Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPad

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 19, 2012, 01:15 AM   #1
GUIZAR
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Unhappy Wasted all 3gb of my data with AT&T one weekend

I got my New IPad on Friday I Was really excited with the 4G LTE speed. Right now I just got a message saying I'm almost out of data? I don't know how this could happen I don't feel like I use that much data and I was using WiFi most of the time. I never had a problem with my iPad 2 I had 2gb and never ran out. Anybody having this issue?.
GUIZAR is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2012, 01:23 AM   #2
batotman
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Yeah, it's called AT&T ripping you off. A friend of mine 'somehow' went through over 1GB of data hours after getting her iPhone. 'Somehow' we got charged for texting services we never signed up for. 'Somehow' they overcharged me on my home phone service and internet 10 of 12 months. I had to call to get adjustments all the time. The worst. I will never do business with them again. My wifes grandpa retired from there. Said its a totally different company these days.
batotman is offline   8 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2012, 01:24 AM   #3
jsalicru
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by GUIZAR View Post
I got my New IPad on Friday I Was really excited with the 4G LTE speed. Right now I just got a message saying I'm almost out of data? I don't know how this could happen I don't feel like I use that much data and I was using WiFi most of the time. I never had a problem with my iPad 2 I had 2gb and never ran out. Anybody having this issue?.
It can happen. I did two speed tests and let it sit while downloading apps for a minute (literally) and used 69MB
__________________
I own mac stuff.
jsalicru is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2012, 01:27 AM   #4
CNeufeld
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Your data amount isn't prorated, is it?

C
CNeufeld is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2012, 01:29 AM   #5
richpjr
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: May 2006
Wow, that sucks. I guess you should make sure to turn off your celular when you are on wifi. I activated Verizon this weekend on mine, but haven't taken it out of the house yet, so I haven't used any. I guess I will watch it. Perhaps you might want to invest in something like DataUsage to monitor.
richpjr is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2012, 01:50 AM   #6
Built
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Were you streaming video?

I do some pretty data intensive tasks and the only time I ever hit the cap is when I begin streaming video.
Built is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2012, 10:37 AM   #7
100Teraflops
macrumors 6502a
 
100Teraflops's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Somewhere in Ohio
When I'm not using 4G LTE, I turn it off to avoid the possible confusion and loss of data.
__________________
Long live the photographer! Got memories? Record your moments with current electronic devices. I stumble, fall, get up and do it again.
100Teraflops is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2012, 10:39 AM   #8
soco
macrumors 68030
 
soco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Kew Gardens, New York
This is ludacris! They should have a toggle for turning this LTE off!

__________________
TMobile iPhone 5s MacBook Pro (2011)
Canon EOS Rebel T3 Canon 28mm f/1.8
Contribute to MacRumors: Become a Demi-God!
soco is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2012, 10:42 AM   #9
dukeblue91
macrumors 65816
 
dukeblue91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC
Send a message via AIM to dukeblue91
Call them and say that you did not use that much.
This is also a reason why I got the wifi only as I tether if I have a need for cell data.
__________________
Mac Pro Quad 2.8 16GB Ram, 3.5TB HDD, 2x SP2208WFP Monitors.
2010 White MacBook, 2.4 Core 2 Duo, 4 Gig of Ram, 250GB HD.
HTC One X Phone, iPad 3 16GB Wifi,
My website http://www.js-jewelers.com
dukeblue91 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2012, 10:44 AM   #10
MajesticNJ
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Almost replied saying they do with details how to get to the setting until I realized you were being sarcastic.

Quote:
Originally Posted by soco View Post
This is ludacris! They should have a toggle for turning this LTE off!

MajesticNJ is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2012, 10:48 AM   #11
aka777
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by batotman View Post
Yeah, it's called AT&T ripping you off. A friend of mine 'somehow' went through over 1GB of data hours after getting her iPhone. 'Somehow' we got charged for texting services we never signed up for. 'Somehow' they overcharged me on my home phone service and internet 10 of 12 months. I had to call to get adjustments all the time. The worst. I will never do business with them again. My wifes grandpa retired from there. Said its a totally different company these days.
People forget that this is not the old AT&T - they're gone. This is crappy Southwestern Bell with the AT&T label on itself. It's why they are so sneaky and couldn't care less about service or what a customer thinks.
aka777 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2012, 10:54 AM   #12
sulpfiction
macrumors 68020
 
sulpfiction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Philadelphia Area
Quote:
Originally Posted by GUIZAR View Post
I got my New IPad on Friday I Was really excited with the 4G LTE speed. Right now I just got a message saying I'm almost out of data? I don't know how this could happen I don't feel like I use that much data and I was using WiFi most of the time. I never had a problem with my iPad 2 I had 2gb and never ran out. Anybody having this issue?.
How much is "not much"? Tell us exactly what you did while on LTE (forget wifi) so we can get a basic idea. Considering you said "I don't feel I use that much data" kinda makes me think that your definition of "not much" might be a little skewed...But maybe not. Fill us in!
sulpfiction is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2012, 10:55 AM   #13
davidjacobs21
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
I have a verizon ipad. This is the first time i got a non wifi only ipad. If i connect to my wifi at home, i assume im not using my verizon data. Do i also have to turn off cellular data? i assumed if i connect to my wifi, then thats what im using.
davidjacobs21 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2012, 10:57 AM   #14
KPOM
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Make sure you really were connected to Wi-Fi. I have used about 13MB of my 1GB Verizon allocation over the same time, but I have used LTE only sparingly.
KPOM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2012, 10:58 AM   #15
LoloBond
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by CNeufeld View Post
Your data amount isn't prorated, is it?

C
Might be the problem and that's why he doesn't have the whole 3 GB.
LoloBond is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2012, 10:59 AM   #16
waynep
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
My duaghter was going through iPhone data like crazy . . found out she was using Pandora all the time over 3G . . .
waynep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2012, 11:01 AM   #17
IllIllIll
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by soco View Post
This is ludacris!


Maybe he's using up all your data.
IllIllIll is offline   18 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2012, 11:02 AM   #18
deeddawg
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: US
Quote:
Originally Posted by KPOM View Post
Make sure you really were connected to Wi-Fi.
This. A couple times I've been messing around trying speedtest on my iphone, disconnected from wifi to do the speed test, then forgot to reconnect.
deeddawg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2012, 11:03 AM   #19
syedrizvi21
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: USA
Damn
__________________
15'' MacBook Pro, Aluminum Style, 2.33GHz, 4GB RAM, 250HDASUS 25'' 1920X1200 Monitor,/ 32GB Iphone 4
Canon 450D/18-55mm f/3.5-5.6/EF-100mmf/2.8

www.SyedRizvi.shutterfly.com
syedrizvi21 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2012, 11:05 AM   #20
ZipZap
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Log into you account and view your usage.

I am sure the OP was streaming and other data intensive activities now that they work properly under LTE.
ZipZap is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2012, 11:07 AM   #21
MarkG21
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
What does your "Cellular Usage" in general settings say?


Are you on post paid or prepaid?
MarkG21 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2012, 11:09 AM   #22
Stealthipad
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by soco View Post
This is ludacris! They should have a toggle for turning this LTE off!

They do have a way of turning it on and off but you got to do it.

Leaving it on cellular when you first get your device, the iPad was likely updating and downloading software and updates.

I use the cellular and you only turn it on when you need it and then you turn it right back off. iPads are very data intensive. This works grewat for send that email and even an occasion image but it is up to YOU to turn cellualr off when you are near a friendly WiFi.

Do not blame AT&T as Verizon will do the exact same thing
Stealthipad is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2012, 11:10 AM   #23
deeddawg
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: US
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stealthipad View Post
They do have a way of turning it on and off but you got to do it.
I think soco was being facetious...
deeddawg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2012, 11:14 AM   #24
Stealthipad
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by batotman View Post
Yeah, it's called AT&T ripping you off. A friend of mine 'somehow' went through over 1GB of data hours after getting her iPhone. 'Somehow' we got charged for texting services we never signed up for. 'Somehow' they overcharged me on my home phone service and internet 10 of 12 months. I had to call to get adjustments all the time. The worst. I will never do business with them again. My wifes grandpa retired from there. Said its a totally different company these days.
How is it AT&T's fault you used the data. Verizon would do the same thing!

Data is data and is counted the same no matter which carrier!

Most companies have changed from the time their "grandpa" used to work there. LOL!
Stealthipad is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2012, 11:15 AM   #25
jameschho
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Pasadena, CA
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (Linux; U; Android 4.0.4; en-us; Galaxy Nexus Build/IMM30B) AppleWebKit/535.7 (KHTML, like Gecko) CrMo/16.0.912.77 Mobile Safari/535.7)

I have the Verizon iPad, activated the LTE on Friday, used it some and then was on wifi the rest of the time. It somehow said I had burned through almost a GB of data. I really doubt I used that much data, I think it is counting wrong. I get the sneaking suspicion that it is counting wifi data if cellular data is on even though the bits are going though wifi. I have not been able to conform though.
__________________
iMac "Core i5" 2.7 21.5-Inch (Mid-2011), rMBP 13 Inch "Core i7" 2.8 (Late-2013), iPad 3rd Gen Verizon, iPhone 5 GSM
jameschho is offline   -1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPad

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPad 3 with 5.3GB of 'Other' data DanielCalladine iOS 5 and earlier 2 Nov 19, 2012 03:35 AM
How I Got a Free Upgrade from 300MB to 3GB Data (AT&T) agroundw iPhone 21 Oct 5, 2012 05:39 PM
3gb data plan somony iPhone 5 Sep 30, 2012 03:52 AM
AT&T no longer has 2GB data...now 3GB? APPLEFAN8 iPhone 13 Sep 13, 2012 09:11 AM
WTF!? AT&T Reducing Data Speed For Customers Who Use OVER 3GB VideoNewbie iPhone 9 Jun 15, 2012 05:35 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:15 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC