Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 18, 2012, 09:11 AM   #1
zenluiz
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Smile Does switching off "Cellular data" also turns off 3G automatically?

Hi...

Due to battery consumption reasons, I like to turn off whatever functionality I am not using at the moment.

One thing that annoys me is that everytime I want to turn off cellular data and 3G (which is known to be battery hungry) I need to go to these two separate switches.

Then I wonder... Does switching off "Cellular data" also turns off 3G automatically?

Thanks!
zenluiz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 09:13 AM   #2
rockyroad55
macrumors 68040
 
rockyroad55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Phila, PA
It will turn off 3G 2G or anything that uses cellular data. You will only be able to use wifi and make phone calls
rockyroad55 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 09:15 AM   #3
Paito
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Yes it when you turn off cellular in settings it turns off 3G. When I'm not using my iphone I turn off wifi as well.
__________________
iPhone 5S Black - 16 GB ( T-Mobile ) ; AirPort Express ( 2nd Gen ) ; Apple TV ( 3rd Gen )
Paito is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 09:40 AM   #4
Beeplance
macrumors 65816
 
Beeplance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Singapore
For the iPhone 5, yes, because it only has the "Enable LTE" option and the "Cellular data" option. Here, 3G constitutes under cellular data.

For the 4S and older, you can turn off 3G, but still have cellular data, because there's a "Enable 3G" toggle that's lacking in the iPhone 5.
Beeplance is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 09:53 AM   #5
dave420
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paito View Post
Yes it when you turn off cellular in settings it turns off 3G. When I'm not using my iphone I turn off wifi as well.
That's the opposite of what I have heard. I've heard that even though it doesn't show 3G it is still actually using the 3G network to make calls. It just doesn't have any data. Is there any definite way to test? I guess on an AT&T phone you could make a call next to a speaker with cellular data off and see if there is static. (2G will make speakers around the phone make noises)

Some areas AT&T has been removing the 2G network, or at least reducing it. it wouldn't make sense for the phone to use the older network that the carrier is trying to phase out.
dave420 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 01:49 PM   #6
Paito
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave420 View Post
That's the opposite of what I have heard. I've heard that even though it doesn't show 3G it is still actually using the 3G network to make calls. It just doesn't have any data. Is there any definite way to test? I guess on an AT&T phone you could make a call next to a speaker with cellular data off and see if there is static. (2G will make speakers around the phone make noises)

Some areas AT&T has been removing the 2G network, or at least reducing it. it wouldn't make sense for the phone to use the older network that the carrier is trying to phase out.
I did not add "data" to cellular in my comment because thats what it says in settings.
__________________
iPhone 5S Black - 16 GB ( T-Mobile ) ; AirPort Express ( 2nd Gen ) ; Apple TV ( 3rd Gen )
Paito is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 01:55 PM   #7
Jordan921
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Bay Area
Yes turning off cellular data turns off 3G aswell
Jordan921 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 01:56 PM   #8
Browns2212
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Orchard Park, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave420 View Post
That's the opposite of what I have heard. I've heard that even though it doesn't show 3G it is still actually using the 3G network to make calls. It just doesn't have any data. Is there any definite way to test? I guess on an AT&T phone you could make a call next to a speaker with cellular data off and see if there is static. (2G will make speakers around the phone make noises)

Some areas AT&T has been removing the 2G network, or at least reducing it. it wouldn't make sense for the phone to use the older network that the carrier is trying to phase out.
Couldn't you just turn off "cellular" and/or "LTE" and then just try to make and receive a phone call?

Also, doesn't putting the phone into "Airplane Mode" basically do the same thing? That is, turn off all cellular data??
Browns2212 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 03:13 PM   #9
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave420 View Post
That's the opposite of what I have heard. I've heard that even though it doesn't show 3G it is still actually using the 3G network to make calls. It just doesn't have any data. Is there any definite way to test? I guess on an AT&T phone you could make a call next to a speaker with cellular data off and see if there is static. (2G will make speakers around the phone make noises)

Some areas AT&T has been removing the 2G network, or at least reducing it. it wouldn't make sense for the phone to use the older network that the carrier is trying to phase out.
Exactly.
Turning off cellular data does not turn off 3G. It just disables all carrier data usage. You can still use 3G to connect to the network for calls and texts.
Two different things.
You can turn off cellular data and you will still see 3G/4G up on the top left corner.
Applejuiced is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 03:26 PM   #10
dave420
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paito View Post
I did not add "data" to cellular in my comment because thats what it says in settings.
The menu says "cellular" but the option to turn it off or on says "cellular data"
You can still make a call with the option off, so obviously it isn't turning everything off. (Oddly after turning that option off it does say "cellular off" when you are in the general settings menu)

I believe you are still on 3G with that option off, just 3G without data. I can try the speaker trick I mentioned above when I am at home, but I don't think it drops down to 2G.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Browns2212 View Post
Couldn't you just turn off "cellular" and/or "LTE" and then just try to make and receive a phone call?

Also, doesn't putting the phone into "Airplane Mode" basically do the same thing? That is, turn off all cellular data??
You can make calls, but there is no indication of whether it is 2G or 3G. Honestly I don't see the difference between the 2 anyway.
dave420 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 03:28 PM   #11
Daveoc64
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bristol, UK
Please don't think that 3G has anything to do with data - it doesn't.
__________________
Nexus 5 32GB Black (Three UK) | Nexus 7 (2012) | Kindle Paperwhite (2013)
iPhone 4 32GB
White MacBook (Late 2007)
Windows 8.1 | iCloud, Dropbox, Spotify Premium
Daveoc64 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 06:53 PM   #12
dkh587
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applejuiced View Post
Exactly.
Turning off cellular data does not turn off 3G. It just disables all carrier data usage. You can still use 3G to connect to the network for calls and texts.
Two different things.
You can turn off cellular data and you will still see 3G/4G up on the top left corner.
Huh? I have an iPhone 5 and it does not show 3G nor 4G when I switch Cellular Data to OFF. Care to explain further?
dkh587 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 07:20 PM   #13
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dkh587 View Post
Huh? I have an iPhone 5 and it does not show 3G nor 4G when I switch Cellular Data to OFF. Care to explain further?
They must have changed it with iOS 6.0 and higher.
On previous firmware versions when you turned off carrier data the 3G or 4G indicator stayed there.
Now it goes away like you said but your phone is still connected to the 3G network for calls and texts. It just doesn't display the logo up there.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 07:36 PM   #14
90miles
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
It is still there for me as you can see it

__________________
Base 15" rMBP
iPad 2 32GB+3G
iPhone 5 16GB
iPod Classic 80GB (5th gen)
90miles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 07:58 PM   #15
haruhiko
macrumors 68030
 
haruhiko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by zenluiz View Post
Hi...

Due to battery consumption reasons, I like to turn off whatever functionality I am not using at the moment.

One thing that annoys me is that everytime I want to turn off cellular data and 3G (which is known to be battery hungry) I need to go to these two separate switches.

Then I wonder... Does switching off "Cellular data" also turns off 3G automatically?

Thanks!
Does turn off my phone also turn off my Instagram???
__________________
rMBP'12 15" 2.3GHz, iPad Air 2 LTE 64GB, iPhone 6 Plus Space Grey 128GB
iMac'08/24",Mini'09,MBP'10/15",MBA'11/13". iPhone 5s,5,4S,4,3GS. iPT: 3,1. iPad: Air,4,3,2,1,Mini2. ATV'12,'11, AEBS'09,TC'13.
haruhiko is online now   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 08:12 PM   #16
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by 90miles View Post
It is still there for me as you can see it

Image
Yep.
It varies by carrier.
AT&T doesn't want us turning 3G off cause they're getting rid of their 2G service little by little. So that option is not there at all.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 08:37 PM   #17
Mengels7
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
I'm not certain on the answer, but OP never established their carrier. I know on CDMA carrier Verizon, all voice is over their 2G 1x network, data over 3G and LTE. When you make a call, the phone instantly disables the LTE bit of the radio and removes the 3G symbol. It's possible he's asking, and I'm also curious now, as to whether disabling cellular data on this CDMA model disables the 3G connection.
Mengels7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 08:41 PM   #18
90miles
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applejuiced View Post
Yep.
It varies by carrier.
AT&T doesn't want us turning 3G off cause they're getting rid of their 2G service little by little. So that option is not there at all.
Even if you are roaming?
__________________
Base 15" rMBP
iPad 2 32GB+3G
iPhone 5 16GB
iPod Classic 80GB (5th gen)
90miles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 10:34 PM   #19
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by 90miles View Post
Even if you are roaming?
Good question.
Not sure what happens when you roam to another network outside the US.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 12:30 AM   #20
scaredpoet
macrumors 603
 
scaredpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mengels7 View Post
I know on CDMA carrier Verizon, all voice is over their 2G 1x network,
Actually, 1xRTT is part of the CDMA2000 spec, and therefore considered "3G."

(This is also how Verizon has been able to claim a much large 3G map than AT&T. They basically have been doing with "3G" what AT&T is doing with "4G," only Verizon's played that game for much, much longer.)

The older and way less capable cdmaOne network is considered "2G" and was capable of about 14.4Kbps data speeds, using something very similar to circuit switched data.


With 1x being predominant across Sprint and Verizon, that makes it technically impossible to turn off 3G on a Verizon/Sprint iPhone without completely shutting off the cellular radio.
__________________
If you're not a clairvoyant, then you shouldn't be speaking for a dead guy.
I'm here to talk about Apple stuff, and related tech stuff. Your political beliefs? I really couldn't care less about.

Last edited by scaredpoet; Dec 19, 2012 at 12:36 AM.
scaredpoet is online now   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone 4S Cellular data turns on automatically rak007 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 10 Jan 22, 2014 03:00 AM
iPad 3 stuck "Searching" for Cellular Data Connection SLOWBRA iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 5 Dec 31, 2013 03:47 PM
iPad: iPad 2 wifi 3G - No "Enable 3G" option for cellular data rak007 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 2 Oct 13, 2012 12:16 AM
iPhone 4, Verizon, "Could not activate Cellular Data Network" iF34R iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 2 Aug 19, 2012 11:47 AM
iPad 3 "cellular plan expired" in New York City: Plenty of data left blue2noise iPad 2 Aug 18, 2012 09:47 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:54 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC