Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 15, 2012, 02:31 PM   #1
rileyb76
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Hardware difference between Verizon/AT&T iphone 5

I am a Verizon customer but found a used iphone 5 (AT&T) on Craigslist. Can you use these on the Verizon network?

TIA
rileyb76 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 02:33 PM   #2
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by rileyb76 View Post
I am a Verizon customer but found a used iphone 5 (AT&T) on Craigslist. Can you use these on the Verizon network?

TIA
No, you cannot.
You can use a verizon i5 on AT&T but not the other way around.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 02:38 PM   #3
rileyb76
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Ah, thanks.
rileyb76 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 04:28 PM   #4
Afbar1114
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
so it seems like its better to use get a CDMA phone because it can be used any where
__________________
MBP 13", 256GB SSD, 8GB RAM, 500GB HDD in Optical bay|iPad mini| 2TB Time Capsule| iPhone 5s 32GB| AppleTV
Afbar1114 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 04:30 PM   #5
techluvr
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: OK, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Afbar1114 View Post
so it seems like its better to use get a CDMA phone because it can be used any where
Not a Sprint one though. The Verizon ones are the only CDMA ones that come GSM unlocked.
__________________
Retina MacBook Pro 13"
iPhone 5S 32GB Grey
iPad Air LTE 16GB Grey
techluvr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 04:31 PM   #6
hakr100
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: East Coast
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applejuiced View Post
No, you cannot.
You can use a verizon i5 on AT&T but not the other way around.
Could you please explain how that is possible in language that a non-geek user of an iphone 5 would understand?
hakr100 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 05:17 PM   #7
vistadude
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
You can use a verizon iphone 5 on at&t because it's "allowed" to access at&t's type of network, but only the slow 3G network, not the fast 4G network.

The at&t iphone 5 on the other hand, cannot access verizon's network because verizon doesn't allow it.

Just pretend you're buying a car from america versus Afghanistan, where the American car is verizon and Afghanistan car is at&t. The american (verizon) car works in both countries because it meets both the strict american (verizon) clean air regulations as well as no regulations in Afghanistan (at&t). But the Afghanistan (at&t) car wouldn't be allowed to run in america (verizon) because it puts out too much pollution.
vistadude is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 05:18 PM   #8
hakr100
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: East Coast
Quote:
Originally Posted by vistadude View Post
You can use a verizon iphone 5 on at&t because it's "allowed" to access at&t's type of network, but only the slow 3G network, not the fast 4G network.

The at&t iphone 5 on the other hand, cannot access verizon's network because verizon doesn't allow it.

Just pretend you're buying a car from america versus Afghanistan, where the American car is verizon and Afghanistan car is at&t. The american (verizon) car works in both countries because it meets both the strict american (verizon) clean air regulations as well as no regulations in Afghanistan (at&t). But the Afghanistan (at&t) car wouldn't be allowed to run in america (verizon) because it puts out too much pollution.
That's great...thanks!
hakr100 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2012, 08:22 PM   #9
Michael CM1
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
As I understand the models, everything is the same except for the LTE bands. I think. LTE uses a ton of frequencies, and not everybody is available on any one chip.
__________________
Mid-2010 21.5" iMac; silver iPhone 5S 32GB; white iPad Air 32 GB; third-gen TV
Michael CM1 is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC