Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 16, 2012, 09:18 AM   #1
hybroid
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Do NOT order 3TB iMac for Bootcamp. Does not work!

Slightly worrying: http://support.apple.com/kb/TS4441

Best stick to 1TB if you want to run Windows in Bootcamp.

You can get the Fusion drive but the SSD will only be for OSX. Does not work on Windows.

Quote:
iMac (27-inch, Late 2012) computers do not support installing Windows on the 3TB hard drive at this time.
hybroid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 09:21 AM   #2
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
This is a well known fact around here(MR).
justperry is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 09:24 AM   #3
theSeb
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Poole, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
This is a well known fact around here(MR).
Indeed. The 2011 iMac had the same problem. Actually it's a problem with Bootcamp and drives larger than 2 TB. It's not specific to "Fusion" drive.

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1475442
__________________
What is Other on my HDD?
Throttling, overheating and Geekbench
theSeb is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 09:39 AM   #4
hybroid
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by justperry View Post
This is a well known fact around here(MR).
Did not know this and almost ordered the 3TB. If it helps 1 other person, was worth posting.
hybroid is offline   10 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 09:46 AM   #5
Hexley
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by hybroid View Post
Slightly worrying: http://support.apple.com/kb/TS4441

Best stick to 1TB if you want to run Windows in Bootcamp.

You can get the Fusion drive but the SSD will only be for OSX. Does not work on Windows.
It should be corrected by the time Apple supports Windows 8 on BootCamp.
Hexley is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 11:10 AM   #6
Arman
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: SoCal
There is also a workaround to fix this right now
Arman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 11:16 AM   #7
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arman View Post
There is also a workaround to fix this right now
Please explain.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 11:20 AM   #8
KaraH
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: DC
I would guess partitioning the drive would work?
__________________
through the years: Apple ][ eventually upgraded to a //e (and it never really died), Centris 660AV, PowerMac 7600, Macbook, iPod 5G, eMac, a couple of aluminium iMacs, STILL hoping for a 2013 MP
KaraH is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 11:26 AM   #9
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by KaraH View Post
I would guess partitioning the drive would work?
Don't you think Apple knows better than you. (No offence)

http://support.apple.com/kb/TS4441
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 11:32 AM   #10
SDub90
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Long Island
Quote:
Originally Posted by KaraH View Post
I would guess partitioning the drive would work?
Yes, it will, but you'll have to disable something else first (I forget what) to allow it to work - I just remember that OS X and Windows have to be within the first 2TB of the hard drive.

edit: here http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost...1&postcount=26
SDub90 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 11:37 AM   #11
justperry
macrumors 603
 
justperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: 7 Km South of an active upside down (boat) volcano.
Quote:
Originally Posted by SDub90 View Post
Yes, it will, but you'll have to disable something else first (I forget what) to allow it to work - I just remember that OS X and Windows have to be within the first 2TB of the hard drive.

edit: here http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost...1&postcount=26
If this works I stand corrected.( And it probably did)

Thanks for the link.
justperry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 06:40 PM   #12
Fifemacuser
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Just when I think I know what to order I see this!

Really would prefer the 3 tb fusion but was going to go with 1 tb because of the bootcamp issue. If this works then I will be getting the 3 tb.
Fifemacuser is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 06:58 PM   #13
RichiMac
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: SoCal
Well that sucks. Why don't they tell you that when you order?? I don't plan using bootcamp, so anyone know if it affects Parallels8? Also I am getting the fusion drive with 3 tb. Anyone know for sure whether that is affected?
__________________
3.4GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7, 32GB 1600MHz DDR3 SDRAM-4X8GB, 3TB Fusion Drive, NVIDIA GTX 680MX, MAGIC TRACKPAD
RichiMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 07:07 PM   #14
MatthewAMEL
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichiMac View Post
Well that sucks. Why don't they tell you that when you order?? I don't plan using bootcamp, so anyone know if it affects Parallels8? Also I am getting the fusion drive with 3 tb. Anyone know for sure whether that is affected?
Because it's a problem that
  • has nothing to do with OS X
  • has nothing to do with Boot Camp
  • has been a problem for years

It's on the Apple website and more importantly, has been discussed on this forum (and others) since the introduction of 3TB drives (October 2010).

ANY drive larger than 2.2TB will be affected.
MatthewAMEL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 07:08 PM   #15
tyche
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Running VMware or Parallels is fine. They use the osx file system to store the VM which doesn't care how big your disk is or where it's located.
tyche is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 07:27 PM   #16
MatthewAMEL
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hexley View Post
It should be corrected by the time Apple supports Windows 8 on BootCamp.
Windows 8 support and GPT support have nothing to do with each other.

Boot Camp will be updated with drivers for Win8, it will never be re-written to support GPT.
MatthewAMEL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 07:39 PM   #17
RichiMac
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: SoCal
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichiMac View Post
Well that sucks. Why don't they tell you that when you order?? I don't plan using bootcamp, so anyone know if it affects Parallels8? Also I am getting the fusion drive with 3 tb. Anyone know for sure whether that is affected?
I went back and checked the Apple iMac upgrade page. In very faint grayed out lettering there is a small disclaimer saying the bootcamp is not supported on 3 tb drives yet. And you have to bring down the menu that talks about the different hds to even see that. If you order off the list you may miss it. Yet, in the hype about running windows it clearly mentions bootcamp will let you run windows natively. This is my first iMac in several years. Luckily I don't really care about bootcamp, but it is poor practice to bury that disclaimer from new customers. You shouldn't have to check forums to see if the manufacturer is being forth-write about a listed feature.
__________________
3.4GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7, 32GB 1600MHz DDR3 SDRAM-4X8GB, 3TB Fusion Drive, NVIDIA GTX 680MX, MAGIC TRACKPAD
RichiMac is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 07:40 PM   #18
Darby67
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: the corner of Fire and Brimstone
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichiMac View Post
Well that sucks. Why don't they tell you that when you order?? I don't plan using bootcamp, so anyone know if it affects Parallels8? Also I am getting the fusion drive with 3 tb. Anyone know for sure whether that is affected?
The following statement when ordering isn't enough?
Storage
Configure your iMac with a large Serial ATA hard drive. Or choose flash storage for greater performance. Or get the best of both worlds and select Fusion Drive.
About Serial ATA Hard Drives

Serial ATA hard drives offer high capacity to store your apps, files, and digital media. Which hard drive capacity is right for you?

Select the 1TB capacity if you're storing text documents, email, and a regular-size photo, music, and video library.
Select the 3TB capacity to give yourself more room to expand your media collections and store even more documents.
Note: Boot Camp is not supported on the 3TB hard drive at this time.

__________________
6C nMP D700s
15" 2.3 GHz QC i7 MBP
2.6 GHz QC i7 Mini & 2.3 GHz QC i7 Mini
Darby67 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 07:41 PM   #19
fossen
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichiMac View Post
Well that sucks. Why don't they tell you that when you order?? I don't plan using bootcamp, so anyone know if it affects Parallels8? Also I am getting the fusion drive with 3 tb. Anyone know for sure whether that is affected?
They do tell you when you order.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2012-12-16 at 5.40.04 PM.png
Views:	107
Size:	119.5 KB
ID:	384003  
fossen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 07:47 PM   #20
nikster0029
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
WHAT DO I DO?

i ordered a 3tb and I planned to use windows.

Should I return it to a store and buy again?
nikster0029 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2012, 08:04 PM   #21
Rockondevil
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikster0029 View Post
WHAT DO I DO?

i ordered a 3tb and I planned to use windows.

Should I return it to a store and buy again?
If it hasn't started preparing for shipment you can alter it but it might also extend the delivery date.
Rockondevil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 12:06 AM   #22
Westacular
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by MatthewAMEL View Post
Windows 8 support and GPT support have nothing to do with each other.

Boot Camp will be updated with drivers for Win8, it will never be re-written to support GPT.
I wouldn't say never:

Apple's support article say "iMac (27-inch, Late 2012) computers do not support installing Windows on the 3TB hard drive at this time." (emphasis added)

Sounds like they're trying to send the message that this lack of support isn't a forever thing.

In order to support 3TB hard drives with Boot Camp, you need to use a version of Windows that supports GPT -- that means a 64-bit version, running in EFI mode. The EFI mode is what's lacking.

People have been trying to hack together ways to get that, but they run into problems due to a combination of bugs/limitations both in Apple's EFI implementations and the EFI-mode boot code in Windows.

If Apple makes an EFI update that's Windows-friendly, it should be relatively straightforward for them to support GPT with Boot Camp. And if I had to guess, I'd say the likeliest time to release such an update would be to bundle it with the Boot Camp update for Windows 8 support (although you're right, they don't actually have anything to do with each other).

Realistically, this is bound to happen sooner or later -- storage isn't getting any smaller and Windows is slowly moving towards EFI/GPT being standard, so if Apple wants to keep Boot Camp as a viable feature, it needs to support Windows in EFI mode with GPT partitions.
Westacular is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 12:31 AM   #23
hfg
macrumors 68030
 
hfg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA. USA
You might find this helpful ... not the most elegant solution but it works....

Installing Windows via Boot Camp on a large (2.2 TB or larger ) Drive in Lion (10.7) and later

http://www.twocanoes.com/support/win...0.7)-and-later



===================

Furthermore:
For those of you with 3TB Fusion systems, I think you can break and re-build the Fusion drive to use the first partition of the hard disk as created in the link above. Follow the instructions widely available on various threads here and use "DrivePartitionID" for the hard disk where the partition-# is that of the first HFS+ created on the hard drive. The middle partition will be your Windows, and the top partition can be used for data or however you wish as it will not be a part of your Fusion drive.

Good luck...

Last edited by hfg; Dec 17, 2012 at 12:50 AM.
hfg is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 12:45 AM   #24
MatthewAMEL
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Westacular View Post
I wouldn't say never:

<snip>
Sounds like they're trying to send the message that this lack of support isn't a forever thing.

<snip> so if Apple wants to keep Boot Camp as a viable feature
I really want you to be right.

However, I doubt Apple's commitment to Boot Camp. 3TB drives have been around since 2010. All 64-bit versions of Windows (except Win Server 2003) support booting from GPT. They have had 2+ years to develop a fix. At the very least, the configuration for the current model iMac has been set for 3-6 months. They couldn't get a Boot Camp update ready for release?

Apple used Boot Camp as bait during the PowerPC/Intel switch. Now they have far less motivation for providing their competitors operating system to run on their hardware.

Virtualization has improved dramatically. Excepting games, of course, VMWare and Parallels provide a good experience using Windows.

Finally, Apple realizes how small the user base is for Boot Camp. 17 million Macs sold in 2011. How many of those use Boot Camp? I would be shocked if it's 10%.
MatthewAMEL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 01:06 AM   #25
brock2621
macrumors 6502a
 
brock2621's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Kentucky
Can somebody PLEASE tell me someone is creating a way to run Windows from an external thunderbolt/USB3 SSD???
__________________
2012 27" iMac www.OCULUSSTUDIOS.com
www.Twitter.com/OculusStudiosKY
brock2621 is offline   2 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bootcamp on 3tb fusion Motoxmann iMac 5 Jan 14, 2014 04:35 PM
Fusion 3TB and Bootcamp solomanii Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 8 Sep 28, 2013 09:33 AM
iMac 27" 2012 3TB Fusion Drive no bootcamp? zerozoneice iMac 1 Aug 19, 2013 10:06 PM
3TB BootCamp help Shane1905 iMac 6 Apr 4, 2013 10:06 PM
3TB Fusion / BootCamp Jazwire iMac 29 Dec 8, 2012 05:58 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:21 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC