Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 18, 2012, 04:28 AM   #251
pubjoe
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by iMartijn View Post
I found this scematic. Perhaps it is of some help.

Image
Thanks but that's msata. The 'blade type' connector apple uses appears slightly different. Although it's not exclusive to apple so it may well be documented.

Last edited by pubjoe; Dec 18, 2012 at 05:07 AM.
pubjoe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 04:55 AM   #252
NVRENUF!
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: PERTH, Australia
Send a message via Skype™ to NVRENUF!
Well over the last two days we have now pulled apart 3 imac 27 inch machines and installed SSD drives.

even pulled one apart twice.

no problems all went well

got photos i will post tonight
NVRENUF! is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 05:05 AM   #253
Wong Jowo
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Worcester, MA & Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Quote:
Originally Posted by NVRENUF! View Post
Well over the last two days we have now pulled apart 3 imac 27 inch machines and installed SSD drives.

even pulled one apart twice.

no problems all went well

got photos i will post tonight
Can't wait.
Wong Jowo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 05:38 AM   #254
elberggreno
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by R.OG View Post
I'm sure a board that size will fit with the right cable. If i get some free time i will try to design a board that converts the blade ssd port to standard SATA.
I'd buy that in a heartbeat!
elberggreno is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 08:51 AM   #255
R.OG
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by pubjoe View Post
You're awesome R.OG. I was thinking the same thing, it's a pretty simple project, but I wouldn't know where to find a pinout diagram (have toshiba published this?) or would it be easy enough to trace? Either way, better someone with confidence in this stuff does it, such as yourself.

This would definitely be the best way to go. A standard SSD could be placed in the HDD mount using the power meant for SATA1, but be connected to SATA0, where the firmware expects to find an SSD. This way, the diagnostic tools wouldn't throw up any errors due to no temperature sensor being detected on SATA01.

Also, I'm sure quite a few people would be interested. It would be cheap enough to make a run of 50-100.
I plan to get the pinout from this board. It's a simple design but i probably won't get a chance to work on it till mid january.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	$(KGrHqV,!pcFB(p3gvUCBQWUv3hcvg~~60_3.JPG
Views:	56
Size:	87.7 KB
ID:	384361  
R.OG is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 08:56 AM   #256
pubjoe
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Doh, I just came here to say I finally realised that.
pubjoe is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 08:59 AM   #257
iMartijn
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: the Low Countries
...

Last edited by iMartijn; Dec 19, 2012 at 03:06 AM.
iMartijn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 04:24 PM   #258
NVRENUF!
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: PERTH, Australia
Send a message via Skype™ to NVRENUF!
Well I didn't get as many photos as i thought i would. when it came time to open them we were more worried about trying to do it carefully and correct.

but i got some anyway, probably the same as you have already seen but anyway .
Link to large file
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/721753/imac..._8306large.jpg





https://dl.dropbox.com/u/721753/imac...pe%20large.jpg

NVRENUF! is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 06:10 PM   #259
HunterMaximus
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by NVRENUF! View Post
Well I didn't get as many photos as i thought i would. when it came time to open them we were more worried about trying to do it carefully and correct.

but i got some anyway, probably the same as you have already seen but anyway .
Nice pics. Looks like you used the replacement tape around the whole perimeter of the machine. Don't suppose you've tried re-opening it to see if it's more difficult?

Also, what was your technique to avoid the camera and Wi-Fi antennas? Is it something you need to be particularly careful about, or just aware of what you're doing?
HunterMaximus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 07:38 PM   #260
NVRENUF!
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: PERTH, Australia
Send a message via Skype™ to NVRENUF!
Quote:
Originally Posted by HunterMaximus View Post
Nice pics. Looks like you used the replacement tape around the whole perimeter of the machine. Don't suppose you've tried re-opening it to see if it's more difficult?

Also, what was your technique to avoid the camera and Wi-Fi antennas? Is it something you need to be particularly careful about, or just aware of what you're doing?

we actually did have to open it again, And it was slightly harder but was still fine. I rather that at least i know screen is on safe.

as for wifi antenna, they are flush with screen so you can't damage them.

the camera you just stop short of of it .

we used a guitar pick .
NVRENUF! is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 08:11 PM   #261
Tri-stan
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by NVRENUF! View Post
we actually did have to open it again, And it was slightly harder but was still fine. I rather that at least i know screen is on safe.

as for wifi antenna, they are flush with screen so you can't damage them.

the camera you just stop short of of it .

we used a guitar pick .
Do you think it is better to replace the HHD with a 2.5 inch SSD rather than installing a compatible blade SSD? Doing this means that you have to use an external storage solution. It would be good if you could get an affordable 1000 gig SSD's but that is years off.
__________________
Haswell or Broardwell MBP? iGPU!
Tri-stan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 08:21 PM   #262
NVRENUF!
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: PERTH, Australia
Send a message via Skype™ to NVRENUF!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tri-stan View Post
Do you think it is better to replace the HHD with a 2.5 inch SSD rather than installing a compatible blade SSD? Doing this means that you have to use an external storage solution. It would be good if you could get an affordable 1000 gig SSD's but that is years off.


I have a NAS which is in RAID better than having in my imac.

I like having the storage all locked in a secure room separate from the computer.
NVRENUF! is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 09:22 PM   #263
WilliamG
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Seattle
Thanks for the photos. Did you use the 3M VHM tape RO.G used?

Also, in 3 days or so, it will be considerably harder to remove the screen. Perhaps impossible without damage, since the tape bonds in that time from what I read...
__________________
iMac, MacBook Air, Mac mini, iPad, iPhone, 55-11
www.bighugenerd.com
WilliamG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 10:14 PM   #264
NVRENUF!
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: PERTH, Australia
Send a message via Skype™ to NVRENUF!
we used a VHB tape, but not the 3m one. we couldn't get hold of any 3m.

Should be ok. plus hopefully we never have to open it haha
NVRENUF! is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 10:50 PM   #265
WilliamG
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Seattle
Quote:
Originally Posted by NVRENUF! View Post
we used a VHB tape, but not the 3m one. we couldn't get hold of any 3m.

Should be ok. plus hopefully we never have to open it haha
Honestly, with that much VHB applied, I doubt you'll ever get it open after it fully bonds.
__________________
iMac, MacBook Air, Mac mini, iPad, iPhone, 55-11
www.bighugenerd.com
WilliamG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 11:06 PM   #266
NVRENUF!
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: PERTH, Australia
Send a message via Skype™ to NVRENUF!
mmmh...
NVRENUF! is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 11:10 PM   #267
HardcoreWally
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by WilliamG View Post
Honestly, with that much VHB applied, I doubt you'll ever get it open after it fully bonds.
Hey WilliamG, any experience with this? Anything solid to base this on?
I mean, before we opened them, the tape Apple used was applied alot more than what we have reapplied with this tape. We didn't apply tape along the bottom, where the screen sits on the ledge.
HardcoreWally is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 11:23 PM   #268
NVRENUF!
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: PERTH, Australia
Send a message via Skype™ to NVRENUF!
The guy from from the tape place said it should remove fine.

maybe could have put a bit less. but to late now its done.

as long as drive doesn't fail no need to open,

but there is always a way. if it's strong heat gun and blade.
NVRENUF! is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 12:08 AM   #269
WilliamG
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Seattle
Quote:
Originally Posted by HardcoreWally View Post
Hey WilliamG, any experience with this? Anything solid to base this on?
I mean, before we opened them, the tape Apple used was applied alot more than what we have reapplied with this tape. We didn't apply tape along the bottom, where the screen sits on the ledge.
I don't really "know." All I know is that VHB = Very High Bond, and is designed to bond like a strong glue after 72 hours.

You do NOT want to use a blade to open up the iMac again. That I'm sure of.
__________________
iMac, MacBook Air, Mac mini, iPad, iPhone, 55-11
www.bighugenerd.com
WilliamG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 01:05 AM   #270
imageWIS
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NYC
Quote:
Originally Posted by WilliamG View Post
Funny how some people complain it's not low enough. For me, I can't get the darn thing high enough, so I was hoping to VESA mount it to my desk using a desk mount to get it higher. Guess I won't be doing that, phooey!
I do freelance work on the digital side in the fashion world and the amount of fashion companies and small to mid sized advertising shops that have iMacs being elevated to normal user height level by utilizing books is mind boggling! My 7 year old Dell 19" screen, which is utilized as a second side monitor has back / forward and side to side tilt, PLUS up / down! If a monitor or all-in-one doesn't come with this option, at least allow the user to easily add it on!

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by WilliamG View Post
I think it would be acceptable if you had hardback copies of the Steve biography stacked underneath.
Well, F-Steve! He left Cook in charge and now look at what we have to deal with! My options are either: A $2400 computer that ISN'T VESA mountable OR utilizing what is becoming for my needs a severely underpowered Macmini! WTF?!?
imageWIS is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 03:04 AM   #271
WilliamG
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Seattle
Quote:
Originally Posted by NVRENUF! View Post
The guy from from the tape place said it should remove fine.

maybe could have put a bit less. but to late now its done.

as long as drive doesn't fail no need to open,

but there is always a way. if it's strong heat gun and blade.
Was your model a fusion or just 1TB? You got a Seagate drive, which is nice.
__________________
iMac, MacBook Air, Mac mini, iPad, iPhone, 55-11
www.bighugenerd.com
WilliamG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 03:36 AM   #272
NVRENUF!
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: PERTH, Australia
Send a message via Skype™ to NVRENUF!
Quote:
Originally Posted by WilliamG View Post
Was your model a fusion or just 1TB? You got a Seagate drive, which is nice.
just the standard 1tb drive
NVRENUF! is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 04:07 PM   #273
mattiasdk
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Just got mine today, it's amazing - didn't have time to install anything but the extra ram, but will try to open it up tomorrow and install my 840 Pro.

Will post some pictures and speed tests when it's done

#NVRENUF!
Did you enable TRIM or is that not needed on Mountain Lion? What about the temperature sensor, is it still present in the late 2012-models?

Last edited by mattiasdk; Dec 19, 2012 at 04:24 PM.
mattiasdk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 04:43 PM   #274
rw3
macrumors 6502a
 
rw3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: DFW, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnf1285 View Post
I wonder how soon until an Apple "Genius" or certified technician chimes in about what they use when repairing these machines?
Who's to say that one hasn't already.....
__________________
27" iMac (Late 2013)|i7 3.5GHz|32GB|512GB SSD Silver iPhone 5s |32GB ATV3 x3
ACMT, ACSP
rw3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 19, 2012, 04:54 PM   #275
NVRENUF!
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: PERTH, Australia
Send a message via Skype™ to NVRENUF!
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattiasdk View Post
Just got mine today, it's amazing - didn't have time to install anything but the extra ram, but will try to open it up tomorrow and install my 840 Pro.

Will post some pictures and speed tests when it's done

#NVRENUF!
Did you enable TRIM or is that not needed on Mountain Lion? What about the temperature sensor, is it still present in the late 2012-models?

Hi mate we didn't do anything. Just cloned original drive and put new one inside works perfectly. We did a hardware test on boot up and it came up perfect no errors at all. fans are all normal. been running for couple days now


Hopefully soon someone will start selling kits with the correct tape.
__________________
27" Late 2012 | 120gb SSD | 680mx 2gig | 3.4ghz I7 | 24gig ram |
27" Late 2011, 120 gig SSD, 512mb GPU, I5
2 x Iphone 5, 1 x Iphone 4s, 1 x Ipad 3 , 1 x Ipad 2
NVRENUF! is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't screenshot, open Skype, delete files, open itunes.... delab99 OS X 12 Dec 19, 2013 01:45 PM
Refurbished and open-box Macs after Xmas? dogen Buying Tips and Advice 1 Dec 16, 2013 01:21 PM
open a single mp3 track with quicktime while others open with itunes quickquestion Mac Basics and Help 2 Oct 22, 2013 12:33 AM
Why does Finder open so tiny how can I set it to open in bigger window? bobright OS X 2 May 6, 2013 12:17 PM
Macs binding to Open Directory twice lotsofjam OS X 0 Feb 4, 2013 01:55 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:18 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC