-
__________________
2012 Retina Macbook Pro: Intel Corei7 2.6Ghz | 16GB RAM | 512GB HD | 1GB Nvidia 650M |
iPhone 5s, iPad Air, Google Nexus 5
Dreamer2go is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 11:01 AM   #66
jpadhiyar
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ahmedabad, India
Quite a lot of designers have been waiting for this. Perhaps now we can say that this changes everything again. Apple probably can take the credit for (yet again) mass-marketing the Retina philosophy..
__________________
iGeeksBlog.Com
jpadhiyar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 11:12 AM   #67
jorgetuix
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
my problem is that:

"have not been possible to apply the updates"

Is very strange because with update 13.0.1 I haven't any problems
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Captura de pantalla 2012-12-11 a la(s) 17.54.32.png
Views:	7
Size:	126.6 KB
ID:	382923  
jorgetuix is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 11:24 AM   #68
KnightWRX
macrumors Pentium
 
KnightWRX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Quebec, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by JavaTheHut View Post
Out of curiosity, since your using 15" rMBP in 1920x1200 scaled mode. When do you use the Hires mode?
Hires mode ? I don't use 2880x1800 as a native resolution, that would make things waaaay too small for me (Apple uses a god damn small font in Terminal and my workflow is entirely based around Terminal to begin with). 1920x1200 scaled is fine.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by GorgonPhone View Post
yeah i would skip the retina macs.. not worth the extra money at this time
What extra money ? The 15" rMBP is the same price as a similarly configured 15" cMBP and the screen alone makes it definately worth it.
__________________
"What you leave behind is not what is engraved in stone monuments, but what is woven into the lives of others."
-- Pericles
KnightWRX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 12:23 PM   #69
winston1236
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: ><
Quote:
Originally Posted by gmanist1000 View Post
Why?
For professional work a retina display is worthless, youll never reproduce those colors on 99% of the screens ib the world
winston1236 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 12:27 PM   #70
KnightWRX
macrumors Pentium
 
KnightWRX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Quebec, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by winston1236 View Post
For professional work a retina display is worthless, youll never reproduce those colors on 99% of the screens ib the world
Retina displays have nothing to do with color. You're talking about IPS displays ?
__________________
"What you leave behind is not what is engraved in stone monuments, but what is woven into the lives of others."
-- Pericles
KnightWRX is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 12:30 PM   #71
derbothaus
macrumors 601
 
derbothaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by winston1236 View Post
For professional work a retina display is worthless, youll never reproduce those colors on 99% of the screens ib the world
Pixel density has nothing to do with color reproduction. They are separate measurements. You don't get more color with a retina screen. You get more color with extended/ wide gamut.
__________________
Mac Pro W3680, GTX 680, 12GB DDR3, SSD; MBP, 2.6GHz Core i7, 16GB DDR3, SSD; Eizo fs2333
derbothaus is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 01:16 PM   #72
gmanist1000
macrumors 68020
 
gmanist1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by winston1236 View Post
For professional work a retina display is worthless, youll never reproduce those colors on 99% of the screens ib the world
Time for the world to catch up.
gmanist1000 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 01:34 PM   #73
stueee123
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
issues solved!

If you're having problems getting the update on applications acquired through unsavoury means, try reinstalling the applications, and immediately updating them as soon as they're installed. Then replace the amt.framework file after the update (your second time doing it). Don't update Adobe Application Manager with a patch from Adobe's website. Hope this helps
stueee123 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 01:44 PM   #74
willcapellaro
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by stueee123 View Post
If you're having problems getting the update on applications acquired through unsavoury means, try reinstalling the applications, and immediately updating them as soon as they're installed. Then replace the amt.framework file after the update (your second time doing it). Don't update Adobe Application Manager with a patch from Adobe's website. Hope this helps
How unsavoury are we talking about and how much do we need to thaw the thumb the original owner's thumb before scanning it?
willcapellaro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2012, 01:53 PM   #75
Konstruktor
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Rotterdam, NL
Quote:
Originally Posted by beestigbeestje View Post
When saving for web, you have to save 2x the resolution to view it correctly on a rMBP. Say, you want to have a 100px width for an image, you'll have to save it as 200px and use css to make it preview correctly at 100px (best for retina scale). If you save the image for web at 100px, it's 2x smaller when opening afterwards in preview on a retina screen. The photoshop canvas shows you retina quality image, but when exporting you have to make sure you have twice the pixel count, otherwise your actual image wil be smaller on your rmbp. Now, if you just "save as" then the image is as big as it was on the canvas on the rMBP screen. So using that wil make the images twice the size on regular screens.
does this make any sense?
Dank u! Thanks!

I don't think I quite understand it yet though .
In your above example, is the PS canvas 100px or 200px?
And how is a 100px canvas displayed in PS? With 200 'retina' pixels, or 100 'retina' pixels (e.g. smaller then another screen)?

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uplift View Post
I hardly ever use save for web.

As a test i created 1024x768/72 canvas, this was quite small... when i save this (save as) on retina it will come out as 512x384 ? and on non-retina it will display normal. So to accomodate for retina i need to create my documents at 2048x1536px/72 .. when i save this on retina it will give me 1024x768px, but on non-retina it will be twice the size (2048x1536px) .. to over come this i just need to set the size of the image on the web so that it displays correctly?

Do we keep the resolution at 72?

What about background images, we can only use background-size in IE9+ so thats not a viable solution.

I try to keep image use low and use CSS where possible so i'm hoping it's not going to be a major issue.

Finally, what about print? If i create an A4 poster at 210x297mm/300, is this exactly what i'm getting?
Is your first alinea a question, or did you find it out? The question marks make it a bit confusing .
Konstruktor is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adobe CS6 and Retina Display timothytaa MacBook Pro 49 May 8, 2014 08:26 AM
Adobe Updates Photoshop Lightroom With Retina Support MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 14 Dec 15, 2012 01:52 AM
Photoshop CS6 Retina Display Support Coming on December 11? MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 68 Dec 11, 2012 11:14 AM
Retina Display Support Coming to Photoshop CS6 and Lightroom 4 in 'Coming Months' [Updated] MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 93 Aug 31, 2012 06:03 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC