Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 15, 2012, 02:31 PM   #1
rileyb76
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Hardware difference between Verizon/AT&T iphone 5

I am a Verizon customer but found a used iphone 5 (AT&T) on Craigslist. Can you use these on the Verizon network?

TIA
rileyb76 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 02:33 PM   #2
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by rileyb76 View Post
I am a Verizon customer but found a used iphone 5 (AT&T) on Craigslist. Can you use these on the Verizon network?

TIA
No, you cannot.
You can use a verizon i5 on AT&T but not the other way around.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 02:38 PM   #3
rileyb76
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Ah, thanks.
rileyb76 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 04:28 PM   #4
Afbar1114
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
so it seems like its better to use get a CDMA phone because it can be used any where
__________________
MBP 13", 256GB SSD, 8GB RAM, 500GB HDD in Optical bay|iPad mini| 2TB Time Capsule| iPhone 5s 32GB| AppleTV
Afbar1114 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 04:30 PM   #5
techluvr
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: OK, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Afbar1114 View Post
so it seems like its better to use get a CDMA phone because it can be used any where
Not a Sprint one though. The Verizon ones are the only CDMA ones that come GSM unlocked.
__________________
Retina MacBook Pro 13"
iPhone 5S 32GB Grey
iPad Air LTE 16GB Grey
techluvr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 04:31 PM   #6
hakr100
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: East Coast
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applejuiced View Post
No, you cannot.
You can use a verizon i5 on AT&T but not the other way around.
Could you please explain how that is possible in language that a non-geek user of an iphone 5 would understand?
hakr100 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 05:17 PM   #7
vistadude
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
You can use a verizon iphone 5 on at&t because it's "allowed" to access at&t's type of network, but only the slow 3G network, not the fast 4G network.

The at&t iphone 5 on the other hand, cannot access verizon's network because verizon doesn't allow it.

Just pretend you're buying a car from america versus Afghanistan, where the American car is verizon and Afghanistan car is at&t. The american (verizon) car works in both countries because it meets both the strict american (verizon) clean air regulations as well as no regulations in Afghanistan (at&t). But the Afghanistan (at&t) car wouldn't be allowed to run in america (verizon) because it puts out too much pollution.
vistadude is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 05:18 PM   #8
hakr100
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: East Coast
Quote:
Originally Posted by vistadude View Post
You can use a verizon iphone 5 on at&t because it's "allowed" to access at&t's type of network, but only the slow 3G network, not the fast 4G network.

The at&t iphone 5 on the other hand, cannot access verizon's network because verizon doesn't allow it.

Just pretend you're buying a car from america versus Afghanistan, where the American car is verizon and Afghanistan car is at&t. The american (verizon) car works in both countries because it meets both the strict american (verizon) clean air regulations as well as no regulations in Afghanistan (at&t). But the Afghanistan (at&t) car wouldn't be allowed to run in america (verizon) because it puts out too much pollution.
That's great...thanks!
hakr100 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 08:22 PM   #9
Michael CM1
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
As I understand the models, everything is the same except for the LTE bands. I think. LTE uses a ton of frequencies, and not everybody is available on any one chip.
__________________
13.3" 2014 MacBook Air; Mid-2010 21.5" iMac; silver iPhone 5S 32GB (silver 64GB iPhone 6 coming soon!); white iPad Air 32 GB; third-gen TV (x2)
Michael CM1 is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Verizon iPhone 5 Will Not Offer Simultaneous Voice and Data [Update: It Was A Hardware Decision] MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 471 Sep 24, 2013 04:27 PM
iPhone 5s and AT&T...will I see a difference? MattG iPhone 13 Sep 14, 2013 05:30 PM
Verizon iPhone move to AT&T what's the difference. msarway iPhone 1 Jan 22, 2013 06:51 PM
Can Verizon iPhone 5 running on AT&T network perform simultaneous voice & data? Dvoshen iPhone 14 Sep 26, 2012 12:46 PM
iPhone 5 ATT Internation vs Verizon International, is there any difference? davewolfs iPhone 3 Sep 21, 2012 03:48 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:07 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC