Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > Mac Blog Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jun 19, 2013, 03:36 PM   #1
MacRumors
macrumors bot
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
How to Run OS X Mavericks in a Parallels Virtual Machine




Parallels has posted instructions on how to install the developer release of OS X Mavericks into its virtualization software. Installing the beta in a virtual machine allows developers to test their software in a secure environment on production machines, without endangering their day-to-day work.

Quote:
As you may have heard, Apple has released to its Developer Community a preview of the next version of OS X: OS X Mavericks. What is the easiest way to use a new operating system, especially a early preview of an operating system currently still under development? In a virtual machine in Parallels Desktop, of course. So, the Engineering team at Parallels has released Knowledge Base articles about installing OS X Mavericks in Parallels Desktop 8 and about installing Parallels Desktop 8 on a Mac that is running OS X Mavericks:
The company notes that users cannot install Mavericks into a clean virtual machine, but they can upgrade an already existing OS X virtual machine to Mavericks with only a few minor changes.

Article Link: How to Run OS X Mavericks in a Parallels Virtual Machine
MacRumors is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2013, 03:38 PM   #2
Michaelgtrusa
macrumors 68040
 
Michaelgtrusa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Everywhere And Nowhere
Cannot install Mavericks into a clean virtual machine?
__________________
iMACAll life is an experiment. The more experiments you make the better.
TWITTER TUMBLR
Michaelgtrusa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2013, 03:41 PM   #3
roadbloc
macrumors 604
 
roadbloc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: UK
Yo dawg. I heard you liked OS X....
__________________
roadbloc is offline   24 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2013, 03:57 PM   #4
Porshuh944turbo
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Been waiting for this. Great option to have.
Porshuh944turbo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2013, 04:08 PM   #5
AbdullahTammour
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
VirtualBox

is there a way to install Mavericks using VirtualBox?
AbdullahTammour is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2013, 04:16 PM   #6
arkmannj
macrumors 65816
 
arkmannj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: UT
Send a message via AIM to arkmannj
Personally I'm a VMWare guy, has anyone tried installing Mavs. in Fusion?
arkmannj is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2013, 04:43 PM   #7
RMo
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Iowa, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michaelgtrusa View Post
Cannot install Mavericks into a clean virtual machine?
I'd say you can, it's just not supported (by Parallels). Some people have apparently managed to get it to work: http://reversi.ng/install-os-x-10-9-...resh-or-on-vm/
RMo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2013, 04:48 PM   #8
rdlink
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michaelgtrusa View Post
Cannot install Mavericks into a clean virtual machine?
This is something that both Parallels and VMWare will overcome in short order. Any time a new OS comes out they need time to update their software to recognize the installer file properly. Remember folks, this is still a very early dev OS.

BTW: I'm running it in Parallels right now, and the biggest issue I have is that it doesn't recognize the fact that I have a second monitor attached.
__________________
Desktop, Desktop, Laptop, Phone, Tablet
rdlink is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2013, 04:55 PM   #9
donutbagel
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by AbdullahTammour View Post
is there a way to install Mavericks using VirtualBox?
I tried and failed to install Lion in VirtualBox already. Snow Leopard Server worked, but it was slow.

----------

I already put Mavericks as a clean install on VMWare Fusion; however, it was on an existing Mountain Lion virtual machine that I added a second bootup disk to. The graphics were having major problems in certain cases, but it booted and worked.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by arkmannj View Post
Personally I'm a VMWare guy, has anyone tried installing Mavs. in Fusion?
I did, posted about it above.
donutbagel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2013, 05:05 PM   #10
WissMAN
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Sounds like a interesting option.
WissMAN is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2013, 06:18 PM   #11
sirdir
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by arkmannj View Post
Personally I'm a VMWare guy, has anyone tried installing Mavs. in Fusion?
Upgrading from 10.8 works. Direct install is tricky.
sirdir is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2013, 08:19 PM   #12
Candlelight
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: New Zealand
Is it possible to run VMWare on Mavericks? I can't seem to run any of my existing machines (which were created on Lion). Haven't tried a new machine yet.
Candlelight is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2013, 10:28 PM   #13
Zyphras
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
I don't think that Mavericks is an interesting version of OS X to try out in a virtual machine. The final version will be much more interesting as you'll install that on your MacBook and notice the improvement in your battery life consumption. As for other features, it's not hugely interesting.
Zyphras is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2013, 11:05 PM   #14
petrucci666
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Francisco, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michaelgtrusa View Post
Cannot install Mavericks into a clean virtual machine?
Makes no sense. Why would I have a virtual machine of a Mac, on a Mac?
petrucci666 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2013, 11:11 PM   #15
JetStar
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by petrucci666 View Post
Makes no sense. Why would I have a virtual machine of a Mac, on a Mac?
It allows you to run beta OSes such as Mavericks without the risk of messing up your main OS.
Second, some older software cannot run on the latest OSes, so you run the software in older versions in the virtual machine.

There might be other reasons, which I don't know of.
JetStar is offline   6 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2013, 01:10 AM   #16
Elderloc
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by arkmannj View Post
Personally I'm a VMWare guy, has anyone tried installing Mavs. in Fusion?
I have not tried it yet but you should download the new 2013 Fusion Beta from VMware that would be your best bet.

http://communities.vmware.com/commun...ta/fusion_2013
Elderloc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2013, 03:22 AM   #17
ChrisA
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Redondo Beach, California
Quote:
Originally Posted by petrucci666 View Post
Makes no sense. Why would I have a virtual machine of a Mac, on a Mac?
Two good reasons. I've done this for both reasons.

Software testing. I want to be sure my software runs well on different versions of the OS

Failure containment. If the new Beta OS blows up I don't want it to corrupt my "real" disks. the version running inside the VM can only destroy the VM image and those can be restored in minutes
ChrisA is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2013, 04:55 AM   #18
cryingrobot
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Based on what happened with Lions, even if it does work somehow, Parallels will cripple their current version and make you buy their new version.
cryingrobot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2013, 09:30 AM   #19
arkmannj
macrumors 65816
 
arkmannj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: UT
Send a message via AIM to arkmannj
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elderloc View Post
I have not tried it yet but you should download the new 2013 Fusion Beta from VMware that would be your best bet.

http://communities.vmware.com/commun...ta/fusion_2013

Thanks!
arkmannj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2013, 10:54 AM   #20
petrucci666
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Francisco, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisA View Post
Two good reasons. I've done this for both reasons.

Software testing. I want to be sure my software runs well on different versions of the OS

Failure containment. If the new Beta OS blows up I don't want it to corrupt my "real" disks. the version running inside the VM can only destroy the VM image and those can be restored in minutes
Sorry, I phrased my reply wrong.

It said you can't install Mavericks as a clean virtual machine, but only as an upgrade to an already existing OSX version in a virtual machine.

If I have Mountain Lion as my main OS, why would I also have Mountain Lion installed as a virtual machine?
petrucci666 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2013, 12:00 PM   #21
xcodeaddict
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
All working nicely here:

xcodeaddict is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2013, 12:39 PM   #22
ctakah
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Yep, running Mavericks DP inside Fusion DP, alongside WIN8 on 10.8.5 as the hostů Did a clean install of the Mavericks too! But as someone mentioned, doing a clean install involves a lot of shamanic dances and voodoo rituals converting the original disk image to VMDK, then Mavericks tried to install itself onto the virtual disk image it was installing itself from, so i had to make another virtual partition for it there blah blah blah...
but it works!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen-Shot-2013-06-20-at-1.26.15-PM.jpg
Views:	79
Size:	1.89 MB
ID:	418745  
ctakah is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2013, 03:23 PM   #23
stuckwithme247
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by JetStar View Post
It allows you to run beta OSes such as Mavericks without the risk of messing up your main OS.
Second, some older software cannot run on the latest OSes, so you run the software in older versions in the virtual machine.

There might be other reasons, which I don't know of.
You can partition your hard drive with Disk Utility, without having to reformat the drive, and install Mavericks there. Your primary (probably Mountain Lion) partition will mount automatically, and that can be annoying when using Spotlight, but there is a simple fix for that here.

It might work alright in Parallels, but why introduce other variables into the equation when testing and developing with Mavericks?
stuckwithme247 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 20, 2013, 03:36 PM   #24
furi0usbee
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Doing this right now, however Parallels 8 outputs the OS to full 2880 resolution. It doesn't do what Apple does with showing the resolution at 1440 effectively (relative size). So everything is very tiny at full resolution.

Going to contact Parallels and see if they have a fix coming. Other than that, I have to scale it to 1440 which is fuzzy and not at retina resolution.

Anyone have a fix?

Bryan

----------


EDIT: Forgot to say I'm using a retina MacBook Pro.
__________________
YouTube - Apple iPhone Support Hotline (Actual Phone Call Recording)
MacBook Pro 15" (Retina) 2.3GHz i7 / 8GB RAM  iPad mini (AT&T) (16GB)
furi0usbee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2013, 03:46 PM   #25
osiris24x
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by petrucci666 View Post
Makes no sense. Why would I have a virtual machine of a Mac, on a Mac?
So you can play with new Mac operating systems without risking your stable install and your data?
__________________
Roger Michaels
Apple Certified Consultant
PDXMacRepair.com
osiris24x is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > Mac Blog Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:20 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC