Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 17, 2012, 07:52 AM   #1
tonyt76
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Data Doubler. Yes or No?

I recently purchased a data doubler from OWC for my 2012 mac mini mid model. I'm now having second thoughts on installing it.

I plan to install a 512GB ssd and use the stock 1TB 5400RPM along with it. Is this even worth the hassle? Trying to get some opinions before I commit.
tonyt76 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 07:59 AM   #2
mwhities
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mississippi
Send a message via AIM to mwhities Send a message via MSN to mwhities
I did this for a friend a few months ago, although in his 2011 Mac mini. I think he had the original 500G drive in it. I moved that to the bottom (top) part of the bracket and then put a 128G SSD in the bracket where the original drive was.

He loves it. Best thing since sliced bread. He's also glad that he did do it, as he didn't want want to use external (USB/TB/etc) drives. He has a NAS on the network for backups.

You could also create your own Fusion drive, maybe? Someone with more knowledge about should chime in. I THINK there might be a limit to the size of the SSD drive.
__________________
Late '11 MBP 17" - Blue Nano 8G - Black 4S 16G/64G - Black iPad2 16G - Black iPad mini 16G - 2TB TC
mwhities is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 08:08 AM   #3
designs216
macrumors 65816
 
designs216's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Down the rabbit hole
I bought one for my 2012 MBP thinking I'd get some mileage out of the stock platter drive which I removed from the main bay in favor of an SSD. I returned it for several reasons.

The machine runs really quiet with an SSD. I tried the platter drive in the slot for the superdrive and was surprised at the noise I hadn't really noticed before.

The platter drive also causes the battery to drain much faster.

The Data Doubler is crazy expensive, I'm not sure why.

I decided to leave the superdrive in place and replace it later with an SSD if my boot drive proves to be inadequate. At that point, I'll look at alternatives to this bracket.
designs216 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 08:11 AM   #4
tonyt76
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
I never thought about that good point... Adding the second drive will increase the noise, heat and power useage.

Im just debating installing the data doubler since I dont ever think I will fill the 512GB ssd.
tonyt76 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 08:53 AM   #5
Darby67
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: the corner of Fire and Brimstone
Quote:
Originally Posted by tonyt76 View Post
Adding the second drive will increase the noise, heat and power useage.
Minimally, unlikely you would ever notice it
__________________
6C nMP D700s
15" 2.3 GHz QC i7 MBP
2.6 GHz QC i7 Mini & 2.3 GHz QC i7 Mini
Darby67 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 09:06 AM   #6
mwhities
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mississippi
Send a message via AIM to mwhities Send a message via MSN to mwhities
I don't believe a 5400rpm drive would use more power and/or be noisier. I could possibly see that in a 7200rpm drive but, I can't see it with the slower one.
__________________
Late '11 MBP 17" - Blue Nano 8G - Black 4S 16G/64G - Black iPad2 16G - Black iPad mini 16G - 2TB TC
mwhities is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 09:38 AM   #7
tonyt76
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
For those of you that are using a data doubler, how did you install the drives?

SSD towards the top and mechanical drive towards the bottom?
tonyt76 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 09:51 AM   #8
mwhities
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mississippi
Send a message via AIM to mwhities Send a message via MSN to mwhities
Quote:
Originally Posted by tonyt76 View Post
For those of you that are using a data doubler, how did you install the drives?

SSD towards the top and mechanical drive towards the bottom?
In my friend's 2011, I removed the HDD and put it in the other "bay" and put the SSD in the "bay" where the HDD drive was.

We booted up and it booted to his HDD, we changed the boot drive to the USB flash drive, rebooted, installed on the SSD drive. Now it boots off the SSD drive.
__________________
Late '11 MBP 17" - Blue Nano 8G - Black 4S 16G/64G - Black iPad2 16G - Black iPad mini 16G - 2TB TC
mwhities is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 11:36 AM   #9
Dax71
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
I belive i put the ssd on top and old 5400 rps under it, i don't notice any bigger noise from it.
Dax71 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 11:37 AM   #10
iWeekend
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
If you've done any kind of PC repair in the past (beyond putting RAM in), you'll be in good shape.

Watch the various videos multiple times, paying attention to trouble spots like the antenna. Read the several mega threads on how others have done the procedure.


Good luck.
iWeekend is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 11:49 AM   #11
billib
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: USA
SSD in the TOP SPOT

I added an SSD to the empty spot of my mini
and left the original 5400RPM HD where it was.
In "System Preferences" under "System"
"Startup Drive" just choose your SSD as your
Startup Disc once you've Cloned your OS to it
and your SSD will become your "Default" Startup
Disc.

Couldn't be easier.
__________________
 Mac mini 2011 i7 2.7 GHz
16 Gig's RAM 512GB SSD

iMac 20 inch G4
billib is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 11:50 AM   #12
mwhities
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Mississippi
Send a message via AIM to mwhities Send a message via MSN to mwhities
Quote:
Originally Posted by iWeekend View Post
If you've done any kind of PC repair in the past (beyond putting RAM in), you'll be in good shape.

Watch the various videos multiple times, paying attention to trouble spots like the antenna. Read the several mega threads on how others have done the procedure.


Good luck.
I did it with one-arm, two-armed people shouldn't have any issues.

Like iWeekend stated, watch the videos and I recommend taking your time. No issues at all.
__________________
Late '11 MBP 17" - Blue Nano 8G - Black 4S 16G/64G - Black iPad2 16G - Black iPad mini 16G - 2TB TC
mwhities is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 01:25 PM   #13
tonyt76
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Cool, thanks everyone for your input!
tonyt76 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 01:30 PM   #14
braddman
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
That's funny, the video looks so easy and now I'm hearing all these issues doing it. My kit should be here today and I'm replacing the apple platters with an SSD and adding a Hybrid second SSD/Data drive, now I am definitely worried about doing it LOL, and I am a full time IT Tech.
braddman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 02:33 PM   #15
AC Rempt
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by braddman View Post
That's funny, the video looks so easy and now I'm hearing all these issues doing it. My kit should be here today and I'm replacing the apple platters with an SSD and adding a Hybrid second SSD/Data drive, now I am definitely worried about doing it LOL, and I am a full time IT Tech.
What issues? I've watched both the iFixIt and OWC vids a couple of times, and I've read over the iFixIt walk through. It all looks pretty straight forward to me.

Did you you have any problems?
__________________
2013 iMac 3.4 i5 | MacBook Air 13" 1.7 i5 GHz | 64 Gig iPhone 6 Plus | 64 Gig iPad Air
AC Rempt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 02:46 PM   #16
manicwinter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
I've used the kit twice recently and it is pretty easy. The part I have trouble with sometimes is getting the grill with the wi-fi back in place so it lines up with both screw holes (it can take a while sometimes).

Also I would suggest hooking the wi-fi cable back up before putting the top hard drive back in (this is slightly out of the order they suggest) because it's pretty hard to snap that little thing back in with the hard drive in the way.
manicwinter is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 04:17 PM   #17
billib
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: USA
Their have been a few moders who have
pried a connector off of the Logic Board
that it was soldered to. You don't want
to pry the soldered on connector off. You
want to pry the wire connector out of the
soldered on connector. This link has a few
"photos" that should help clear it up.

http://www.123macmini.com/forums/vie...=206792#206792
__________________
 Mac mini 2011 i7 2.7 GHz
16 Gig's RAM 512GB SSD

iMac 20 inch G4
billib is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 05:02 PM   #18
braddman
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by AC Rempt View Post
What issues? I've watched both the iFixIt and OWC vids a couple of times, and I've read over the iFixIt walk through. It all looks pretty straight forward to me.

Did you you have any problems?
Haven't done it yet but from what I understand realigning everything is a pain. I may do a video showing the actual problems I encounter if any.
braddman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2012, 08:50 PM   #19
ndriver182
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
The first time you do it, it can be a little intimidating. Just take your time and don't rush it and there shouldn't be any trouble. I've installed and uninstalled this kit at least six times and once you've done it once it's really not that big of a deal. I just ordered the kit again for a new base mid-2012 mini.
ndriver182 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 07:32 AM   #20
designs216
macrumors 65816
 
designs216's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Down the rabbit hole
Quote:
Originally Posted by braddman View Post
That's funny, the video looks so easy and now I'm hearing all these issues doing it. My kit should be here today and I'm replacing the apple platters with an SSD and adding a Hybrid second SSD/Data drive, now I am definitely worried about doing it LOL, and I am a full time IT Tech.
I like the OWC videos. My main takeaway was to be slow and gentle when removing the superdrive b/c of the wires that wrap/tuck around it. The kit that OWC sells has tools and instructions along with the bracket.
designs216 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 11:26 AM   #21
That-Guy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: UK
I would say yes do it, not had any problems since I have done it

Also you won't get any extra noise if putting in an SSD as they are silent.
__________________
Mac Mini Late 2012 - 2.5GHz Core i5 - 16gb RAM - 250gb Samsung 840 Evo SSD + 500gb HDD
iPhone 5S | iPad Air | Apple TV 3rd Gen | Airport Express 3rd Gen
Website | Twitter | Google+ | Instagram
That-Guy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 02:07 PM   #22
911scanner
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Just used the data-doubler in a 2.3GHz I7. Left stock HDD in top position with Samsung 840Pro in bottom position.

Installation of hardware was fairly easy, although I did have to go back in once or twice for perfect fit.

The software issues were my biggest concerns, and that went easier than expected. No fusion, fresh OS install on SSD.

For even someone new to this type of mod, I say "Just Do It".

My write speeds are now 496-497.5 & Read speeds are 520.
911scanner is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 02:24 PM   #23
Minima1ist
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
I went for it. I'll be installing it with a Samsung 830 next week and keeping the 1tb drive. I'll probably follow the OWC vid to a T.
Minima1ist is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 02:40 PM   #24
braddman
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by designs216 View Post
I like the OWC videos. My main takeaway was to be slow and gentle when removing the superdrive b/c of the wires that wrap/tuck around it. The kit that OWC sells has tools and instructions along with the bracket.
No Superdrive here thank goodness.
braddman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2012, 02:56 PM   #25
hfg
macrumors 68020
 
hfg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA.
I added a 240GB SSD using the OWC data-doubler kit to my 2011 Mac Mini and swapped the 5400rpm drive for a 7200rpm in the same spot. The SSD is installed in the data-doubler

I partitioned the SSD for Windows and OS X, and then did a DIY Fusion join of the remaining OS X SSD partition and the hard disk. So I have SSD speed Windows and SSD speed OS X.

It runs fast, quiet, and cool and I am very happy with it.
hfg is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows on data doubler? Warhawk15 Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 6 May 17, 2014 09:37 PM
Data Doubler and SSD bird1515 MacBook Pro 10 Feb 26, 2014 03:10 AM
Data doubler TechZeke MacBook Pro 5 Dec 3, 2013 03:18 PM
Data doubler question FrenzyBanana MacBook Pro 1 Apr 18, 2013 06:41 AM
Data doubler with bootcamp? teknikal90 MacBook Pro 1 Jul 1, 2012 06:16 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:19 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC